Felt so cheated by Borneo Motor

Lufu

Given the many customers that have been affected I am QUITE CERTAIN Borneo knew they couldn't fulfill all orders.

One suggestion I can make is to get authorised dealers to publish the percentage of orders they fulfill.

FYI.....BM finally put in a bid for my car (ordered before CNY) in this very last "chance" at $22k (Feb COE price)....to fulfill their "contractual" obligation and can officially call off this deal.....Byeeeeeeeeeee BM

:blink:[dizzy][knife] their previous bid was $26 668. Strange.......! I think sometimes there is a difference between acting legally and acting in good faith

Good faith????? Is there any in the 1st place?????

I heard the top up is now at least $15k

We knew that & refused with even the $11k topup. Since it is the last bidding, we are prepared to let contract lapse & see what BM will do since NOTHING done/ heard since we placed Order. Finally, they put in one last bid (意思, 意思) to at least fulfill contract obligation - put in one non-guaranteed COE bidding lor.

Now gotta take good care of my car....gotta serve us another few years to come.

If no one makes any noise, if Borneo is allowed to get away with it, very soon you will find that buying a car is like buying lottery.

Collectively, we have a choice.....if we accept THIS situation things will only get worse...if we make enough noise things should get better.

Some people have this idea that I can avoid this situation IF I get a guaranteed COE...now I ask....if everyone gets the guaranteed COE, can the COE be guarranteed? I doubt so.

Hi Andrew,

My 2 cents worth.

BM is able to 'get away' with it all is simply because of buyers choosing to go for the non-guaranteed packaged. As I've mentioned time & again, 2 packages, 2 tiered pricing exist for a simple reason - differentiation.

As for your 2nd statement, I do believe thta COE will be guaranteed had you went for the guaranteed package. Went for it meaning, opt for it, paid for it, and duly executed all necessary documents pertaining it.

For all we know, should the response for choosing guaranteed package be overwhelming, the AD can always say, "Sorry. Quota full."

In this instance, buyers thou keen to take on the guaranteed package, but in reality are unable to.

Henceforth, one still cannot assume that ADs are not able to deliver on committed GUARANTEED packages - unless you actually know of such a precedent.

Hi Darryn,

No I never said Borneo mislead me....and have a GOOD LOOK at the title of this topic "Felt so cheated"...there is a difference between "Felt so cheated" and simply "cheated".

Allow me to illustrate with an analogy.....You go to Morton's steak house for a nice steak meal....you pay a bundle....the steak is tough and stale....Yes the restaurant has FULFILLED its contract....so the customer has no right to be angry? The customer should not go to the papers to complain? The customer should just eat a tough stale piece of meat and be happy?

I doubt very much you would feel the same way if you were in our situation. So please be more empathetic.

Andrew

A $22k bid is not a serious bid, as good as bidding $1.

The rebate ADs are giving for Cat A was already 30-32k before the yesterday's COE bidding

Hi Branteo,

Have a look at what Spurman(previous post) has to say.....his cousin signed up for GUARANTEED package and yet had to TOP-UP. Yes there is a precedent for dealers not delivering on GUARANTEED packages.....

Spurman's point is simply this: When buying a car, this kind of thing is to be expected.

My point again: If we allow Borneo's behaviour to go unpunished...things in this industry will get worse for ALL concerned....buyers and sellers....

A $22k bid is not a serious bid, as good as bidding $1.

The rebate ADs are giving for Cat A was already 30-32k before the yesterday's COE bidding

Precisely, since it is already into last "chance", we decided to see what BM will do......We expected this, just throw in a bid to fulfill their obligation and we can officially call-off the deal. Our GUESS is correct.

There are 2 brand of cars I will NEVER buy because of the super bad attitude of the sales person I received.

Note that driving a 4 years old Mitsubishi lancer and wearing bermudas and t-shirt on a weekend does not mean i do not have money to buy car! Especially when i am not a young kid.

Honda and Toyota!

