Do you think Singapore is a democratic country?

Mike1234

The problem now is if the ruling powers are going to screw it up like Mussolini.

The one thing good about the ruling powers is that they know that our concept and ideology applies solely to us. We don't go out and attempt to preach it.

i guess most labels are just not academically pure given the practice found in the real world.

china's communist with market features, singapore's democracy with facist features.. haha

besides the system of government, nazis used racial hate to galvanise their political ambitions.

many countries are just a mix of flavours of government.. no cut and dried template what democracy should be right?

i guess this discussion will go as far as the political analysts' puzzlement on how we do things.

The problem now is if the ruling powers are going to screw it up like Mussolini.

The one thing good about the ruling powers is that they know that our concept and ideology applies solely to us. We don't go out and attempt to preach it.

eh? i thought lky does that?

He does it and he is the only one doing it. Other than him, nobody is convicted enough to go around singing about our system. The rest sing to us the benefits of our system but will hush hush elsewhere.

Singapore is neither Democracy nor Communist,

But a CORPORATE

I kind of agree to some extend that Singapore is like a Conglomerate and more of Company style......

Which "project" is more profitable?

Will this help to earn more money?

Etc,.......

can we call ourselves facismocratic?

facisim depresses individual rights for the good of the nation.

democracy elevates the rights of the individual, but not to the detriment of the majority.

so hard to mix the 2 up

Well it has not happened yet. Remember, the ruling powers will overturn any freak election result.

Isn't that depressing individual political rights?

How they can mix is interesting. I hope I can see this happen. [:p]

We are not 100% democratic.

Our system is such that, they allow us to vote, but the person we vote in makes the decision for us.

That is some sort of democracy. So I would say, got a bit lah.

Our system is such that, they allow us to vote, but the person we vote in makes the decision for us.

eh bro, that's governing thorough representation. most countries already like that lah.

However, you must know that the result of any election now must have the ruling powers as the majority. Else they will overturn it due to a freak result

Fascist ideology believes that the economic classes (peasants) are incapable of running the nation with their political power (vote). So our election votes tell them we are stupid to have not voted for them to be the majority.

I don't know if we can qualify as a democracy due to the fact that we can vote. But we are fascist because we are looked upon as too stupid to run this country.

However, you must know that the result of any election now must have the ruling powers as the majority. Else they will overturn it due to a freak result

Fascist ideology believes that the economic classes (peasants) are incapable of running the nation with their political power (vote). So our election votes tell them we are stupid to have not voted for them to be the majority.

I don't know if we can qualify as a democracy due to the fact that we can vote. But we are fascist because we are looked upon as too stupid to run this country.

well dats becoz judicial and executive branch are ......

Lets see if anybody can follow my train of thought.

SG gahment has privatized all our state-owned infrastructure. SMRT, SBS, SIA, SingPost, ST etc.

Sovereign wealth fund AKA Temasek Holdings has tentacles into every one of these.

This means they are state-owned private enterprises. (what an oxymoron!)

Then let me introduce to you FASCISM.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fascism

Note the definition.

Fascists seek to organize a nation on corporatist perspectives; values; and systems such as the political system and the economy.

Interesting, isn't it?

Now forget about the war part in the Wiki article. We can't afford it here but just by going with the first line of the definition, we might very well be a fascist state! A rather distinct and successful form might I add.

Read up the entire Wiki article. I highly recommend it.

Besides ourselves, there is at least one rich ME countries (can't remember offhand) which has a pte ltd operating like Temasek.

Correct me if I am wrong but I think LKY once mentioned Sg is a socialist democracy (or something like that). Fascist state may be too strong a word to describe us as there are many areas Sg does not indulge in. Eg "the will and ability to commit violence and wage war in order to keep the nation strong.[15] Fascists identify violence and war as actions that create national regeneration, spirit and vitality."

This is debatable though. "Fascists claim that culture is created by collective national society and its state, that cultural ideas are what give individuals identity, and thus rejects individualism."

Hell, I was never interested in socialogy at all. :wacko:

The People's Action Party (abbrev: PAP) is a centre-right[3]political party in Singapore. Having been the country's ruling party since 1959, it is Singapore's longest (and only ever) ruling party. This continuous rule has led the country to be described as a "de facto one party-state" and "undemocratic."[4][5]

Since the 1959 general elections, the PAP has dominated Singapore's politics and has been central to the city-state's rapid political, social, and economic development.[6] In the 2015 Singapore general election, the PAP won 83 of the 89 constituency elected seats in the Parliament of Singapore, representing 69.86% of total votes cast.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/People%27s_Action_Party

I don't believe in democracy.

I think all decisions should be made by me

and if I am not around by @mockingbird.

He is very mature and sensible too.

We, the citizens of Singapore, pledge ourselves as one united people, regardless of race, language or religion, to build a democratic society, based on justice and equality, so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress for our nation.

When was the last time you say your pledge?

Just kidding lah. 2 of us can't make all the decisions.

Our cabinet will be made up of all the mature and sensible posters in MCF.

If you received praise points from me then you would very likely be in our cabinet.

I think you all know who you are.

Its either our pledge or Wikipedia needs amendment. lol [laugh]

We, the citizens of Singapore, pledge ourselves as one united people, regardless of race, language or religion, to build a democratic society, based on justice and equality, so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress for our nation.

When was the last time you say your pledge?

singapore is a democratic country

but

the citizens only care about

1 resale value of hdb

2 lift upgrading

3 rebate vouchers

4 enbloc got give good location replacement or not

5 price of coe so that can 出new car to show off to neighbour. family

Edited by Staff69