Little_prince Supersonic March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 30k per yr better dun over indulge in credit cards la... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Budgetice 3rd Gear March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 credit card quite ok lah... just have the discipline to clear all ur bills in full can already can help u save money if you use wisely.. petrol discount, restaurant discount.. etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A_nesta84 Clutched March 20, 2010 Author Share March 20, 2010 thanks all for the opinions, looks like i am looking at UOB, HSBC and Citi cards. But most is looking for no/less annual fee. it seems that those with cash back is a gd option Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carz Neutral Newbie March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 IF u lose ur debit card, u better pray that it was not swiped by rogues. Its instantaneously deducted from ur bank a/c, unlike CC. So credit card is def best, that is if u know how to differentiate between good and bad debt. For me, always pay in time to give a gd credit rating, never use future $$ and accumulate points for petrol and grocery redemption ... On 3/19/2010 at 7:28 PM, LoverofCar said: yes..debit card is the best....no need to remember to pay the bank....and most important...no money don;t spend...why go on credit..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 On 3/19/2010 at 3:25 PM, Yuan said: Just have one or two would be good enough and in case you need to travel overseas. I, for one, don't like to have credit cards. Only used them when overseas. In Singapore, I paid most of my bills by cash or debit card. This is to monitor and control my own finances and avoid the temptation of incurring debts with credit cards, or what they call "spending future money". I have the same pattern as you bro... Ha but i have to use credit cards for entertainment cuz its a corporate status thing... So what I do is i'll settle my credit card charge every week via AXS machines... This way, I can avoid spending future money like you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 20, 2010 Share March 20, 2010 On 3/20/2010 at 3:42 AM, Icebrush79 said: I have the same pattern as you bro... Ha but i have to use credit cards for entertainment cuz its a corporate status thing... So what I do is i'll settle my credit card charge every week via AXS machines... This way, I can avoid spending future money like you Your company did not issue you with their corporate credit card? That would save you from using your own credit cards and the hassle of visiting AXS machines every week. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 On 3/20/2010 at 2:05 PM, Yuan said: Your company did not issue you with their corporate credit card? That would save you from using your own credit cards and the hassle of visiting AXS machines every week. Nope... haha...yeah that would have saved me from that huge hassle!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kensk Clutched March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 UOB just mailed me a $6 voucher. Must spent min $50. I usually buy over $60 worth..so it is almost 10% disc upfront. You guys got this voucher too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Surferguy1978 1st Gear March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 On 3/21/2010 at 10:21 AM, Kensk said: UOB just mailed me a $6 voucher. Must spent min $50. I usually buy over $60 worth..so it is almost 10% disc upfront. You guys got this voucher too? i got it too! $6 shell voucher. =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 On 3/21/2010 at 10:21 AM, Kensk said: UOB just mailed me a $6 voucher. Must spent min $50. I usually buy over $60 worth..so it is almost 10% disc upfront. You guys got this voucher too? got it. standby to use liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mugx Neutral Newbie March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 i'm using dbs black elite for both local and overseas spending. though my company provides us with a corp card, using my own black elite gives me 6x more points when i charge my hotel bills or buy stuff when im overseas... if i were to use corp card, i get zero points... :angry: and oh, the card is free too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 (edited) for me ocbc for petrol stan chart for better limit they give 4X btw.. gd for emergencies citibank n uob for dining n shopping discounts. thats basically it.. no need too many actually...u will forget to pay Edited March 21, 2010 by Robo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spying Clutched March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 (edited) On 3/20/2010 at 2:44 AM, Budgetice said: credit card quite ok lah... just have the discipline to clear all ur bills in full can already can help u save money if you use wisely.. petrol discount, restaurant discount.. etc The keyword is here, if you dont have it, better stay away. That said, dont understand why people keep blaming cc for being evil blah blah. Its the user. Definitely helps you save money if you know what to use on and pay your bills on time. Dining, shopping, you get discs which you dont if you pay cash/nets. Cards a corporate status thing? Please, most cards are easily accessible to most people less the exclusive ones. However, not everyone will have the same credit limit granted. Try to set future dated electronics payment so that you dont forget to pay. So, back to the emphasis, strict discipline on spending, dont spend what you dont have, dont roll over credit. TS, you can consider UOB one card. Thats all folks. Edited March 21, 2010 by Spying Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 On 3/20/2010 at 1:14 AM, Bavarian said: Credit cards are inherently evil. how come credit cards be evil? they can be used to pay for CHC tithing ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 On 3/20/2010 at 3:34 AM, Carz said: IF u lose ur debit card, u better pray that it was not swiped by rogues. Its instantaneously deducted from ur bank a/c, unlike CC. So credit card is def best, that is if u know how to differentiate between good and bad debt. For me, always pay in time to give a gd credit rating, never use future $$ and accumulate points for petrol and grocery redemption ... the bank has something to protect those lost cases if u report on time..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 In Singapore, at many places, use credit card can get discount, but pay cash, no discount. Pay by CC, ( including telco bills, or other regular bill )can accumulate points in exchange for shopping voucher or dinning voucher, further saving. So, good to apply those that fit your life style. Corporate card is good, save you headache ( provided your boss or finance department don't question your expenditure item by item ) but then, you do not get to accumulate the points to redeem those vouchers or items. Only thing is to take note of how much you have spent and make sure to clear all bills on time in full......else, the interest may snow ball and you have to start dealing with legal " loan shark" at 24% pa Spend wisely and always save for rainy day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
James75 Clutched March 21, 2010 Share March 21, 2010 DBS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvinyuen 2nd Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 On 3/21/2010 at 11:17 AM, Surferguy1978 said: i got it too! $6 shell voucher. =) hey hey hey how come i do not have the shell voucher? I will be waiting for it now. heheh Thanks for the headsup ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...