Dear Kah Motor and Borneo Morots, my sincere thanks for totally ignoring me (walk to me, ask me if i want brochure, no names no hand shake, walk off after give me brochure) and my needs, I am a happy Nissan owner who delivered my car as promised within 7 weeks of purchase, good service and good perks.

Drop ur biased opinion based on isolated encounter..

U eat tofu, choke den everyone will choke on tofu meh??!!

It

that is right. WHETHER OR NOT THE CUSTOMER HAD A FAULT.

the dealer is still at blame. BM possibly the largest AD in SG dunno COE going up? Kena surprised? Then they hire degree holders for what

If having a degree equates to the ability to predict, I seriously dun understand why am I still stuck in d stoopid cubicle working

Hi Darryn,

No I never said Borneo mislead me....and have a GOOD LOOK at the title of this topic "Felt so cheated"...there is a difference between "Felt so cheated" and simply "cheated".

Allow me to illustrate with an analogy.....You go to Morton's steak house for a nice steak meal....you pay a bundle....the steak is tough and stale....Yes the restaurant has FULFILLED its contract....so the customer has no right to be angry? The customer should not go to the papers to complain? The customer should just eat a tough stale piece of meat and be happy?

I doubt very much you would feel the same way if you were in our situation. So please be more empathetic.

Andrew

Sorry to butt in but I don't think you can use "feel cheated" in both cases because the vendors have not cheated you...

In your Morton's example, you can only feel "disappointed" as they did serve top-quality beef albeit done unsatisfactorily...

One can only feel cheated if they had served a sub-standard piece of beef which is clearly lower in both price and quality...

No need to add further to the BM case

Hi Darryn,

Andrew

Wa.. with all due respect, ur analogy sux.. u r comparing cow to chicken!!!

U went to a steak house and ware presented with 2 options on the menu.. 1 of the options offers a higher grade beef but is more pricy. U checked with the waiter on the diff and he mentioned to you that they are almost the same.. (tt

Allow me to illustrate with an analogy.....You go to Morton's steak house for a nice steak meal....

interesting that you mention this. Have a look at Lawry's Steak House at Mandarin Gallery. They have a plaque next the the entrance stating their Code of Conduct.

Some people have this idea that I can avoid this situation IF I get a guaranteed COE...now I ask....if everyone gets the guaranteed COE, can the COE be guarranteed? I doubt so.

Yes, that is a very good question. It's about time we examine this practice. Every system has its pros & cons.

1. Should we have a system of non-guaranteed COE's only or continue to have both?
  2. What are the advantages of the non-guaranteed system?
  3. There are obviously a lot of loopholes in the non-guaranteed system that can be exploited by the seller. Is the problem the system or the seller?
  4. Is the buyer stupid or is it that the seller did not give a clear explanation?
  5. Finally, who has the authority to regulate the Motor Trade?

From this thread it looks like most car buyers are occasional buyers. They do not keep themselves abreast of the latest price movements, developments & loopholes of the car trade AND most (if not all) Motor Traders are aware of this.

Hi Branteo,

Have a look at what Spurman(previous post) has to say.....his cousin signed up for GUARANTEED package and yet had to TOP-UP. Yes there is a precedent for dealers not delivering on GUARANTEED packages.....

Spurman's point is simply this: When buying a car, this kind of thing is to be expected.

My point again: If we allow Borneo's behaviour to go unpunished...things in this industry will get worse for ALL concerned....buyers and sellers....

Spurman's cousin may have topped up voluntarily to expediate the process rather than let the PI take their time to secure the COE...

At the end of the day, the PI has to deliver his car but what is uncertain is when...

I buy toyota altis on 27-Feb-2010, price is $67000.

They did not bet the COE for me so for, today call me to top up $11000.

Hi Branteo,

Hmmm ... key word here would be "had to top-up"? or "chose to top-up" for whatever reason that may not have been made known to us?

Meaning if he chose not to top up, does that mean he WILL NOT GET the car? Or does that mean he GOT TO WAIT A LONGER TIME - which nonetheless means he will guarantee get the car, doesn't it?

Unless the Guarantee Package clearly specifies that the buyer will secure the car within a stipulated no. of COE rounds of bidding.