Celicagt42010 Neutral Newbie April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 What do you think of banning Heavy Vehicles (esp. trailers, cement trucks and big lorries) from Expressway during peak hours? I.E. during peak hours like 7.30am - 9.30am and 5pm - 7pm, those vehicles with speed limit 60 and below cannot use expressway. Only those with 70 limit and able to use. Do you think such a scheme will ease traffic congestion? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 Should ban MID vehicle especially landrover and 3 tonner lah...they are the biggest road hogger. Is MID vehicle still using 50km/h as speed limit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 What do you think of banning Heavy Vehicles (esp. trailers, cement trucks and big lorries) from Expressway during peak hours? I.E. during peak hours like 7.30am - 9.30am and 5pm - 7pm, those vehicles with speed limit 60 and below cannot use expressway. Only those with 70 limit and able to use. Do you think such a scheme will ease traffic congestion? Talk cork Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 Actually most lorry and truck are travelling >60km/h. Most of the time they are travelling close to 70-80km/h. The problem is they don't keep to the extreme left lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 Should ban MID vehicle especially landrover and 3 tonner lah...they are the biggest road hogger. Is MID vehicle still using 50km/h as speed limit? Ya lor, for the past few weeks, I have been seeing MID vehicle crawling along KJE towards PIE every morning around 7:30 am. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 (edited) i think heavy vehicles are fine as long as they all keep left i really think most jams due to heavy traffic would be alleviated if all drivers stay wide alert, paid more attention to the road, quickly close up all gaps, move off faster and basically keep reasonably close to the car in front and aviod lane 1 if not driving as fast as the car front. in addition signaling and executing competent and quick lane changing can help a lot too if everyone can do the above, i am quite sure most peak hour jams will be reduced significantly Edited April 1, 2010 by TangoElite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicagt42010 Neutral Newbie April 1, 2010 Author Share April 1, 2010 (edited) Actually most lorry and truck are travelling >60km/h. Most of the time they are travelling close to 70-80km/h. The problem is they don't keep to the extreme left lane. The problem is that there are no rules saying they have to keep to left lane. Only say cannot use 1st lane. So bo pian. And the way those big vehicles drive.... some are sibeh reckless..... don't dare to go close to them. Edited April 1, 2010 by Celicagt42010 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 Banning such use will cAuse chaos to the economy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 Spore trucks are still ok....i find malaysia truck drivers are more reckless. I have seen many times on TPE those MY truck zooming at 90-100km/h in lane 2. Sometimes can even overtake cars in lane 1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chiangauto Clutched April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 Think it is not possible.Some truck may need to deliver important goods or stuff to Airport or others area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renotrafic Neutral Newbie April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 Yesterday 31/03/10 ECP toward Changi. Anyone here kena the jam cos by MID veh? Really dun understand hw the MP do the escort.. 5-6 MID 3 tone on left lane, about 8 MP on motocycle traveling on the center lane beside the 3 ton. WTF the whole ECP got jam up because of them!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 (edited) Ya, still 50km/hr. This shows that during the time of war when needed, Singapore will be slow to react without fearing for the SWD to jump a digit. Times had changed and why speed limit are still so slow? I heard that they are banned from travelling during peak hours nowadays but travelling within speed limit = +40km/hr ~ -49km/hr and average crusing speed at 48km/hr? It is just too slow on the expressways when a slow lorry driver is travelling at 60km/hr. Fyi, during my days in army, convoys speed limits are at 40km/hr. I once drove at 38km/hr at the left lane of the expressways with my PC. He asked me, how come drive so slow? Can you drive faster? I replied, you didnt know that convoys speed limit is at 40km/hr meh? Everyone in camp knows I am one of the fast drives but this PC of mine has a feeling that I had raped his mum so make things hard for him as a VC during then. You can see from above, what the rules for MID drivers are already rubbish for other road user and if that one funny driver wish to obey "law", it only make things worst off. Edited April 1, 2010 by Vhtfhwlego Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 Honk at them next time ! My OC f**k the MP before when escorting me but it is the rules from MP that require this escort side by side. If that army wish to take up our time on the expressways, we cannot do anything but to stomp it lor. Hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 (edited) Please stop talking C.O.C.K lah. They have a job to do and companies need them. You are the typical singaporean that thinks the whole world revolves ard you and you only. You think the whole farking road cater for car drivers like YOU only ah? Wake up and smell the coffee. I think LTA should ban people like YOU driving. That's what they should do if you asked me. Stop starting nonsense thread lah...geez. Edited April 1, 2010 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renotrafic Neutral Newbie April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 haha I m also e MID driver, but drive the white white car to wash n pump petrol only I find it stupid to do escort side by side la.. lorry on the left lane dun dare to take the 1st lane, some cars also dun dare to over take them. I think at tat time 200 over veh following them all the way frm parkway exit until the PIE exit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 (edited) Keep Up or Keep left I don't care if you are driving a lambo or a container truck, if everyone can remember the above, there will be less traffic jam. It is the driver that hog the road, not the vehicle. I have seen a ferrari hogging on expressway <60km/h, may be the driver too busy taking on the phone. Edited April 1, 2010 by Kwchan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 i think heavy vehicles are fine as long as they all keep left For heavy vehicles, i feel that they should not occupy the extreme left lane, they should stay in lane 2 (from the left) This is because there are exit along extreme left lane, car that want to exit will need to follow behind slower heavy vehicles, and car drivers always like to do dangerous stunt by cutting in front of heavy vehicles at the last minute (no one want to drive behind big and slow vehicles that block their views). also, in case of jam at the expressway exit, these heavy vehicles will need to move to lane 2, and many car drivers are not willing to give way to slower vehicles. Therefore, it is safer and faster for everyone if heavy vehicles stay in 2nd left lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
tiffanydunk Neutral Newbie April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 no need ban la, just make sure they keep to the 3rd lanes lor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...