So many VW Sciroccos on the road

Pigkachu

[wave] Yo peeps. Looks like some dude buying his car via parents saving account seems like a hot topic eh?LOL. But on a serious note, as much Sciroccos on the road now, i also see many on the second hand market. Anyone heard any story about this? Cuz it's a brand new car and the 1.4 especially alot on the second hand market now. I am considering a 1 year old scirocco, preferably the 2.0 as it comes with the sports n comfort mode. HOnestly, i have not test drive but sat in the car. Totally different feeling. Back to my query, any stories on why so many peopel seeling their sciroccos after a few months. Advance Thanks buddies! [flowerface]

one thing for sure, the blind spot is the main killer.

go test drive it to know more.~

to choose from Golf vs. Scirocco, my vote will goes to the Golf.

I agree with all that has posted so far, that if you want your own ride, earn for it yourself.

I'm born in late 80s and now early twenties. It is not about the generation or the gender, but the person.

I did get my 1st car on my own, right after passing my TP, using my own savings and maintaining it all on my own. The feeling is totally different from taking handout, you will only cherish something, if you worked for it.

I worked hard for my ride, worked on freelance/projects basis through university and calculated all risks and liabilities cost, before committing to owning my ride.

And yes, I would give my mom money upon starting my full time work (after graduation) this coming June. In fact part of the reason in getting the ride, was to ferry my family members and to take my 70+ grandmother out more often.

thanks for the advice

honestly, i feel that the main reason why my parents are not willing to buy because my dad and mom cannot come to an agreement on how much each person should contribute. its like mom say 50 50 dad say 70 30. in the end they drop the topic and the children suffer. [bigcry]

It's common to see people in their 20s driving entry level BMWs, Mercs...just go work in the finance industry...my nephew (only few years in a bank) - making almost 8K per month and getting 12 months bonus last year - One pt to note is that he is consider an under performer within his ranks...his colleague (same age) driving Audi TT ....

for me: it's madness to ask for that kind of prices for used Sciros [nosebleed] ppl 4get hw much was it when brand new lor :wacko:

with that kindo of asking prices, might as well buy new [idea]

It's common to see people in their 20s driving entry level BMWs, Mercs...just go work in the finance industry...my nephew (only few years in a bank) - making almost 8K per month and getting 12 months bonus last year - One pt to note is that he is consider an under performer within his ranks...his colleague (same age) driving Audi TT ....

Not everyone that works in finance gets that kind of money... only front office roles can get you that kind of income with only a few years experience...

Yo Lady KIller, thanks for the reply. Actually you are right, the car is much wider then Golf so the blind spot should post a problem. But did you test drive the car? If you did, which model, the 1.4 or 2.0? Seriously curious about this car but dont have the time to go down for test drive. Thanks again for taking time to reply. CHeers! [wave]

Scirocco got 3 main problems.

1- Rear and side view damn horrible.

2- Small boot and rear seats. In reality this car is a 2 seater that can cram an extra 2 person in an emergency

3- 5 to 6 months waiting time.

For the sake of vanity, I can endure the first 2 problems. Problem 3 was the deal breaker.

2- Small boot and rear seats. In reality this car is a 2 seater that can cram an extra 2 person in an emergency

For the sake of vanity, I can endure the first 2 problems. Problem 3 was the deal breaker.

IMO, the looks not lasting. First come out, sibei chio. Slowly slowly see not so nice. backside too big, funny profile. machiam charbo like dat. ^_^

Rear and side view are not its best views i agree. Best is 45 degrees front the front.

You are comparing the rear seats to which car? I find it very comfortable for a 2+2. So far all my friends are surprised how much legroom there is at the back. If I recall correctly, the wheelbase is similar to the Golf. Feels that way, minus a seat.

Yeah the waiting time is very long as there is a overwhelming demand worldwide. I waited 3 months for mine.

As to why there are quite a few on sale, I guess there are many reasons. One is that some of the owners got lemon cars. Mine has no problems though. Others move on to something more practical or better rides. And because of the long wait, owners who collect realise that they can sell the cars for a profit (they bought the cars way before the COE shot up).

I myself changed from a Golf to the Roc. Placed the order 6 months after collecting my Golf. The Golf was fine too. More boot space, more comfortable. Slightly better build quality. Just couldn't resist the looks of the Roc. :wub:

IMO, the looks not lasting. First come out, sibei chio. Slowly slowly see not so nice. backside too big, funny profile. machiam charbo like dat. ^_^

That is a very apt analogy and I was thinking along the same lines. It's like getting a chio b1tch as GF .... first few months very sexcited but once the spell wears off, have to put up with all the inherent defects.

You are comparing the rear seats to which car? I find it very comfortable for a 2+2. So far all my friends are surprised how much legroom there is at the back. If I recall correctly, the wheelbase is similar to the Golf. Feels that way, minus a seat.

Just compare with the Golf can already. The Golf can squeeze 3 behind. Scirocco is only 2. If you look carefully, the Scirocco's rear cabin is tapered so as to give its rear wheels that protruding look. So although the Roc has same wheelbase as Golf, potential rear space was sacrificed for sexy looks. I tried sitting in the back myself and felt a bit claustrophobic. Maybe the small windows and dark tinting also played a part.

Anyway, I am not saying the Scirocco is a bad car, just that for the sake of looks, some things were compromised.

Edited by Ahtong

thanks for the harsh comments. dream kind of shattered. but im interested in hearing those people who parents bought them their 1st car. mind sharing ur story?

how abt when i jz grad, earning just like 2+k a mth, my dad biz failed, and i was paying the car instalments for him until he recently passed?

Talk about missin servicings, wall paint on rear and front bumpers. White spots on paint that cannot be washed. And bumper dropping off. Plus suspension almost gone after going over speed hump without slowing down :D

that's the reason i always discourage my friend's from buying 2nd hand cars that are previously owned by lady driver.. [laugh]

And they advertise lady teacher owner like its a good thing. :D

I know this bunch of lady teachers, auntie grade, who are the worst drivers you can possibly find. [laugh][laugh]

oh, & doctors too.

Yo Lady KIller, thanks for the reply. Actually you are right, the car is much wider then Golf so the blind spot should post a problem. But did you test drive the car? If you did, which model, the 1.4 or 2.0? Seriously curious about this car but dont have the time to go down for test drive. Thanks again for taking time to reply. CHeers! [wave]

hehe. in SG road, 1.4L with TC/SC is more than enough. trust me.

from the test drive, i can say, this monster is responsive, powerful but not into comfort.

i am a person who is into comfort ride.

if you are a power hungry person, 2.0L TC is the one you are looking at.

it also provide much better in handling and you can have the choice of comfort and sport mode.

very powerful. :-)

Edited by Ladykillerz

thanks for the harsh comments. dream kind of shattered. but im interested in hearing those people who parents bought them their 1st car. mind sharing ur story?

Brudder.... i got my class3 in 1993......... owned my first ride (a caddy van only in 2003 ,10 yrs later).. but my family got a 1st gen proton saga(manual gear..... really can wack the bugger) that i get to use on some weekend for a few hrs only. The rest of time i cycle..... my work place 4km to and fro. I believe very much in OWNERSHIP..... cannot afford then dun think abt it.. the world is never equal. A yr ago i switch to a CVR... I love cars and i will work for it and Never ask someone for it!

Be patient........you will appreciate your parents more in time to come.