Celicagt42010 Neutral Newbie March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 Hi Everyone! I have some doubt regarding COE and ERP and what Govt is actually trying to do. I know purpose of COE is to control the car population blah blah (as explained by them ages ago). Then there is ERP to reduce jams. But they seems to contradict one another. I remembered Gvot mentioned that ERP allows more people to own cars. If you want to allow more people to own cars, wouldn't that go against what COE is trying to do? Now, Govt says that there are too many cars so trying to reduce. If you know more people owning cars will result in more cars (obvious right?) then why are you allowing more people to own cars? More cars = more jams on the road. Yet they are not trying to solve the problem. They are only trying to cut down growth rate to 1.5% rather than to cut down car population. This means jams will still be there and it will still get worse. I simply don't understand what they are trying to do. Their policies is like roti prata. Flipping around as they like. Btw, I still don't know how GST helps the poor.......and it was never explained.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 Simple: $$$ is all that they need Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 In other countries...they got this terms called "Flip-Flop policy" Anything they say is always correct. There is no wrong! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 Simple: $$$ is all that they need yah lor. no contradiction what.. either way is profit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xeryh 3rd Gear March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 The theory: COE increases costs of ownership, ERP increases cost of car usage. I don't see how they are contradictory. ERP is supposed to be balanced against the road tax. The road tax is a fixed cost depending on capacity, and whether you drive your car 100km or 500km in a year, as long as the cc is the same, you will pay the same amount of road tax. ERP on the other hand, charges you based on usage (esp on peak hours), so it will be more fair to the guy who owns the 5000cc car but only drives it 12 times a year or during off peak. The road tax is supposed to go down (thus encouraging car ownership) and ERP goes up (discouraging usage, especially during peak). Public policies will always lag behind the economy,or so my econs lecturer tells us, so they are more likely to be playing catch up based on actual situation on the ground Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carz Neutral Newbie March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 u juz need to pay, else take public tpt, PERIOD! HA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 Hi Everyone! I have some doubt regarding COE and ERP and what Govt is actually trying to do. I know purpose of COE is to control the car population blah blah (as explained by them ages ago). Then there is ERP to reduce jams. But they seems to contradict one another. I remembered Gvot mentioned that ERP allows more people to own cars. If you want to allow more people to own cars, wouldn't that go against what COE is trying to do? Now, Govt says that there are too many cars so trying to reduce. If you know more people owning cars will result in more cars (obvious right?) then why are you allowing more people to own cars? More cars = more jams on the road. Yet they are not trying to solve the problem. They are only trying to cut down growth rate to 1.5% rather than to cut down car population. This means jams will still be there and it will still get worse. I simply don't understand what they are trying to do. Their policies is like roti prata. Flipping around as they like. Btw, I still don't know how GST helps the poor.......and it was never explained.... try not to understand. u never will. [laugh] even if u cracked it, what can u do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sw20 2nd Gear March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 Jam occurs because alot of idiot driving slow on the road.... after PIE/BKE.... How many cars do see on the road are going below the speed limit??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 Hi Everyone! I have some doubt regarding COE and ERP and what Govt is actually trying to do. I know purpose of COE is to control the car population blah blah (as explained by them ages ago). Then there is ERP to reduce jams. But they seems to contradict one another. I remembered Gvot mentioned that ERP allows more people to own cars. If you want to allow more people to own cars, wouldn't that go against what COE is trying to do? Now, Govt says that there are too many cars so trying to reduce. If you know more people owning cars will result in more cars (obvious right?) then why are you allowing more people to own cars? More cars = more jams on the road. Yet they are not trying to solve the problem. They are only trying to cut down growth rate to 1.5% rather than to cut down car population. This means jams will still be there and it will still get worse. I simply don't understand what they are trying to do. Their policies is like roti prata. Flipping around as they like. Btw, I still don't know how GST helps the poor.......and it was never explained.... Our good govt is here to squeeze us dry help us.. Believe in them, not understand them.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 COE+ERP are 2 preventive(lessen traffic, carbon emmision, etc) measures that didn't work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nimm12 Neutral Newbie March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 (edited) afterall its not even worth peanuts to them, so why do u care? Edited March 20, 2010 by Nimm12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 Hi Everyone! I have some doubt regarding COE and ERP and what Govt is actually trying to do. I know purpose of COE is to control the car population blah blah (as explained by them ages ago). Then there is ERP to reduce jams. But they seems to contradict one another. I remembered Gvot mentioned that ERP allows more people to own cars. If you want to allow more people to own cars, wouldn't that go against what COE is trying to do? Now, Govt says that there are too many cars so trying to reduce. If you know more people owning cars will result in more cars (obvious right?) then why are you allowing more people to own cars? More cars = more jams on the road. Yet they are not trying to solve the problem. They are only trying to cut down growth rate to 1.5% rather than to cut down car population. This means jams will still be there and it will still get worse. I simply don't understand what they are trying to do. Their policies is like roti prata. Flipping around as they like. Btw, I still don't know how GST helps the poor.......and it was never explained.... Cos they wan to allow more ppl to be able to afford cars. not own cars. However, they overshot COE quota's yearly increment, thus the cutback now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thunder7890 Neutral Newbie March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 Your good garment like to talk and do roti prata because they have no other better ways to solve their problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elusion Neutral Newbie March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 I remember during one of the National Day Rally our PM, mention that he want to reduce the price of COE so more people can afford the car. But he will control the usage of the car instead. The more you use the more you pay. Thats why over the past few years the COE quota increased to allow more people to buy the car at cheaper price. Then at the same time they impose higher parking fee, ERP and etc. Then now they say the car population growth too much and now reduce the quota. COE price shoot up but all the others no change. So now everything also expensive. Those bought car liao can't sell, those going to buy have to pay more. Like the chinese always say officer got 2 mouths. Every also they say. LL n suck thumb that life. In fact nowadays everything also increase except the salary n bonus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waffenss Neutral Newbie March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 Xeryh already explained the COE/ERP part. As for GST, it helps the poor by taxing the rich who spends more & in return the income tax rate is kept low. This is my own view & might not be correct. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mingsect 5th Gear March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 (edited) Btw, I still don't know how GST helps the poor.......and it was never explained.... the rich then to buy more.. hence the richer you are,, the more you spend the more you get taxed but on the other hand.. u might be right. the poor does not need to pay income tax in the first place ( annual income lesser than 22 or 24k ?) suddenly, buy food/ water & electrical bill have to kanna gst.. Edited March 20, 2010 by Mingsect Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 Because HDB forgot to build more car park for Idle cars. Now, many owners got car cannot get season parking. KPKB at town council. URA also needs to made it mandatory for condo to have >1 car parks per 1 unit. Only when we have enough car park, then we can allow more people to own car but with limited usage. One reason to explain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 Poor get taxed for buying neccessities.. rice, oil etc. the amt they are taxed on as a percentage of their income may be actually higher than the rich...whereas the rich get taxed on other luxury items, and it prob will not directly impact them financially. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...