Bringing in ciggies from malaysia

Aimnfire

cant find the previous thread so

ok this is from the horses mouth

yesterday night came back and realise i forgot to throw the balance of 10 sticks of malaysia ciggies

since the queue is very long from the custom check, i drove into red lane and just went up to declare and pay the ciggy tax.

this is what i found out from them:

you can never bring in even 1 stick of ciggy.

if you were caught during the check, it will be $200.00 fine even if it is only 1 stick left for first timer.$500 for the subsequent.

if you smoke singapore spdc ciggy, when u bring it back, it will still subject to be tax again. failure to declare it will subject to fine same as above.

as up till now, the tax per stick is $0.38 for normal ciggy

those gudang garam is $15+ per pkt.

if you dont want to pay the tax, you can throw it providing you drove into red channel and enter custom office to declare throwing it away.

you cannot declare to throw it away once you are found in possession at the check area.

BTW, if you want to declare your ciggy, please make sure you dont have alot of groceries with you as it is subjected to 7% gst.

yesterday after paying for the ciggy, the custom open my boot and ask me about the groceries amount i bought.

lucky me i got the receipt which is less than rm400 and since i got 5 adults in my car which translate $50x5 = $250 which is more than rm400

i am clear.

regards

On 4/3/2010 at 3:14 AM, KapitanE said:

u very kay kiang.... one open pack put introusers pocket, u think they will body search you when u go green channel??

Lol. I guess he wants to play safe. Can't blame him, the customs officer will probably NEVER in our lifetime do a body search unless theres a tip off or probable cause.

u very kay kiang.... one open pack put introusers pocket, u think they will body search you when u go green channel??

body search?.....i got kena before...so no joke

btw last night got around 3 people waiting to pay the fines for the ciggy

On 4/3/2010 at 3:29 AM, Nullifi3d said:

Lol. I guess he wants to play safe. Can't blame him, the customs officer will probably NEVER in our lifetime do a body search unless theres a tip off or probable cause.

of course not the full body search

just empty my whole pockets then they will use their hand to tap all the pockets

u got the info from which horse? bout the ciggies- talk c--k! as long as it is open, they will let u go.bloody rumours

  On 4/3/2010 at 3:30 AM, Aimnfire said:

of course not the full body search

just empty my whole pockets then they will use their hand to tap all the pockets

next time if got 1 pack, just stuff it in front.....dun think they will use their hand to tap tap there!!!! :D:D

Ladies easier....can put 1 pack each into the cups. :D

Well wat TS say is true..

Dats by rite but by left usually they will close 1 eye...

unless u sibeh suay like me..bring in ard 1/2 pack kena $200.

I think the best is take bus in. I find that they are a million times stricter in checking cars than those who took bus. Anyway they wouldn't be interested with those opened packs. What can you do with one miserable opened pack of cigarette... What they want are the big fishes.

On 4/3/2010 at 4:14 AM, Schwa said:

u got the info from which horse? bout the ciggies- talk c--k! as long as it is open, they will let u go.bloody rumours

Its not a rumor...if you have duty unpaid ciggy, you will be taxed. Customs can tax you based on per packet or per stick. Its not confirm open pack is allowed in...depend on the officer...if he wants you to say you smuggle in....you cannot blame them. The green area where you drive thru is your statement to customs that you have nothing to declare. Anything that they find on you....they can take action.

On the SDPC ciggy....confirm BS...you can bring back a entire pack of SDPC ciggy and you will not be taxed as only Singapore ciggy has the SDPC marking. If they tax you again its double taxation.

  On 4/3/2010 at 6:30 AM, Ghostrider said:

Its not a rumor...if you have duty unpaid ciggy, you will be taxed. Customs can tax you based on per packet or per stick. Its not confirm open pack is allowed in...depend on the officer...if he wants you to say you smuggle in....you cannot blame them. The green area where you drive thru is your statement to customs that you have nothing to declare. Anything that they find on you....they can take action.

On the SDPC ciggy....confirm BS...you can bring back a entire pack of SDPC ciggy and you will not be taxed as only Singapore ciggy has the SDPC marking. If they tax you again its double taxation.

I dunno about ciggies..but for liquor, they practised double taxing..

If I buy liquor in Singapore and leave with it for Malaysia, do I have to pay GST and duty when I return to Singapore with the unopened bottle of liquor?

Yes, as it is considered re-imported liquor.

http://www.ifaq.gov.sg/ica/apps/fcd_faqmain.aspx

I am guessing it applies as well to ciggies..

But a month ago i ask the immigration officer they say if you want to pay u pay and can smoke in singapore......... if you don't want smoke you have u smoke at home........... is there a change saying that ciggies cannot bring in?

Edited by XEvolutioNX

if my memory serve me right... its ok to smoke it locally... provided u pay the tax at customs and keep the receipt.

On 4/3/2010 at 6:30 AM, Ghostrider said:

bro its not BS, i ask them to explain as it was already tax and with SDPC marking. They said it still subject to tax

On 4/3/2010 at 8:25 AM, Raining said:

if my memory serve me right... its ok to smoke it locally... provided u pay the tax at customs and keep the receipt.

yup make sure you hang on to the receipt until the ciggy finish, then can throw away the receipt

He is just being careful.... I ever got search at the door pocket (driver side)..sun shade and also middle compartment between 2 front seat.....lucky I did not have any illegal stuff.

if 19sticks definitely no tax. like dat custom office morning pack,all m'sia workers paying tax for their ciggies. simply said,once opened no tax. but if u said ppl kena fine because bring half simply because they hide e ciggies. once hide considered smuggling even one stick.

  On 4/3/2010 at 10:37 AM, Schwa said:

if 19sticks definitely no tax. like dat custom office morning pack,all m'sia workers paying tax for their ciggies. simply said,once opened no tax. but if u said ppl kena fine because bring half simply because they hide e ciggies. once hide considered smuggling even one stick.

technically, all ciggies(whether opened or unopened) brought into Singapore must be taxed..just that, customs there are being flexible to (unofficially) allow 1 pack of opened cigarettes..