Andrewlai Neutral Newbie April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 I wonder if this is what you'll be saying if you get cheated by your car dealer...I doubt so.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chanel Neutral Newbie April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 Beemer77 & Andrewlai, Thanks much for your views Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 each COE price increase may be a few $$K and over a period of time it may have increased by $20k or $30k second hand car price will NOT increase by $20k or $30k / remaining COE life an old Camry 2.5 years old was sold at 70k recently and now transacted around $77k or $78k for a similar car / age / mileage / no of owners the value increase is never proportionate and straight line if it is proportionate, might as well go get the new car = everything is new, plus a full 10 years life, plus latest bells and whistles on the car, plus higher paper value, in case of pre-mature scrap in the future Why u kena banned har? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edminski 2nd Gear April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 My SE (BM) asked me to top up $11K for guaranteed COE, 4 bids/2mths. My order in Jan before CNY is $63000, so with the top up will be $74K. My current drive is 5 yrs, 6mths old. My consideration is they may offer me Jan/Feb open Cat COE, though my SE claimed those are all taken up, but I prefer not to take in his words fully. Also, I have the option to reject the open Cat COE at that time, thus, my SE says that I have "nothing to lose". Would like to hear your advice if it is worth topping up. Thanks. hi chanel, seriously, if i were you, go for it...go for it quick, before they say the offer is all taken up $74k is still ok, because you are entitled for the $6k CNY discount already. Overall its worth it. If you buy other cars, you cant buy at $74k anymore Altis is a good buy at 74k now with the high COE price. You get 2010 model also. When i booked mine in Jan, i thought i am getting 2009 model but was glad that i get 2010 model btw, do they pay you extra $ for your current drive cos now 2nd hand car is more exp already? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 hi chanel, seriously, if i were you, go for it...go for it quick, before they say the offer is all taken up $74k is still ok, because you are entitled for the $6k CNY discount already. Overall its worth it. If you buy other cars, you cant buy at $74k anymore Altis is a good buy at 74k now with the high COE price. You get 2010 model also. When i booked mine in Jan, i thought i am getting 2009 model but was glad that i get 2010 model btw, do they pay you extra $ for your current drive cos now 2nd hand car is more exp already? at this type of price, no car is a good buy. this coe bubble is going to burst one day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edminski 2nd Gear April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 at this type of price, no car is a good buy. this coe bubble is going to burst one day true also...no car is a good buy now, but in the future, most likely cars will be at this price also. So if dont buy now, 1-3years down the road, totally no need to change new cars already.. In future, its either "own exp car" or "take public transport" My 2 cents. Some may say that coe will drop. But some may say that coe will remain so high for the rest of the years i believe that coe will remain high for the rest of the years Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lion-e-motion Neutral Newbie April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 yalor... i never like being bother by sales guy in any shop... when i need assistance, i will ask for one, if not, i prefer to walk around by myself.. you may not know, being a SE is not as simple as you guys may think, we are on Q-ing system, imagine one BROWSER just walk in and walk one round and left the showroom, one turn is wasted already, and as a SE, we solely rely on the commission, we don't sit there and get paid, so is kind of frustrated when this type of things happen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lion-e-motion Neutral Newbie April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 I buy toyota altis on 27-Feb-2010, price is $67000. They did not bet the COE for me so for, today call me to top up $11000. TOP up if you still want an ALTIS, Their ALTIS price now is $92K if i remember correctly (GUARANTEED PACKAGE), so after top up is still few Ks cheaper than the latest price. Alternatively bring your $$$ elsewhere. Anyway, not to promote my car, our PEUGEOT 308 1.6A is only selling at $93,900 with GUARANTEED COE without topping up. YOU may want to call me for details. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 true also...no car is a good buy now, but in the future, most likely cars will be at this price also. So if dont buy now, 1-3years down the road, totally no need to change new cars already.. In future, its either "own exp car" or "take public transport" My 2 cents. Some may say that coe will drop. But some may say that coe will remain so high for the rest of the years i believe that coe will remain high for the rest of the years there will come a time when this bubble will burst. the new quota has just started.give it time to run its course. after that, the price will reach a sensible level. then the LTA will come in to interfere again.....and the story goes on........