Need Help in Primary 6 Maths Qns

Ivan96935sg

I need some help on the following Maths Qns which I have trouble explaining to my kid. Anyone kind enough to guide me with the explanation?

"If Ken gives Devi $16, he will have the same amount of money as Devi. If Devi gives Ken $20, the amount she has will be 1/10 that of Ken's. How much money does Ken have?"

$36=9/10

$40 =10/10

$40+$16= $56 the amount ken have

devi have $24

if devi give $20 to ken he will have $4 = 1/10

I am sorry to say that I still could not understand the rationale. Perhaps you can further breakup the workings in simpler form? I am terribly sorry.

May I check with you which method did you use to solve this?

simultaneous equation

1) K-16=D+16

2) K+20 = 10x(D-20)

solve the equation lor...

long time din do math liao.... duno correct onot

Using algebra method,

Let X be the amount of money Ken has.

Let Y be the amount of money Devi has.

"Ken gives Devi $16, he will have the same amount of money as Devi"

X-16 = Y+16

"If Devi gives Ken $20, the amount she has will be 1/10 that of Ken's"

1/10 (X+20) = Y-20

So the two equations are :

X-16 = Y+16

and

1/10 (X+20) = Y-20.

Let X = Y,

X-16 = Y+16

X = Y + 32 --------(1)

1/10 (X+20) = Y-20

X+20 = 10Y-200

X = 10Y-220 -------(2)

Sub Equation (1) into (2) :

Y+32 = 10Y-220

9Y = 252

Y = 28 ---------(3)

Sub Equation (3) into (1):

X = 28+32

= 60

Therefore Ken and Devi have $60 and $26 each respectively.

Edited by Xdeatel

If Ken gives Devi $16, he will have the same amount of money as Devi. If Devi gives Ken $20, the amount she has will be 1/10 that of Ken's. How much money does Ken have?"

K-16 = D + 16

K = D + 32 -------(1)

10 (D-20 ) = K + 20

k = 10D - 220 -----(2)

10D-220 = D+32 -------Combine 1&2

9D = 252

D = 28 -------(3)

K = 28+32 = 60 -------(4)

"If Ken gives Devi $16, he will have the same amount of money as Devi. If Devi gives Ken $20, the amount she has will be 1/10 that of Ken's. How much money does Ken have?"

Ken -----> x+16

Devi ----> x

x-20 = 0.1(x+16)

solve for x

then + 16.

limbei got masters also take me 10 mins to solve. hahaha....

K=60.

D= 28

solve simultaneous eqn

k-16=D+16 ----(1)

D-20 = (k+20)/10 ---- (2)

Edited by Little_prince

Ken -----> x+16

Devi ----> x

x-20 = 0.1(x+16)

solve for x

then + 16.

Cannot lah, P6 haven't learn this yet. Must use the model method. But i don't know how.

Ken -----> x+16

Devi ----> x

x-20 = 0.1(x+16)

solve for x

then + 16.

your answer wrong leh....