Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 I need some help on the following Maths Qns which I have trouble explaining to my kid. Anyone kind enough to guide me with the explanation? "If Ken gives Devi $16, he will have the same amount of money as Devi. If Devi gives Ken $20, the amount she has will be 1/10 that of Ken's. How much money does Ken have?" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XEvolutioNX Neutral Newbie March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 $36=9/10 $40 =10/10 $40+$16= $56 the amount ken have devi have $24 if devi give $20 to ken he will have $4 = 1/10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie March 11, 2010 Author Share March 11, 2010 $36=9/10 $40 =10/10 $40+$16= $56 the amount ken have devi have $24 if devi give $20 to ken he will have $4 = 1/10 I am sorry to say that I still could not understand the rationale. Perhaps you can further breakup the workings in simpler form? I am terribly sorry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 the ans i have is ken 60, devi 28... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie March 11, 2010 Author Share March 11, 2010 the ans i have is ken 60, devi 28... May I check with you which method did you use to solve this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 May I check with you which method did you use to solve this? simultaneous equation 1) K-16=D+16 2) K+20 = 10x(D-20) solve the equation lor... long time din do math liao.... duno correct onot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xdeatel Neutral Newbie March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 (edited) Using algebra method, Let X be the amount of money Ken has. Let Y be the amount of money Devi has. "Ken gives Devi $16, he will have the same amount of money as Devi" X-16 = Y+16 "If Devi gives Ken $20, the amount she has will be 1/10 that of Ken's" 1/10 (X+20) = Y-20 So the two equations are : X-16 = Y+16 and 1/10 (X+20) = Y-20. Let X = Y, X-16 = Y+16 X = Y + 32 --------(1) 1/10 (X+20) = Y-20 X+20 = 10Y-200 X = 10Y-220 -------(2) Sub Equation (1) into (2) : Y+32 = 10Y-220 9Y = 252 Y = 28 ---------(3) Sub Equation (3) into (1): X = 28+32 = 60 Therefore Ken and Devi have $60 and $26 each respectively. Edited March 11, 2010 by Xdeatel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XEvolutioNX Neutral Newbie March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 but ur 60-16=44 and 26+16=42 not equal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XEvolutioNX Neutral Newbie March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 by the way i think mine is the correct one....... i use the box box thing to slove can't show it here so sorry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 If Ken gives Devi $16, he will have the same amount of money as Devi. If Devi gives Ken $20, the amount she has will be 1/10 that of Ken's. How much money does Ken have?" K-16 = D + 16 K = D + 32 -------(1) 10 (D-20 ) = K + 20 k = 10D - 220 -----(2) 10D-220 = D+32 -------Combine 1&2 9D = 252 D = 28 -------(3) K = 28+32 = 60 -------(4) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kermitty Neutral Newbie March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 His working states Devi has $28 but his final answer put $26. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 (edited) Ken = 40, Devi = 24 Edited March 11, 2010 by Dj_spike Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 i dunno how to do liao. so sad...somemore i have a degree... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie March 11, 2010 Author Share March 11, 2010 Me too........maths problems really must do more to improve the brain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 "If Ken gives Devi $16, he will have the same amount of money as Devi. If Devi gives Ken $20, the amount she has will be 1/10 that of Ken's. How much money does Ken have?" Ken -----> x+16 Devi ----> x x-20 = 0.1(x+16) solve for x then + 16. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 (edited) limbei got masters also take me 10 mins to solve. hahaha.... K=60. D= 28 solve simultaneous eqn k-16=D+16 ----(1) D-20 = (k+20)/10 ---- (2) Edited March 11, 2010 by Little_prince Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geboz Clutched March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 "If Ken gives Devi $16, he will have the same amount of money as Devi. If Devi gives Ken $20, the amount she has will be 1/10 that of Ken's. How much money does Ken have?" Ken -----> x+16 Devi ----> x x-20 = 0.1(x+16) solve for x then + 16. Cannot lah, P6 haven't learn this yet. Must use the model method. But i don't know how. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 "If Ken gives Devi $16, he will have the same amount of money as Devi. If Devi gives Ken $20, the amount she has will be 1/10 that of Ken's. How much money does Ken have?" Ken -----> x+16 Devi ----> x x-20 = 0.1(x+16) solve for x then + 16. your answer wrong leh.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...