Singhao 1st Gear April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 I understand why you guys are upset - thought you landed a damn good deal but it came to nought. If you feel so strongly against this 'fiasco', you may want to refer to the following:- Someone mentioned Small Claims Tribunal previously. Here's the link. http://www.lawsociety.org.sg/directory/jud...Bodies/SCT.aspx For those who feel that BM should be the only person paying for this 'scam' (and therefore you shouldn't have to pay hefty legal fees), check this link out. http://www.lawsociety.org.sg/probono/Default.aspx If you are going to sue someone for misrep, you might as well sue multiple parties to get more compensation to offset the next big COE price hike in your next car purchase. Some possible defendants with serious misrep (it's their slogan for crying out loud!): Peugeot - The Drive of Your Life (sue them as their cars are obviously not THAT good) Volvo - For Life (sue them as they never tell you that to drive the cars for life, still have to keep buying COE.) Hyundai - Drive your way (sue them as the traffic police obviously doesn't agree) Fight for what you believe in! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camry-Fedup Neutral Newbie April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 ""Peugeot - The Drive of Your Life (sue them as their cars are obviously not THAT good)"" the drive of your life could be either positive or negative, up to your luck when u get the F&N car .... lolz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nobody_no_COE Neutral Newbie April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 Anyone of you got ur COE this round? those who top-up and those who did not top up. Yup Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lion-e-motion Neutral Newbie April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 last time peugeot not reliable, always die on the driver type, but built quality is good where as the altis is really just a tin can, krong krong krong on the road, but seldom die on the driver but two of my frens have peugeot ( i call it the F&N car, same logo as F&N) - seems okay they should bring in more models The key word is 'last time', all PEUGEOT in 1.6L is using the same engine as the MINI COOPER/ COOPER S engine, how unreliable can it be? AutoFrance is selling PEUGEOT for the last 10 years, if it really give us so much problem, i am sure we will no longer here in the market. We already have 4 model and a total of 11 sub-models, and another 3 new models coming in soon, we are one of the AD that have most models to cater for all wants and needs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lion-e-motion Neutral Newbie April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 he can promote cos he is a thread sponsor...he paid $ for the sponsor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lion-e-motion Neutral Newbie April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 ""Peugeot - The Drive of Your Life (sue them as their cars are obviously not THAT good)"" the drive of your life could be either positive or negative, up to your luck when u get the F&N car .... lolz All make and models comes with LEMONS, the most reliable car (perceive by large) aren't that reliable afterall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 the point is that it doesnt take a uni grad to figure that COE is rising bad BM, possibly the largest AD cannot claim the defence of ignorance if they know their premium not big enough to cover any rise then offer promo for fark? Why does this keep coming up? People probably knew that the COE price would increase but could anyone (other than the government) really know that it would rise by more than 60%? If you say that it is easy for a common man to figure it out then why didn't you buy a couple of dozen open CAT COEs? That would have been an easy 60% profit margin for you. The fact remains that everyone was caught off guard by the sudden rise in COE prices. Prior to the government's announcement, did we see everyone here in the forums claiming that COE prices would jump skyhigh? Did we see a rush by people to renew their COE for a relative pittance even though they have 1-2 years left? Did we see a rush by people to buy guaranteed COE packages from other ADs that did not have the same reputation as BM? If all those did happen, then yes, I would agree that everyone and their mother knew COE prices were going up by such a large factor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 Why does this keep coming up? People probably knew that the COE price would increase but could anyone (other than the government) really know that it would rise by more than 60%? If you say that it is easy for a common man to figure it out then why didn't you buy a couple of dozen open CAT COEs? That would have been an easy 60% profit margin for you. The fact remains that everyone was caught off guard by the sudden rise in COE prices. Prior to the government's announcement, did we see everyone here in the forums claiming that COE prices would jump skyhigh? Did we see a rush by people to renew their COE for a relative pittance even though they have 1-2 years left? Did we see a rush by people to buy guaranteed COE packages from other ADs that did not have the same reputation as BM? If all those did happen, then yes, I would agree that everyone and their mother knew COE prices were going up by such a large factor. not the common man. but the ADs. as mentioned by a bro, the ADs were consulted by LTA. besides, not everyone is familiar with the bidding process or else we would all be bidding ourselves and is it legal to sell COEs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 COE Bubble?? huh? new term? what would happen when it burst? when the supply of COE, and therefore the premium, is controlled by the gov, it's a bubble that will not burst. BUT if this becomes an election issue, they may do something about it. SO tell your PAP MP you are pissed at him for the high COE premiums! