Osiris 1st Gear March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 http://www.tnp.sg/news/story/0,4136,234686,00.html? Ok, fellow motorist. we now have a loophole people will abuse. Singapore is getting more lawless. How am I going to get my money back? Cabby discharges insurance firm after accident. Couple have to claim damages form him personally but her disputes amount By Lediati Tan March 25, 2010 Print Ready Email Article Their car was hit by a taxi from the back. But when they later tried to claim the $2,000 repair bill from the cabby's insurer, they were told that the cabby had signed a letter discharging them and the cab company from all claims relating to the accident. This means that Mr Tan Teck Yiang and his wife will have to settle the matter with the cabby privately. Click here to find out more! But so far, he has refused to pay up. The accident happened on 15 Oct last year. Mr Tan’s wife, Madam Seow Kwok Long, 39, a healthcare worker, was driving the couple's six-year-old Ford Laser Tierra when it was hit by a TransCab taxi at a junction along Ang Mo Kio Ave 3. The total repair cost plus vehicle rentals came up to $1,968. The rear bumper and the reverse sensor had to be replaced. When Mr Tan met up with the taxi driver, Mr Johnny Yow, 52, at the workshop on 29 Dec last year. He claimed that Mr Yow disagreed with the repair costs and refused to pay. When contacted, the cabby disputed the extent of the damage caused to Mr Tan’s car. A spokesman for TransCab said that as Mr Yow did not report the accident to them within 24 hours, he has to pay the full excess up to a maximum of $2,800. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 down to teksi lau if he wanna bang into my arse and don wanna pay, can but he better buang so hard that his bloody farking face is squashed against mustank's steel bumper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 http://www.tnp.sg/news/story/0,4136,234686,00.html? Ok, fellow motorist. we now have a loophole people will abuse. Singapore is getting more lawless. Not a loophole. Your insurance company should be the one to go after the other party. If he refuses to pay up then your insurance company will have to file a civil suit against him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicagt42010 Neutral Newbie March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 There is no loop hole. In such a case, the driver has to report within 24hrs. Its clearly stated already. And its not his job to chase after the cabby lau for money. Insurance company will do that. How come never claim insurance I don't know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear March 26, 2010 Author Share March 26, 2010 Thanks for the clarification. but some insurance companies, if the other party don't report. they say no case despite overwhelming evidence. That may be their stand in this case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 KNN....this kind of loophole also have. That means i bang other ppl car, incur small repair costs, then i just have to go discharge myself to the insurance company and die-die dont pay in private settlement. The owner cant raise civil suit cos lawyer fees will cost a bomb. KNN........this kind of pattern taxi driver can think of. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tham2005 Neutral Newbie March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 Wah it really sucks to be a Taxi driver! Poor guy never report in time kenna forced to pay for the damages. The taxi company really know how to cover their ass! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patwong 3rd Gear March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 Anyone here can share their experience /solution? Use own lawyer.. civil suit.. force taxi driver to pay-up? If win case, taxi driver dont pay.. make him bankrupt? After he bankrupt.. he still require to pay court fee, lawyer cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wensong Neutral Newbie March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 insurance company should be the one to go after the other party, thats why we buy insurance in the first place!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 I know I am wrong to suggest this...But then if the system force for this situation...There is no choice either....When anyone met with accident next time...If you know you are absolutely right...Just say you feel giddy...hand pain....leg pain....or anything you can think off...need call ambulance....then it will involve police because of possible injury...so at least there is a so call creditable witness for the accident.... Yes....please please please don't do this unless you have no other choice....our ambulance are for those who really need it....I am just citing a example...I think many others probably have try it out already....grey area in return for the grey area.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patwong 3rd Gear March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 Hi, I agreed that "insurance company should be the one to go after the other party, thats why we buy insurance in the first place!!!!" Before insurance company resolve this case, which might take 1~2 years (hopefully), policyholder own insuranace company will pay first? Then policyyholder will lose their NCB and will be loaded with extra premium for next renewal. Any other solution? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 another fark up taxi driver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvinyuen 2nd Gear March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 never have a good impression on taxi drivers n now worst.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agentwilson 1st Gear March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 not true... civil case cost a bomb, but if u win, the legal fees paid by the other party. KNN....this kind of loophole also have. That means i bang other ppl car, incur small repair costs, then i just have to go discharge myself to the insurance company and die-die dont pay in private settlement. The owner cant raise civil suit cos lawyer fees will cost a bomb. KNN........this kind of pattern taxi driver can think of. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicagt42010 Neutral Newbie March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 I thought its an offence if someone did not report to his/her own insurance with 24hrs of the accident? I think it will be taken as a hit and run accident right and its a police case right? I don't know too well because I never claim before. But why is the couple claiming from the cabby's insurance company? Is that the right thing to do? I remember that the couple should claim from their own insurance and the insurance company claim from the cabby's insurance? Isn't that the correct procedure. Btw, the cabby driver has the RIGHT not to pay for the damages, as long as he don't mind losing his NCD and high premium next time. Its not his responsibility to pay. Its the insurance company's responsibility. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicagt42010 Neutral Newbie March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 Anyone here can share their experience /solution? Use own lawyer.. civil suit.. force taxi driver to pay-up? If win case, taxi driver dont pay.. make him bankrupt? After he bankrupt.. he still require to pay court fee, lawyer cost? I don't know much about law but I do know that the losing party usually has to pay for the winning party's court and lawyer fees. So, if the couple wins (which they should), they will get back their money + compensation etc. Its more like a civil case now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 (edited) I got a question let say i on insurance company A from 1 January 2009 to 31 December 2009 then i on insurance company B from 1 January 2010 to 31 December 2010 on 31 December 2009, i kee tao hong go ram a lamborgini from behind and caused a chain collision of 10 lamborgini while they were having a convoy movement for one of their member who was having a big wedding all 10 lamborgini are Should A or B pay? and if the answer is A, what is the difference in the answer if assuming: let say i on insurance company A from 1 January 2009 to 31 December 2009 then i don have insurance from 1 January 2010 to 31 December 2010 (assuming i don drive lah) Edited March 26, 2010 by Mustank Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 A pay la...but (1) if u stil got B insurance, your ins will need to be underwritten again with the new claim record agst u. if (2), still A pay but the costs will then be bore by all other owners of your make hehe.. so dun anyhow kee tao hong ok bro hahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...