[More Fantasy] SAF in WW2

Ahtong

Those guns could be turned 180 to point at Boleh land. Problem was they had only armour piercing rounds to deal with ships, not the high explosive rounds that were useful against infantry.

Not true. pointing the gun the wrong side mean that our whole defend forces is alread position wrongly.

I believe RSAF will be a none factor. The reason is our airfields are already being pounded by Jap arty. One wonders if the modern fighters can operate and be serviced in such an environment. The main stumbling block in the scenario is that SAF will be starting in a "cornered rat" position. Historically, the Battle of Singapore was lost in Malaya.

IMO, if SAF could deploy in Kota Baru, the outcome would have been a Jap loss of epic scale.

In my opinion, SAF should take a leaf and take some good lessons from IDF....

They are good.....Excellent track record from 1948 Arab-Israeli War, 1967 Six Day War to Operation Cast Lead in 2009.....Israel is still around and very strong in military might. [sweatdrop]

with 3G toys sure win lah.......

man to man sure lose.... ppl nowadays (including me) not as hardy as those 50 years ago... stay in jungle more then 8 days sure pengsan.....

10 days i think is the max i can take

Eh, Japs are also well known for toys.....if you know what I mean :D

Not true. pointing the gun the wrong side mean that our whole defend forces is alread position wrongly.

Long beofre the Japs came, the Brits already realized the invasion route would come from Boleh land. That is why they started constructing airfields and positioning their divisions up north. The whole battle of Malaya / Singapore was a disgraceful campaign for the Brits, brought about by complacency, poor communications, lack of resources and the Japs robbing a house that was already on fire.

also remember... in those days.. there were more soldiers... the japs could just pour soldiers in .. not really sure about total Nip strength in malayan region, but the imperial army had 3.2 million pax (according to wiki: Jap Army strength).

OUr whole 3G saf strength + all our fail-IPPT reservist strength <500K soldiers (incl army navy airforce).

Of course, if in the 1st place the RSAF AWACS and AEW had done their job properly, the nips won't have taken us by surprise. But assuming the air force was at the casino gambling, and forgot to mount early warning.. and the Japs managed to crawl up our ass from JB.

I think 3Div and elements of 6, 9, 21 and some say 25 Div are on reservist training - these units can be turned out we could have an orbat of about 20K troops ready at about 4NTM. And maybe recall the rest of the elements and have a force of say 60K troops ready within 24NTM.

Assuming the Japs had about 200K troops pouring in over the causeway, and managed to form a beachhead covering woodlands and marsiling area before by D-Day H-Hour +4. By the HHour + 24, they should be facing a defense position with about 3 to 1 numerical superiority.

Of course, the edge in high tech would definately let us win..

I mean the Mitsubishi Zeroes would have no chance to get even close, the SADA would have taken them out (even though the AWACS and AEW are sleeping). And then, the F16s would have decimated whatever remaining Zeros and gained Air Supremacy within H+1.

As mentioned earlier the cobras would slowly walk fire through the ground troops, with the SAR pulverising the JAP armor. It'll be a turkey shoot.

What japs that can get into the forest will be starved out .. or taken out with S&D ops.

Edited by Parkingidiot

its true that most of the guns could be turned 360 except for those emplaced within bunkers facing the sea. It is also true the brits did not have explosive ammunition for the guns but only anti ship armour piercing ones. And armour piercing ammo will have no use against the jap's most lethal WEAPON!

the.... bicycle-yellow.png

If really 3G technology bring back to WW2... Japs sure lose.

With faster and more precise targeting system.

Wars nowadays are determine by who got better equipment.

Numbers of man dun really matter nowadays unless all fail and end up in hand to hand combat.

Just look at US, Stealth Bomber hit saddam butt so fast...he din even see it coming.

1 x 400 pound bomb dropped onto a camp site or the army base, could easily count people dead or injured by the hundreds.

Maybe TS can google up an old movie during the early 90s, "Final Countdown". Though no much of action but story line still ok.

