Ididbobe Neutral Newbie March 19, 2010 Share March 19, 2010 just checking.....i was a DIY store called Homefix last nite and saw this product they were selling which can restore the clarity in ur headlamps to make it look clear and transparent. h/w there was this variant on the side which cld enable u to a blue /pink/black tint to the lamps?? i am not sure since i hv been surprised many times over on what is not LTA compliant wanted to chk if this tinting of headlamps or rear lights is ok??the website of the company is : www.coat-innovative.com.sg ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Starletgt Neutral Newbie March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 To what i know, tinting of any part of the car lamp is illegal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ididbobe Neutral Newbie March 24, 2010 Author Share March 24, 2010 Tks StarletGT, it is what I feared...looks like by LTA stds everything oso TAK BOLEH Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 better dun anyhow mod. wait cannot pass inspection. quite a number of workshop pple and inspectors went to lim kopi wif CPIB liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyotacamry Neutral Newbie April 10, 2010 Share April 10, 2010 it has been approved by LTA. The email from LTA allow this product to be sold - if not such big organisation like HomeFix would not sell. Below is the reply as such from LTA: We would like to inform you that the Land Transport Authority does not engage in the type-approval of motor vehicle accessories. We will, however be concerned if the fitting of such accessories adversely affect the safety and exhaust emission characteristics of the vehicle. We have, in general, no objections to the use of Headlamp Coating Kit Product so long as it does not affect the safe operation of the vehicle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear April 11, 2010 Share April 11, 2010 how much does this cost? sounds interesting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ididbobe Neutral Newbie April 12, 2010 Author Share April 12, 2010 Abt 60 bux! If u wanna see how it looks, come for the meet up...buay pai leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ProStreetDriver Clutched September 3, 2013 Share September 3, 2013 Some places it's illegal, but some cops won't make that much of a big deal about it. There is a few different methods tinting your lights. You can purchase a spray on stuff such as Nightshade and then add clear coat after to give it that shine. You can also take it to a body shop and they'll apply a tinted clear coat which looks much nicer. Or you can purchase a glue on film such as Lamin-x. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xlentlow Clutched September 3, 2013 Share September 3, 2013 it has been approved by LTA. The email from LTA allow this product to be sold - if not such big organisation like HomeFix would not sell. Below is the reply as such from LTA: We would like to inform you that the Land Transport Authority does not engage in the type-approval of motor vehicle accessories. We will, however be concerned if the fitting of such accessories adversely affect the safety and exhaust emission characteristics of the vehicle. We have, in general, no objections to the use of Headlamp Coating Kit Product so long as it does not affect the safe operation of the vehicle. wow! seriously? tinted headlamp is approved by LTA! I'll go get them tonight! btw TS, which home fix store did you go to? and what are the choices of colors? thanks alot! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 Very strange,some people like very very bright light [used 6000K HID bulbs],some people like to tint their lights... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Optramagnum 6th Gear May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 Funny, headlights are supposed to brighten the surrounding, then you tint them, abit pointless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raychay 6th Gear May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 Very strange,some people like very very bright light [used 6000K HID bulbs],some people like to tint their lights... some people fix HID too bright liao tint their lights some people tint their lights too dark liao fix HID Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 Those are backside itchi lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 Very strange,some people like very very bright light [used 6000K HID bulbs],some people like to tint their lights... This reminds me of the joke that the Taiwanese commented on SAF vehicles - Turning on the headlight in the day, and turning the headlight off (on tactical lights) at night! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear December 4, 2016 Share December 4, 2016 Those tinted film for head and Rear light is it legal in sg? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 4, 2016 Share December 4, 2016 (edited) Those tinted film for head and Rear light is it legal in sg? No. Headlights and Taillights cannot modify at all in SG. Everything must be same as how it came from the factory. Edited December 4, 2016 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear December 6, 2016 Share December 6, 2016 Those tinted film for head and Rear light is it legal in sg? Not legal but simple... The tinting is not gonna cost you alot. Just remove them before inspection and all will be good. Also depends on the degree you tint, if its 1-2 shades darker, LTA normally won't stop you on the roads. You measure your own tolerance to enforcement la. Aesthetics vs convenience, see which is more important to you lor 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
hyuna Neutral Newbie December 19, 2016 Share December 19, 2016 Legal or illegal? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...