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 besides, not everyone is familiar with the bidding process or else we would all be bidding ourselves and is it legal to sell COEs? bidding COE is a simple process, much simpler than applying for/buying/selling HDB flat, so if pple can apply/buy/sell HDB flat, sure can bid COE lah. Open Cat can buy and sell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camry-Fedup Neutral Newbie April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 The key word is 'last time', all PEUGEOT in 1.6L is using the same engine as the MINI COOPER/ COOPER S engine, how unreliable can it be? AutoFrance is selling PEUGEOT for the last 10 years, if it really give us so much problem, i am sure we will no longer here in the market. We already have 4 model and a total of 11 sub-models, and another 3 new models coming in soon, we are one of the AD that have most models to cater for all wants and needs. so what is the latest price for the 407 coupe ? tks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 COE Bubble?? huh? new term? what would happen when it burst? what would happen if your banana burst? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 to me it does not matter, just get the car fast i know some people mind, must have high value COE on the registration doc but at the end it does not affect resale value unless u go scrap it before 10 years old let's say u got the car at $78k with a S$34k COE (fine, BM lost money in this car nvm, other units can recover the loss) and now market value new car by BM is $90k........u "earned" $12k ..... but it is not realised and is as good as nothing IF next year COE drop to $10k and BM sells the same new car at $55k, tell me how much can you sell your one year old car ? $45k? $50k? fine,u can go scrap it and get back $34k x 0.9 plus parf at 75% of ARF plus body value = 30.6k + 0.75*17k +4k = 47.35k so after one year of driving how much is the loss ? $78k - 50k = 28k !! even with the high coe of 34k of course if u take the open cat coe of jan 10 @ $19k expiring this week must use =the rebate is lower for scrapping after one year but if u sell to car dealer it is still bench marked to the new car price either way no much diff if u take the open car coe or cat a coe.....in a time of rising coe, key thing is get the car fast, regardless of open cat or cat a the underlying truth is : resale market is controlled by car dealers, new car market controlled by AD, (some AD has their own used car dealer), COE controlled by LTA....$$$ controlled by u ! Best posting in a while Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 Hey Beemer77: would like to hear your assessment of this. If they refuse to top up, let's say 6 months down the road, nobody wants to buy a car. Won't the COE drop? Sorry to butt in but "nobody wants to buy a car" will probably never happen in Singapore... Demand is always more than supply - hence the opportunity for them to come up with the COE system to milk us... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 BM expect COE to rise but not by such extend of more than 10k till they cannot cover their profit margin. You yourself mention that it doesnt take a uni grad to figure COE is rising, then why didnt you get guaranteed coe option? You hit it right on the head... If everyone knows that the COE is rising, then why don't just pay S$1k more for the guaranteed package? Penny wise, pound foolish? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 (edited) The key word is 'last time', all PEUGEOT in 1.6L is using the same engine as the MINI COOPER/ COOPER S engine, how unreliable can it be? AutoFrance is selling PEUGEOT for the last 10 years, if it really give us so much problem, i am sure we will no longer here in the market. We already have 4 model and a total of 11 sub-models, and another 3 new models coming in soon, we are one of the AD that have most models to cater for all wants and needs. Should bring in more manual gear models. Ang Mo chias are meant to be driven manually. Most of the Ang Mo's auto tranny are craps in terms of reliability and performance (4 speed auto torque-converter). Sounds like and move like injured camel when revved. The worse is, many of these makes make claim that their autoboxes are maintenance-free (don't need change ATF at all). Those who believe it got conned BIG time. I wanted to buy a PangGeo, but no manual tranny option. So, went to your competitor (also a Frenchie). Edited April 9, 2010 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy-T 1st Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 Any black and white ppwk contract when you signed the order.... in print and duly signed with or without 1 Bid??? That's the KEY. If not you need to deal very professional saleperson that you can trust. Why waits for 6 bids? When the market is UP don't play game.. If you have waited 6 bids you may as well waits for the right timing. Ask yourself do you really need a car now? COE is more than 2x the OMV cost..........You decide at what price you want to pay. Follow Warrant B way...Go opposite direction of the masses or crowds unless you are already way ahead. I went to Subaru on 13Mar10 tested Impreza 1.5R instantly I love it 100% and placed the order with 1Bid and I gotten my car on 7Apr10. With professional saleperson likes Subaru Ubi MotorImage Mr.Winston Eun you cannot go wrong and I met him for the 1st time on 13Mar10 and get my car fast with no fuss at all. Go and see the Subaru car test it and you will surely love it. I like the Forte 1.6SX tested it but do not want to Q up and waits and now I found the perfect car Subaru Impreza 1.R Sedan value for money..matches my needs Worth every cents of it. Do not be fooled by the simple looks of the car unless you are Racer Boy/Girl go for 2.0R or 2.5R Impreza 1.5R Sedan...It is really a very good machine and value for money. stop promoting urself lah. not all people like a subaru, how much is ur insurance? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy-T 1st Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 Not really. My guess is BM will not bid more than $35k for me. But it is a guranteed COE, so they will hv to offer me an open cat COE if they can't secure a Cat A COE for me, and my SE said "no more Jan/Feb open cat COE left, so not to worry as they'll likely offer me $30K+ COE (i.e. early Mar)"; but I know now that it's "real value" is actually $10k less. If I had not chk I would hv blindly accepted the $30k+ open Cat COE. my 2 cents, if u dun want this offer, lot of people will jump at that offer if it was make to them ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...