It's a story of how a modern aircraft carrier was transported back to ww2 pearl harbour 1 day before it got hit by japs and why they hesitated not to help in that war even though they got the means to win the war.

Probably if the causeway was blown up

the IJA will probably have an uphill task, mainly since they are technologically not up to date..

Our Leopard2A4 will wipe whatever Ha-go light Jap tank they send against us for toilet paper. [laugh] and then we can use these scrap metal to sell. plus as someone said, our RSAF and Navy will pound these bummers to dust using our stealth frigates as well as our F15-SG.But an interesting point to note, these F15-Sgs and Apaches are based in America, so its up to the F-16 which will probably not even need to use AIM9, waste $$

Wah lau, like that history will change, SG better than Russia or US liao.. that time no nukes yet. can go conquer everyone. [laugh]

But best of all.. SAF known for its special ability,eye power. [laugh]

I think alot of you forgotten one big thing... Where to find Jet fuel enough to fight the whole war during that time?? Also where to get so much power to support the army?? After we used up all the power and fuel, our so call 3G troopers are sitting ducks... Take away all the modern toys lots of our soldier is just like a little boy who lost their toys, waiting to be picked..

haha using this boliao comparison, why not better send our 3G army to fight the war of the greeks vs persians. Thermopalye, spartan 300 vs the masses of Zerxyes? SAF 300 vs persians anyone?

If I am not wrong, SG cannot fight long wars because no natural resources.

Regarding water, we have NEW WATER!! lol..

TO Failali:

There are Apache at SG. U never go airshow??

i forgot [laugh]

most of the Longbows though are all based in America.. but if TS means the whole SAF, then surely wipe nips ass liao [laugh]

I think alot of you forgotten one big thing... Where to find Jet fuel enough to fight the whole war during that time?? Also where to get so much power to support the army?? After we used up all the power and fuel, our so call 3G troopers are sitting ducks... Take away all the modern toys lots of our soldier is just like a little boy who lost their toys, waiting to be picked..

But jet fuel is made up of kerosene... and koresene was readily available in those days....

anyway... we are talking hypothetically... so hypothetically speaking we could already have invented the flux capacitor:

40-mr_fusion.jpg

Probably if the causeway was blown up

the IJA will probably have an uphill task, mainly since they are technologically not up to date..

Our Leopard2A4 will wipe whatever Ha-go light Jap tank they send against us for toilet paper. [laugh] and then we can use these scrap metal to sell. plus as someone said, our RSAF and Navy will pound these bummers to dust using our stealth frigates as well as our F15-SG.But an interesting point to note, these F15-Sgs and Apaches are based in America, so its up to the F-16 which will probably not even need to use AIM9, waste $$

Wah lau, like that history will change, SG better than Russia or US liao.. that time no nukes yet. can go conquer everyone. [laugh]

But best of all.. SAF known for its special ability,eye power. [laugh]

not even need F16, F5 and A4SU will be good enough

How would SAF rate if it got thrown into the maelstorm of WW2?

Let's say SAF and all their 3G toys got teleported back to 1942 to fight the Battle of Singapore, could they have done a better job than the Pommies? Remember that Singapore at that time was besieged. The Causeway has been blown, Boleh land has been taken, water has been cut and the major airfields are within enemy arty range.

Will SAF suffer a humiliating defeat or can they push the Japs up into Boleh land and into the sea? To be fair, assume the SAF commander has no historical hindsight.

On an individual level, I fancy my chances. M16/SAR21 got auto mode. Jap rifle is bolt action.

Haha interesting scenario.

Equipment wise 3G SAF will win hands down, even without airfields, RSAF will still be able to strike their rear with Apaches. If jet fuel are enough, probably can superpuma or chinook some guardsmen and commandos over.

Their tanks will not stand a chance when faced with Leopard 2A4. If the japs were to ride on bicycles, guardsmen on LSVs will gun them down with GPMGs.

See...war already half-won liao. :D

But i have a doubt, when it comes to close combat bayonet fighting, are our boys tough enough ? [confused] People born 60 years ago are known to be much tougher mentally and physically.