Electricity to cost more

Actan72

be prepared for price hike again

who is going to pay for the infrastructure

with the ability to transmit data over electrical cables, are we assured that it will be virus-free? :D

wow, you guys think so far.

Today, the electricity situation in SG is high supply but low demand, due to a rush to build power plants in the past few years.

Singapore Power is buying electricity from these generators at unprecedented low prices.

(In the power market today, there are even instances where these players have to pay, instead of being paid, to put their power on the common grid due to oversupply).

The power generator companies are bleeding.

Unfortunately these prices are not passed on to you. We still pay the highest power price in the region.

So gahmen makes a killing.

Oil prices go up -> electricity price go up -> you pay high

Supply > Demand -> electricity price go down -> you pay high

Lets just hope the bad guys won't disturb us with hikes in the next few years.

Today, the electricity situation in SG is high supply but low demand, due to a rush to build power plants in the past few years.

Singapore Power is buying electricity from these generators at unprecedented low prices.

(In the power market today, there are even instances where these players have to pay, instead of being paid, to put their power on the common grid due to oversupply).

Unfortunately these prices are not passed on to you. We still pay the highest power price in the region.

So gahmen is screwing everyone [sweatdrop][whip] [whip]

SP Services is simply the Market Support Services Licensees. It does not "buy electricity" from generators. It is simply put, an intermediary between consumers and electricity generators.

sorri kawan where got so many people kena screw for the past 50years

unless some kena screwed twice

I think kenna screwed twice is very fortunate already. Most people are screwed everyday with rising costs and influx of foreigners. -_-

My best friend works in this sector. It is more complicated than what you have mentioned, we should however see more competitive pricing next year. It is however a logical and reasonable question, ie. why our electricity price is not falling faster than the market?

Singapore Power is just an intermediary, so your assertion is not entirely correct. Suggest you read up more before posting to avoid spreading untrue information. No malice intended. :)

Imagine some one say there will be train service from SG to Beijing.

The infra to achieve this is just to plug the gaps in the existing train rails network of the traversed countries.

Similarly for the Laos exporting electricity thing. the infra to share the grids of Laos, Thailand, Malaysia and SG won't be very immense.

If this deal happens, by right electricity rates here should hold flat or drop a little.

I just read, Germany and Canada are also exporters of electricity.

Imagine some one say there will be train service from SG to Beijing.

The infra to achieve this is just to plug the gaps in the existing train rails network of the traversed countries.

Similarly for the Laos exporting electricity thing. the infra to share the grids of Laos, Thailand, Malaysia and SG won't be very immense.

If this deal happens, by right electricity rates here should hold flat or drop a little.

I just read, Germany and Canada are also exporters of electricity.

you are right again, thank you

My best friend works in this sector. It is more complicated than what you have mentioned, we should however see more competitive pricing next year. It is however a logical and reasonable question, ie. why our electricity price is not falling faster than the market?

Singapore Power is just an intermediary, so your assertion is not entirely correct. Suggest you read up more before posting to avoid spreading untrue information. No malice intended. :)

i stand corrected.... do ask your friend who do households and small businesses buy their power from?

Edited by Karoon

No use one lah, the price is simply really crazy! I even go to the extreme of using LED bulb (at least 200% more efficient than normal energy saving bulb), use fan instead of Aircon, use hand washing instead of washing machine, use gas to cook water instead of electric kettle, use old wired phone instead of cordless phone, use laptop instead of desktop, even my HP and recyclable batt is now charge at office (damn cheapskate rite?).... knn, my bill still 3 figure... WTF??? do i really have to go to the extend of listen radio instead of watching tV??? KNS, our electric price is already the top 5 in the world liao... still have to increase??? Give us a break lah...

How many people do you have in your household? I have 5 adults at home, not using LED, 1x aircon on most nights, internet equipment 2x routers + NAS always on, and using piped gas for cooking 2 meals daily, and daily washing of laundry. And my bill has never exceeded $200, for electricity, water and gas.

Oh yah, and I have 3x cordless phones too.

How many people do you have in your household? I have 5 adults at home, not using LED, 1x aircon on most nights, internet equipment 2x routers + NAS always on, and using piped gas for cooking 2 meals daily, and daily washing of laundry. And my bill has never exceeded $200, for electricity, water and gas.

Oh yah, and I have 3x cordless phones too.

its not no. of plp counts... its lifesyle i guess. I measure individual equipment and found that shower heater its the worst..

Edited by Tigershark1976

its not no. of plp counts... its lifesyle i guess. I measure individual equipment and found that shower heater its the worst..

Hmm. I have 1 regular 25 litre storage tank heater, which I installed a mechanical timer switch, so family members turn on for 5 or 10 minutes before entering the shower. No need to leave the heater running and leave hot water in the tank after showering.

For the other bathroom, I'm using a "tankless" instant heater which supports mixer taps, so there is very little heated water left after each shower.

Overall, the electricity bill is still reasonable.

Question about electrical appliances.

Singapore's electricity has a frequency of 50Hz. Can I run appliances that is 60Hz?

Question about electrical appliances.

Singapore's electricity has a frequency of 50Hz. Can I run appliances that is 60Hz?

First check the appliance label. If it says 50~60hz or 50/60hz then its safe.

If label says 50hz only then depends on what appliance.

Usually, uniquely 60hz heating machines (toasters, ovens) not a problem on 50hz. However motorised equipments may run slower and overheat

First check the appliance label. If it says 50~60hz or 50/60hz then its safe.

If label says 50hz only then depends on what appliance.

Usually, uniquely 60hz heating machines (toasters, ovens) not a problem on 50hz. However motorised equipments may run slower and overheat

Thanks!