Ahtong 1st Gear March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 How would SAF rate if it got thrown into the maelstorm of WW2? Let's say SAF and all their 3G toys got teleported back to 1942 to fight the Battle of Singapore, could they have done a better job than the Pommies? Remember that Singapore at that time was besieged. The Causeway has been blown, Boleh land has been taken, water has been cut and the major airfields are within enemy arty range. Will SAF suffer a humiliating defeat or can they push the Japs up into Boleh land and into the sea? To be fair, assume the SAF commander has no historical hindsight. On an individual level, I fancy my chances. M16/SAR21 got auto mode. Jap rifle is bolt action. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 the SAF COA will probably sell his daughter to the Jap Army for riches and send his wife to be a comfort woman for the jap soldiers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 How would SAF rate if it got thrown into the maelstorm of WW2? Let's say SAF and all their 3G toys got teleported back to 1942 to fight the Battle of Singapore, could they have done a better job than the Pommies? Remember that Singapore at that time was besieged. The Causeway has been blown, Boleh land has been taken, water has been cut and the major airfields are within enemy arty range. Will SAF suffer a humiliating defeat or can they push the Japs up into Boleh land and into the sea? To be fair, assume the SAF commander has no historical hindsight. On an individual level, I fancy my chances. M16/SAR21 got auto mode. Jap rifle is bolt action. Firstly, the Battle of Singapore was not lost due to mismatching forces but lack of will on the British side. I believe SAF will fight rather harder becoz this is our own war. Secondly, our modern airforce will tear the sh1t outta the Nips backline, logistic, et al. The Japs will not enjoy air-superiority over Sinagpore. Their logistic trail will be attacked at all times. Our Artillery will also pound them so hard that Annabelle Chong would blush. No chance at all them Japs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 Our soldiers will radio back to HQ and complain why the c0ckup. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 interesting concept but you have to normalise everything to the 1940s, which means no m-16s, no modern strategy,no guided missiles. which also means.... it's already been done. just replace the brits with smaller, tanned people with flatter noses. same outcome i'd say (japs also got inside help with locals who turned translators) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 Firstly, the Battle of Singapore was not lost due to mismatching forces but lack of will on the British side. I believe SAF will fight rather harder becoz this is our own war. Secondly, our modern airforce will tear the sh1t outta the Nips backline, logistic, et al. The Japs will not enjoy air-superiority over Sinagpore. Their logistic trail will be attacked at all times. Our Artillery will also pound them so hard that Annabelle Chong would blush. No chance at all them Japs. polar. a bit error here. the reason is not just the lake of will. If you have read our history textbook, you will remember that part of the reason is because all our main guns are pointing towards the wrong direction. In fact in the 10 days leading to the surrender of Singapore. Jap troops had actually clock more death as compare to their attack in malaysia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cavver 4th Gear March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 (edited) A squaron of Apache alone is enough to wipe the little nippon out. Edited March 16, 2010 by Cavver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cavver 4th Gear March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 polar. a bit error here. the reason is not just the lake of will. If you have read our history textbook, you will remember that part of the reason is because all our main guns are pointing towards the wrong direction. In fact in the 10 days leading to the surrender of Singapore. Jap troops had actually clock more death as compare to their attack in malaysia. Mean if brits dun surrender, may got chance ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear March 16, 2010 Author Share March 16, 2010 I believe RSAF will be a none factor. The reason is our airfields are already being pounded by Jap arty. One wonders if the modern fighters can operate and be serviced in such an environment. The main stumbling block in the scenario is that SAF will be starting in a "cornered rat" position. Historically, the Battle of Singapore was lost in Malaya. IMO, if SAF could deploy in Kota Baru, the outcome would have been a Jap loss of epic scale. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear March 16, 2010 Author Share March 16, 2010 which also means.... it's already been done. just replace the brits with smaller, tanned people with flatter noses. same outcome i'd say (japs also got inside help with locals who turned translators) I think SAF soldiers would fight harder because of the home factor. We are also more familiar with jungle fighting. The angmos were not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noobcar Clutched March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 Mean if brits dun surrender, may got chance ?? If i remember correctly the jap is low on supply and ammo at the point of time if the brits dun surrender and continue fighting the Jap will be force to pull back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear March 16, 2010 Author Share March 16, 2010 polar. a bit error here. the reason is not just the lake of will. If you have read our history textbook, you will remember that part of the reason is because all our main guns are pointing towards the wrong direction. In fact in the 10 days leading to the surrender of Singapore. Jap troops had actually clock more death as compare to their attack in malaysia. Those guns could be turned 180 to point at Boleh land. Problem was they had only armour piercing rounds to deal with ships, not the high explosive rounds that were useful against infantry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extramint Clutched March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 i think SAF soldiers will shout at JAP soldiers. "wake up your f-ing idea, can!?" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 Those guns could be turned 180 to point at Boleh land. Problem was they had only armour piercing rounds to deal with ships, not the high explosive rounds that were useful against infantry. Logistic problem and pernament gun attachment is suicide...even by WWII standards. Also I doubt the cannons have the range to hit bolehland from sentosa that time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 How would SAF rate if it got thrown into the maelstorm of WW2? Let's say SAF and all their 3G toys got teleported back to 1942 to fight the Battle of Singapore, could they have done a better job than the Pommies? Remember that Singapore at that time was besieged. The Causeway has been blown, Boleh land has been taken, water has been cut and the major airfields are within enemy arty range. Will SAF suffer a humiliating defeat or can they push the Japs up into Boleh land and into the sea? To be fair, assume the SAF commander has no historical hindsight. On an individual level, I fancy my chances. M16/SAR21 got auto mode. Jap rifle is bolt action. with 3G toys sure win lah....... man to man sure lose.... ppl nowadays (including me) not as hardy as those 50 years ago... stay in jungle more then 8 days sure pengsan..... 10 days i think is the max i can take Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 the SAF soldiers will complain weather too hot and too many mosquitoes.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 Mean if brits dun surrender, may got chance ?? No they need to turn the guns at the bloody enemy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 can la. their 3g toys sure whack them jialiat ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...