Surcharge for Those Who Own More than 1 car

Nmnhnlm

That should be the correct way to curb COE prices and reduce no. of cars on the road.

Many rich mofos have more than 1 car and husband drive one, wife drive another, child drive another...... 3 cars occupy the road from just 1 family.

So, there should be a surcharge for those who own more than 1 car. COE for 2nd car should be at least 500% higher and the same for road tax. 3rd car 1000% higher and so on. If they are rich and can afford 10-20 million for a car, by all means (very few of them so they don't contribute to congestion anyway).

discourage people from owning multiple cars and clog the road. Allow gahment to earn more money also.

Er....you know how many cars each MIW has???

Good point.

They will not implement any policy to their disadvantage.

surcharge for each household would be better i think. else, hubby 1 car, wife 1 car, grandpa 1 car, etc.. this household already take up 3 lots.

probably the surcharge could be 110% COE for the 2nd car and so on?

Not all who have multiple cars are rich.

My household has three vehicles. One company van (mostly my mum drive), one for my Dad, one for my bro which he bought, paid and maintain himself.

If we only got one car, whole day will be fighting over who drive.

Another completely idiotic thread. The TS talks about imposing a surcharge for those who own more than one car. But in his post, he mentions "rich mofos" who buy own a car themselves, then buy one for their wife and another for their child. If these cars are all under said "rich mofo"'s own name, then sure, this policy might actually work. But isn't it trivially easy for "rich mofos" to buy cars in the respective names of their spouses and children? Surely "rich mofos" would've thought of that, right?! [rolleyes]

Then there's the case of a single "rich mofo" owning multiple cars in his own name. No-one else uses them. In which case, sure you can penalise the "rich mofo" until he becomes less of a "rich mofo" but to what end? If your intent is to reduce crowding on the roads, your targeting is way-off, right? "Rich mofos" generally can't drive more than one car at a time by themselves, not even after getting the "rich mofo" plastic surgery special to get extra limbs appended to their trunks.

And all this ignores the fundamental fly in the ointment. Fiscal punitive measures are far more likely to affect "poor non-mofos" than "rich mofos". Do you hear the really "rich mofos" bitching about ERP, COE or all the other measures the gahmen has already put in place?

Another thread started completely bereft of thought.

surcharge for each household would be better i think. else, hubby 1 car, wife 1 car, grandpa 1 car, etc.. this household already take up 3 lots.

probably the surcharge could be 110% COE for the 2nd car and so on?

Good idea. 1 household 1 car. Anything more, surcharge for COE, road tax, insurance, season parking etc. Make sure the cost of ownership for 2nd car is 3 times higher than the 1st one. If got 3rd card, than its at least 3 times higher than 2nd one.

[laugh][laugh]

Another completely idiotic thread. The TS talks about imposing a surcharge for those who own more than one car. But in his post, he mentions "rich mofos" who buy own a car themselves, then buy one for their wife and another for their child. If these cars are all under said "rich mofo"'s own name, then sure, this policy might actually work. But isn't it trivially easy for "rich mofos" to buy cars in the respective names of their spouses and children? Surely "rich mofos" would've thought of that, right?! [rolleyes]

Then there's the case of a single "rich mofo" owning multiple cars in his own name. No-one else uses them. In which case, sure you can penalise the "rich mofo" until he becomes less of a "rich mofo" but to what end? If your intent is to reduce crowding on the roads, your targeting is way-off, right? "Rich mofos" generally can't drive more than one car at a time by themselves, not even after getting the "rich mofo" plastic surgery special to get extra limbs appended to their trunks.

And all this ignores the fundamental fly in the ointment. Fiscal punitive measures are far more likely to affect "poor non-mofos" than "rich mofos". Do you hear the really "rich mofos" bitching about ERP, COE or all the other measures the gahmen has already put in place?

started by a 'poor mofo' lor....and again anti-elitist intentions [laugh][laugh]

I am poor...so dun flame me

Good idea. 1 household 1 car. Anything more, surcharge for COE, road tax, insurance, season parking etc. Make sure the cost of ownership for 2nd car is 3 times higher than the 1st one. If got 3rd card, than its at least 3 times higher than 2nd one.

I will make sure I am the first in my family to get a car...

very good. [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

2 considerations

1) what if hubby work in east and wife work in west ?

2) I thought of register under household too but seems like the rich will be able to beat this easily since they likely to have more than 1 house ..........

very sad for the mid-poor

That should be the correct way to curb COE prices and reduce no. of cars on the road.

Many rich mofos have more than 1 car and husband drive one, wife drive another, child drive another...... 3 cars occupy the road from just 1 family.

So, there should be a surcharge for those who own more than 1 car. COE for 2nd car should be at least 500% higher and the same for road tax. 3rd car 1000% higher and so on. If they are rich and can afford 10-20 million for a car, by all means (very few of them so they don't contribute to congestion anyway).

discourage people from owning multiple cars and clog the road. Allow gahment to earn more money also.

Why would govt wants to curb COE prices?! The higher the merrier.

Reduce the no. of cars?! Are you nuts? The revenue generated thru import tax. The more the merrier.

Come on. Govt won't be bothered by all these high prices or jams on the roads. You are the one who wants to own a car and drive it on the roads, so everyone have a chance to do so otherwise you comprain no democracy. You are the one who comprains the roads are jammed and so the ERP is borned. So now you comprain too many cars are on the roads, so up the COE. Anything else you wanna say? :D

READ FIRST THEN POST.......

CURB COE PRICES.... Enuff Said....

2 considerations

1) what if hubby work in east and wife work in west ?

2) I thought of register under household too but seems like the rich will be able to beat this easily since they likely to have more than 1 house ..........

very sad for the mid-poor

Good, then they can contribute funds to nation building!! Its not stopping them from owning more cars. Just making them pay more.

I am sure gahment will be very happy to receive more money.

Why would govt wants to curb COE prices?! The higher the merrier.

Reduce the no. of cars?! Are you nuts? The revenue generated thru import tax. The more the merrier.

Come on. Govt won't be bothered by all these high prices or jams on the roads. You are the one who wants to own a car and drive it on the roads, so everyone have a chance to do so otherwise you comprain no democracy. You are the one who comprains the roads are jammed and so the ERP is borned. So now you comprain too many cars are on the roads, so up the COE. Anything else you wanna say? :D

Hoho.... don't blame me though. Its gahment who wants to curb car population growth one. Not me.