Using thumb drive with HU

Kurty

would like to seek some advise on using thumb drive with HU.

Lately, i bought a sony HU, 2 din, with usb input.

linked it with a no brand 4G thumb drive, realised a few concerns

- thumb drive content, got around 600mp3s all in mp3 or wma format which my hu has no concern in playing

- but hu only reflect around 400mp3 songs.. don't know what happen to the 200mps..

- sometime, over a hump, the track will auto fast forward.

- is hu sensative? need something like anti-shock proof?

should i buy a better off thumb drive?

if so, what should i go for?

is there a limit that hu can read from a thumb drive capacity? e.g 8G or 16G

is there any guides in listening mp3 via thumb drive/usb connection?

sorry, i am a noob . Thank you for your kind patience. [:p]

yes certain HUs have limit

a way to over come this is to break your MP3s into several folders...

instead of all 600 songs in 1 folder, put it into 3 folders with 200 songs each, and you can access all the songs

i did this on my previous HU

it might work for you

would like to seek some advise on using thumb drive with HU.

Lately, i bought a sony HU, 2 din, with usb input.

linked it with a no brand 4G thumb drive, realised a few concerns

- thumb drive content, got around 600mp3s all in mp3 or wma format which my hu has no concern in playing

- but hu only reflect around 400mp3 songs.. don't know what happen to the 200mps..

- sometime, over a hump, the track will auto fast forward.

- is hu sensative? need something like anti-shock proof?

should i buy a better off thumb drive?

if so, what should i go for?

is there a limit that hu can read from a thumb drive capacity? e.g 8G or 16G

is there any guides in listening mp3 via thumb drive/usb connection?

sorry, i am a noob . Thank you for your kind patience. [:p]

Your HU is a lemon [;)]

yes certain HUs have limit

a way to over come this is to break your MP3s into several folders...

instead of all 600 songs in 1 folder, put it into 3 folders with 200 songs each, and you can access all the songs

i did this on my previous HU

it might work for you

Thank you, will try tonite [thumbsup]

Your HU is a lemon

Lemon, haha. Expensive lemon leh.

i choose it over pioneer FH 6050ub cause it seems to have a better feature and sound quality [scholar]

check the manual, it will tell you how many songs it can read.

with regards to the fast forward when going over hump, probably something is loose... thumb drives should not skip....

check the manual, it will tell you how many songs it can read.

yeah, did but never state.. -_-

Bro kurty, do you mind telling me which model/price you got for ur Headunit ?

i also wanna get one.

sure :D

WX-GT77UI

Compare With OthersIn Car CD Player

MP3/WMA/AAC player with front USB, iPod Control Feature, ZAPPIN

huh, now that you mention. That day, I was sitting in my fren's car with also a Sony HU with a thumb drive at the front . He happen to come to a bumpy section and the mp3 track skipped like a CD player. We joked about why a USB behaving like a CD.

My Kenwood 2 Din Av HU got no such problem over bumpy road on Mp3... dun think this problem has got anything to do with premium or non-premium thumb drive.

i believe many some wires are loose ba. i also using hu wif usb input and it doesnt skips. i put all my songs in different folders wif the singer names and so far can detect all. :)

My HU is connected to my 2.5" 120GB hard-disc with 10000 songs and doesn't have a problem before.

sorry, mind sharing how you connect to the HU using hardisk?

from what i see, hu got extension cable which is a usb input.

as for hardisk, it is a rectangle-like shape input.

My HU is connected to my 2.5" 120GB hard-disc with 10000 songs and doesn't have a problem before.

sorry, mind sharing how you connect to the HU using hardisk?

from what i see, hu got extension cable which is a usb input.

as for hardisk, it is a rectangle-like shape input.

You need a USB type A cable with 2 male plugs.

If you got pics, easier to understand lah. [laugh]

Anyway, I thought of the idea of using HDD to store my songs before.. in the end scrap the idea as

1) HDD's are very sensitive to shock and vibration.

2) I don't need 10000000's of songs in my car. I can drive to KL and only listen to 6 tracks. (although each track lasts for more than 1 hour.. lol)

In the end I settled for a $30 FM transmitter + MP3 player function. :ph34r:

get a pioneer deh-7250sd..

got mine liao, no regrets! $290 with installation from new century @ sim lim tower

Thanks for the recommendation. :)

I think I came across that headunit before, not bad but its a 1-din. Strangely most of the 2-din ones that come with SD/SDHC are very expensive (touchscreen and all), or from a-brand-i-am-not-familiar-with, like GVOX. [knife]

mine is using standard USB cable which use to connect HDD to PC kind. But for my HU, i will need to format my HDD to FAT as most of the HUs won't "recognise" NTFS type.

Edited by Davetan86