Bigg 1st Gear March 12, 2010 Share March 12, 2010 Hey bros/sis, thinking of going langkawi. Anyone been there before? Any tips to share with everyone here? One thing i know is that its cheaper to just leave your car at kuala kedah jetty carpark rather then shipping your car to langkawi via ferry. Or, if any of your got any field report, by all means share it with us. Come come, lets discuss! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear March 13, 2010 Share March 13, 2010 Wow. Same here too. Already planning to go this month-end to Berjaya Langkawi. Don't know what's good there toooooo. (: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear March 13, 2010 Author Share March 13, 2010 wow Berjaya. that place quite ex right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 (edited) wow Berjaya. that place quite ex right? uhm. boyfie got accommodation there free. the plane tics are like $208/- for 2ways, 2pax. (: But still no idea about cost about the things there. Should be cheap, or am I wrong? :/ Edited March 14, 2010 by Simplesilver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl255 Clutched March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 anymore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 Hey bros/sis, thinking of going langkawi. Anyone been there before? Any tips to share with everyone here? One thing i know is that its cheaper to just leave your car at kuala kedah jetty carpark rather then shipping your car to langkawi via ferry. Or, if any of your got any field report, by all means share it with us. Come come, lets discuss! the bridge is closed most of the time. really have to see ur luck. and if you want to get the most out of your trip there, best to rent a car. quite cheap la so i dun think it's a problem to most of us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 field report? reminds me of SBF.... hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 you are supposed to post field report after ultilising the bridge for .......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 Hey bros/sis, thinking of going langkawi. Anyone been there before? Any tips to share with everyone here? One thing i know is that its cheaper to just leave your car at kuala kedah jetty carpark rather then shipping your car to langkawi via ferry. Or, if any of your got any field report, by all means share it with us. Come come, lets discuss! I am going in May, flying by MY Air, staying at Westin. I didn't know we can ship our car by ferry or I might not have opted to fly. Can provide me with more details about that and how much it costs? I think I might head back next year. I decided not to drive up and leave the vehicle at the jetty carpark as I was told by friends that it is v open and does not seem very secure. Car rental is supposed to cheap. Starting from RM50 per day. My friend paid around that for a Proton Wira. He said driving is easy and parking mainly free. I will type more of the tips he shared with me when I get home later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Author Share March 15, 2010 looking forward to it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 (edited) Ok, as promised in my previous post. Here is the info that I got from my friend. Car rental is supposedly very cheap either at the airport or at the ferry jetty when you arrive. Prices start from RM50 which is dirt cheap and makes taking taxi not such a value for money proposition. Scooters and bikes are even cheaper. Shopping is mainly in Kuah Town. Langkawi is a duty free zone in Malaysia so you should more or less know what stuff is likely to be cheap there already. Kuah town also has some eating places and is near the ferry jetty. The main stretch where all the action is will be Pantai Cenang. This is the most popular stretch of beach there so all the pubs and eating places will be around there. Something like a beach town. I think can get souvenirs bah. Recommended things to do: 1) Island Hopping - can book the tour at airport, from hotels and some tourist spots. You get to travel to islands that have a better beach than Langkawi and they supposedly will feed eagles. 2) Cable Car - take the cable car for a sky high view of Langkawi and the sea. I think it stops at or near one of the waterfall areas and can access that platform in the picture you posted. 3) Sneak into those more atas beaches - try the beach at the Datai or Tanjung Rhu Beach; can't afford to pay the prices to stay there nvm, think like a Singaporean. Sneak in and use their beach. I think Tanjung Rhu is a public beach so it is not hard to get in. My friend could not sneak into the Datai. 4) Feeling rich can go on a yacht cruise or go to the Paya Marine Park for snorkelling. I think can google for the prices. Personally, I find it overpriced. 5) Also got the typical watersports and a gokart track too. :) Hope this is of help. TS, where are you staying btw? Edited March 15, 2010 by TandemAssassin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detion 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 There is this langkasuka resort which is dirt cheap for a resort in langkawi.. There is a package which includes car rental, room and breakfast.. the international buffet there is quite alright although you need to top up abit for it.. You must go for the go cart, island hopping, cable car etc.... You can book Langkasuka resort from agoda... This resort is for those who prefer a more budget accomdation. The beach is just alright only.. The hotel is located about 1km away from the airport only.