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddyngiam Neutral Newbie April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 Any black and white ppwk contract when you signed the order.... in print and duly signed with or without 1 Bid??? That's the KEY. If not you need to deal very professional saleperson that you can trust. Why waits for 6 bids? When the market is UP don't play game.. If you have waited 6 bids you may as well waits for the right timing. Ask yourself do you really need a car now? COE is more than 2x the OMV cost..........You decide at what price you want to pay. Follow Warrant B way...Go opposite direction of the masses or crowds unless you are already way ahead. I went to Subaru on 13Mar10 tested Impreza 1.5R instantly I love it 100% and placed the order with 1Bid and I gotten my car on 7Apr10. With professional saleperson likes Subaru Ubi MotorImage Mr.Winston Eun you cannot go wrong and I met him for the 1st time on 13Mar10 and get my car fast with no fuss at all. Go and see the Subaru car test it and you will surely love it. I like the Forte 1.6SX tested it but do not want to Q up and waits and now I found the perfect car Subaru Impreza 1.R Sedan value for money..matches my needs Worth every cents of it. Do not be fooled by the simple looks of the car unless you are Racer Boy/Girl go for 2.0R or 2.5R Impreza 1.5R Sedan...It is really a very good machine and value for money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLing 1st Gear April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 Ask yourself whether you want to change your car or review again 6 mths later with the risk that it may go up even higher? Nobody can tell if you don't pay up the $11k, you can be gauranteed you'll never see the car, which you would have realised by now I agree with Beemer77's idea. His approach is the unemotional, Mr Spock (The Vulcan from Star Trek) approach. It's cold logic. However, I would understand fully if you refused to top-up because you're just fed-up with the way the whole promotion went. Some people who can wait will absolutely not let themselves get strong armed into topping up. I fully empathise with Mr Lai. You really cannot blame him for being so pissed. Hey Beemer77: would like to hear your assessment of this. If they refuse to top up, let's say 6 months down the road, nobody wants to buy a car. Won't the COE drop? If the buyer now re-enters into a new contract with BM, will that be financially more advantageous? Buying price lower but old car now depreciated a bit more? COE prices fluctuate more than used car prices Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camry-Fedup Neutral Newbie April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 (edited) Why u kena banned har? don't know leh, never mind lah, move on, it does not matter, have fun ! Edited April 8, 2010 by Camry-Fedup Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edminski 2nd Gear April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 Any black and white ppwk contract when you signed the order.... in print and duly signed with or without 1 Bid??? That's the KEY. If not you need to deal very professional saleperson that you can trust. Why waits for 6 bids? When the market is UP don't play game.. If you have waited 6 bids you may as well waits for the right timing. Ask yourself do you really need a car now? COE is more than 2x the OMV cost..........You decide at what price you want to pay. Follow Warrant B way...Go opposite direction of the masses or crowds unless you are already way ahead. I went to Subaru on 13Mar10 tested Impreza 1.5R instantly I love it 100% and placed the order with 1Bid and I gotten my car on 7Apr10. With professional saleperson likes Subaru Ubi MotorImage Mr.Winston Eun you cannot go wrong and I met him for the 1st time on 13Mar10 and get my car fast with no fuss at all. Go and see the Subaru car test it and you will surely love it. I like the Forte 1.6SX tested it but do not want to Q up and waits and now I found the perfect car Subaru Impreza 1.R Sedan value for money..matches my needs Worth every cents of it. Do not be fooled by the simple looks of the car unless you are Racer Boy/Girl go for 2.0R or 2.5R Impreza 1.5R Sedan...It is really a very good machine and value for money. if you didnt mention Mr Winston Eun, your feedback is so valuable But you came here with 1 post and compliment Winston, your post sounds that you are Winston who is so desperate for sales and come here to advertise You wrote a long story, but the main motive is to compliment Winston Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 I wonder if this is what you'll be saying if you get cheated by your car dealer...I doubt so.... If it is black n white, LL, suck thumb, hands up, my fault..... Rule of thumb in this tiny SG country, black n white...Unfortunately... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 if you didnt mention Mr Winston Eun, your feedback is so valuable But you came here with 1 post and compliment Winston, your post sounds that you are Winston who is so desperate for sales and come here to advertise You wrote a long story, but the main motive is to compliment Winston Give benefit of doubt...... I also praised my sales exec b4 a yr ++ ago, his name I repeat is Uncle Choo from Hyundai Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maldini03 1st Gear April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 the point is that it doesnt take a uni grad to figure that COE is rising bad BM, possibly the largest AD cannot claim the defence of ignorance if they know their premium not big enough to cover any rise then offer promo for fark? BM expect COE to rise but not by such extend of more than 10k till they cannot cover their profit margin. You yourself mention that it doesnt take a uni grad to figure COE is rising, then why didnt you get guaranteed coe option? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces 2nd Gear April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 Some may say that coe will drop. But some may say that coe will remain so high for the rest of the years i believe that coe will remain high for the rest of the years I'm not an expert... but juz giving my 1 cent worth... Most of the cars on the road today are 4 yrs old... meaning that in 6 yrs time, these cars will either have to renew COE or be scrapped. Assuming that majority were to scrap, that would means that more COEs will be released by then... and hopefully the price will stabilised. But my guess is that even with this assumption, it would likely to stabilise at the region of $25K - $30K given that the growth rate is only 1.5%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddyngiam Neutral Newbie April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 Hello... You are funny and do not ASSUME! I will pay you 100X any dollars you bet if it is not Truth. I am Eddyngiam................Winston is the saleperson who attended me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...