Sofarsogood Clutched March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 Hello all, Any one can recommend a good contractor to put up those shelving/storage in store rooms or bomb shelters? I am sourcing for contact before I collect keys to my new place. Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 First off, congrats on your new place. Next, I don't have a contractor but I'm using those modular shelving units that i got fm Howard's Storage. Very sturdy and it's very versaltile. It's those metal types and very easy to assemble. No screws nor drilling required. Ikea also got same design and cheaper but the built quality and weight loading is not as good as those fm Howard's. I m also using the ikea ones to place my lighter stuff. Just for your consideration. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 Hello all, Any one can recommend a good contractor to put up those shelving/storage in store rooms or bomb shelters? I am sourcing for contact before I collect keys to my new place. Thanks. Yellowpage. Those type of metal shelving not much of quality to talk about, choose ur color, powder-coated or not, lastly compare the prices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 When you collect the keys to the new flat, usually the letterbox will have alot of mailers/brochures waiting for you. Best to get those modular, easy to remove on your own, in case really necessary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ricky_doodle 4th Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 Hi. I've just bought new storeroom racks from Sim Win Liang. You can actually check out their prices on their website www.simwinliang.com.sg and look under their "Offers" section. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 Hello all, Any one can recommend a good contractor to put up those shelving/storage in store rooms or bomb shelters? I am sourcing for contact before I collect keys to my new place. Thanks. Go toyogo and see. They have some shelves for storerooms or bomb shelters. But got to assemble yourself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 (edited) Got mine from here...same type you see at Howard and Carrefour but cheaper, I think they are a wholesaler Shelf N Store Edited March 14, 2010 by Alim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 bomb shelter cannot install fixture...only moveable type...so take note of that... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 bomb shelter cannot take perm fixture. thus get those metal shelves type. do take note if yr BS is prone to humid, suggest u plan what type to get. my previous place BS v humid, had to put alot of hippos inside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 Hello all, Any one can recommend a good contractor to put up those shelving/storage in store rooms or bomb shelters? I am sourcing for contact before I collect keys to my new place. Thanks. this is one of the more informative threads i've seen in a long time! no incessant whining about gahmen policy or something trivial.. my 2 sen worth, dont drill cos it's gonna be crappy if you wanna sell and your buyer insists that you sort out the holes. HDB and some condos are quite strict on the drill the bomb shelter thingie. I've found ikea shelving units, the type with unfinished wood, quite reliable. but do note that they might need 'fine tuning' cos the base might not be level due to the nature of the wood and humidity etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 erm, may i ask whats the purpose of a bomb shelter 30 storeys in the air(or is it technically just a shrapnel proof room?) Any civil contractors here care to share? Or is it just another statistic tool to add to our total defence prowess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 this is one of the more informative threads i've seen in a long time! no incessant whining about gahmen policy or something trivial.. my 2 sen worth, dont drill cos it's gonna be crappy if you wanna sell and your buyer insists that you sort out the holes. HDB and some condos are quite strict on the drill the bomb shelter thingie. I've found ikea shelving units, the type with unfinished wood, quite reliable. but do note that they might need 'fine tuning' cos the base might not be level due to the nature of the wood and humidity etc... My ikea shelves not very long lasting and the quality of the wood not very good..... Decided to go plastic for the shelves in my new house and thus Toyogo..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 erm, may i ask whats the purpose of a bomb shelter 30 storeys in the air(or is it technically just a shrapnel proof room?) Any civil contractors here care to share? Or is it just another statistic tool to add to our total defence prowess. I am not a civil contractor, but just guessing. The bomb shelter is for residents to take shelter during enemy air bombing raids. The building walls, floors, etc may be destructed. The bomb shelter is supposed to remain secured. However when the "all clear siren" is sounded, check before stepping out, becos you might be stepping into thin air 30 storeys high. Just wait for rescue teams. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 Yee sin or sim win liang are often mentioned in the renotalk forum . U need to check the size n confirm to them what u need. I used yee sin in the end as they have the exact size that i want Hello all, Any one can recommend a good contractor to put up those shelving/storage in store rooms or bomb shelters? I am sourcing for contact before I collect keys to my new place. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 my wife wanna convert omb shelter into walk in wardrobe... dunno whether can or not... apparently her shoes more impt than me if malaysia bomb us Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 my wife wanna convert omb shelter into walk in wardrobe... dunno whether can or not... apparently her shoes more impt than me if malaysia bomb us Can use for any purposes, as long as not permanently fixed, no drilling/hacking, can be easily removed when really necessary. Some use as wine cellar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl255 Clutched March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 why not DIY? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noobcar Clutched March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 I am not a civil contractor, but just guessing. The bomb shelter is for residents to take shelter during enemy air bombing raids. The building walls, floors, etc may be destructed. The bomb shelter is supposed to remain secured. However when the "all clear siren" is sounded, check before stepping out, becos you might be stepping into thin air 30 storeys high. Just wait for rescue teams. Just thinking about the whole column of bomb shelter without the other build structure make me laugh. How HDB think of this idea? I am not a civil engineer but thinking one whole column of eg. 30 storey bomb shelter will it not collapse? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...