I give up owning a car liao...

relacker

So easy to give up your country ah [:(]

If majority of our children think like that, that mean something wrong with education, root and culture liao.

Where is the toughness within like our forefather?

Our forefathers were quitters.

Actually a lot of ppl think very long (for yrs...) to buy car or not

and

Actually it is very simple:

BUY - Can afford $

DON'T BUY - Cannot afford $

[;)]

Very correct.

In Singapore, it is still ok not to drive because the public transport is quite good.

If we are staying in bigger country or some mega city where public transport is lacking, than car become a need liao.

I sometime also use public transport because it is convenient and I also like to "observe" the people

But it is human nature lah, we always want something better....like having a car....hehe [:)]

than when we have a car, we want a better car.... [smash]

Our forefathers were quitters.

I don't know what to say !:o

Let us all live up to their name, find some excuse and quit together [crazy][smash]

Ok, I better stop at here now, wait moderator give me yellow card how? we must only talk about why give up owning car here.

I want to be good MCFer [:)]

I bought my car early last year.

Then 48K.

Now 74K.

Did i got my car at the best timing?

What do you guys think?

You very "Heng" woh, good on you and enjoy your ride [:)]

Lucky I got my Benz before this whole crap COE thing...

Haha, hi Danielgsx [wave] , you are back!

Edited by Jgtan

Very correct.

In Singapore, it is still ok not to drive because the public transport is quite good.

If we are staying in bigger country or some mega city where public transport is lacking, than car become a need liao.

I sometime also use public transport because it is convenient and I also like to "observe" the people

But it is human nature lah, we always want something better....like having a car....hehe [:)]

than when we have a car, we want a better car.... [smash]

If can choose to not to have car its definitely better. Unless you are doing sales and thus need to 1) travel around regularly and 2) have transport allowance, then getting a car will not be such a bad choice.

Of course this does not apply to the rich who can easily afford to have a car [rolleyes]

with the opening of the Circle Line,

people now don't have to travel all the way to City Hall to go Suntec area...so the crowd will be less packed...

people can transit at Bishan or Dhoby Ghaut to continue their journey....

all i can say is that Dhoby Ghaut interchange will be the most packed...with NS, NE and CG-line all in 1 place....

Just try to love other things....or just think that car is an A to B thing..nothing much else.

Or think of the $$$ you gonna waste for loving cars in Spore.

I love cars, but no way in hell I am going to waste $$$ on cars.

Then how to show you are more successful and superior than others ?

If you are really more sucessful than others, you dont have to show it yourself.

Other people will know

If you have to depend on a car or other branded goods to shows other you have arrived, then probably you are not there yet.

But you can afford a car or other luxury just for your own enjoyment, and not purchase with the intention of showing off, than it is different story

Edited by RH1667

Come on TS, don't give up so easily.

Chant with me.......Caymen Caymen Caymen.

Do this every night before you sleep.

Subconsciously, u will be motivated to work harder to own a car in future!

Well....I now own a BMW..... Maybe when coe drops to below 10k in future, I will want to fullfillmy dream of a Caymen!

You sure you are not chanting Semen Semen Semen...... everynight b4 you sleep? [:p]

car is just part of the "package".

There is always other key indicators. Sgreans v typical 1... Once the key indicators are turned on, they assume u r "doing well", without really understanding the full story...

indicators:

- u live in landed (nvm that its ur parents')

- u tell them that hdb dun allow u to buy new flat

- when comparing car upkeep cost, u humbly tell them urs is inaccurate as it is fully paid up.

- u tell them u r taking TP ins

- u tell them u travel overseas a lot for work

- u r self employed

- u chill out at some country club with the family during the weekends

- golfing?

- expensive hobbies

No need to flaunt 1... when u have it, it simply shows when u talk abt ur life. Those that bother to assume u r doing well and speculate is bcos they dun have it.

Don't think that higher COE will force the lower income group to go public. If they really need a car, there's one for every budget what, don't buy brand new that's all.

Actually a lot of ppl think very long (for yrs...) to buy car or not

and

Actually it is very simple:

BUY - Can afford $

DON'T BUY - Cannot afford $

[;)]

sometimes its just a policy that DETERs the common man from buying, thats all..

If price of chicken go up, chicken rice become $10, it doesn't mean that you can't afford chicken rice, just that maybe wanton mee is a better option now.

Edited by Windchoco

Wise choice, don't go against the trend otherwise u will end up paying a high price.