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Author Share March 15, 2010 thanks tandemAssasin for the great writeup! i was thinking of bella vista in kuah town but after you point out that the beach area might be more happening, i might want to reconsider my lodging. man, the datai resort is so expensive lah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalbone Clutched March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 Go take the boat and see the eagles and bat caves. :) Be careful of some restaurant, we kenna chop carrot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 (edited) thanks tandemAssasin for the great writeup! i was thinking of bella vista in kuah town but after you point out that the beach area might be more happening, i might want to reconsider my lodging. man, the datai resort is so expensive lah! Do you have any info on how to drive in to Langkawi? Datai and 4 Seasons are on my list of must-visit resorts. So I will definitely be going back to try them out. Based on my own experience at beach places, it is best to have a private beach if you are the beach bum kind like me. Not so crowded and you have less worries about safety and belongings. The resorts will also provide you with beach towels. It is much better than lugging all your stuff out to the public beach. Shower and changing facilities might not be clean also. If you are on a budget, my friend actually recommends Langkasuka, just like one of the bros earlier. His logic is, the best beach is at Tanjung Rhu. If you can't afford to stay in 4 seasons or Tanjung Rhu Resort where you can use that beach, you are better off staying at a cheap place. He is very pragmatic. As for me, I chose Westin because it has its own private beach and I try to stay in established hotels that have a good ranking on Tripadvisor (because of bad experiences in the past). Although the standard is not up to the Datai or 4 Seasons, it is the best I can do with my budget. But, if you are totally not a beach bum, then staying anywhere is fine. Because, you can always drive around in your rental car. Langkawi is so small and parking is plentiful. No need to stay near the happening area just for the convenience alone. Edited March 15, 2010 by TandemAssassin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 Yeah, thanks for the recommendations! Will certainly try island hopping and the cable car thing! Not much of a beach person so will probably skip the beach-crashing part! We'll be putting up at the Berjaya Langkawi, and I do intend to rent a car as well so wanted to find out more about that. Is it complicated, like lots of paperwork etc? Also, how much for the deposit and do they recognise sg driving license? Thanks!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Author Share March 15, 2010 hi teamAssasin, maybe i'll do more research on that langkasuka. hope they wont suka-suka overcharge me. haha anyways, i just found out from a friend that you need to do paperwork to get your SG car to langkawi and the duration/process is about 1 day. i find that as a waste of time. and it cost 3 digit ringgit to ship your car to langkawi. i guess renting a car on the island itself makes more sense/cents. for bros who rented car in langkawi before, can share with us the breakdown of the model price? for example - waja: xxRM gen2: xxRM thanks in advanced! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 Yeah, thanks for the recommendations! Will certainly try island hopping and the cable car thing! Not much of a beach person so will probably skip the beach-crashing part! We'll be putting up at the Berjaya Langkawi, and I do intend to rent a car as well so wanted to find out more about that. Is it complicated, like lots of paperwork etc? Also, how much for the deposit and do they recognise sg driving license? Thanks!! My friend did not mention any paperwork and of course they recognize SG driving license! If not he wouldn't have been able to rent. He has no international driving license. I was advised by some Malaysians to bring a photocopy of your license to pass to them rather than to let them take your license to photocopy and to write "For Car Rental Only" on the photocopy. This is to avoid identity theft. But my friend didn't do it and everything went fine for him. So whether you want to do it or not is up to you. Based on my friend's info, there are quite a few stalls at the airport offering rental. Just bargain with them. One thing though, is that the tank will be near empty and to remember to check the car thoroughly before accepting it. Insurance coverage will probably be a bit iffy considering the prices they charge. But you can try asking what is the excess and etc. I am going in May, so just doing the legwork now also. Luckily, I have friends who just went there recently. :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...