Ben5266 Supercharged March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...309-203454.html Sounds like Hollywood movie, but this is REAL. "...The terrified motorist was helpless as the car hurtled out of control along the road at speeds more than 90 miles per hour. However Sikes was able to call police, and officers using a loudspeaker talked the driver through the process of slowing down by using his emergency brake and then turning off the engine. Police then pulled in front of the car as it decelerated and rolled to a stop and put the rear bumper of the squad car against the front of the Prius...." ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 hmmm...he will then get into trouble for using the phone while driving Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged March 9, 2010 Author Share March 9, 2010 hmmm...he will then get into trouble for using the phone while driving hahaha... never thought of that. meaning his driving skill is not bad. 90 mph can still free up 1 hand to call 999. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 suddenly so many ppl experiencing unstoppable toyotas on news.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilz Neutral Newbie March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 wonder why this car was not recall back? or still under recall waiting list?? :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 More evidence that unintentional acceleration is not limited to those 8 millions car recalled in USA and Europe. Only to show problem is bigger than what toyota told us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvinyuen 2nd Gear March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 Oh no I must becareful. I can see that this Prius is the Gen II model. The bloody same model that I am driving. LTA and my PI still do not want to recall. Hiz.... I think i must drive very slowly le.... OH no no hand brake........ keyless somemore... siao liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 dunno real or not. always happen in only usa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 turning off the engine. duh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvinyuen 2nd Gear March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 OMG like mission imposssible now lor I know Toyota also had a factory in US. Think the technology not as good as Japan. Always happen in US only. My car Japan still ok lah hor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 This "The terrified motorist was helpless as the car hurtled out of control along the road at speeds more than 90 miles per hour." Is terrible reporting and horrible use of the english language. if the car was "out of control" it would have crashed already, it didn't, so by definition the car was "under control" - it was the acceleration that was out of control Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 Oh no I must becareful. I can see that this Prius is the Gen II model. The bloody same model that I am driving. LTA and my PI still do not want to recall. Hiz.... I think i must drive very slowly le.... OH no no hand brake........ keyless somemore... siao liao off the engine lo.. if all else fails, get to the back of the car, remove the rear seat bench and pull out the petrol line. oh wait, prius is hybrid, can run on electricity also. GG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 OMG like mission imposssible now lor I know Toyota also had a factory in US. Think the technology not as good as Japan. Always happen in US only. My car Japan still ok lah hor.... Sorry to say, the brake issue was initiated by the Japan Authority. So my guess japanese made also affected. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvinyuen 2nd Gear March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 off the engine lo.. if all else fails, get to the back of the car, remove the rear seat bench and pull out the petrol line. oh wait, prius is hybrid, can run on electricity also. GG got 2 engine one electrical motor and one gas motor so off engine the electric engine still one leh hahaha i better get wings if i cannot stop i will fly ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terence_oh Neutral Newbie March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 it's a shame that the company seems to still be denying that they have a problem with accelerators... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...309-203454.html Sounds like Hollywood movie, but this is REAL. "...The terrified motorist was helpless as the car hurtled out of control along the road at speeds more than 90 miles per hour. However Sikes was able to call police, and officers using a loudspeaker talked the driver through the process of slowing down by using his emergency brake and then turning off the engine. Police then pulled in front of the car as it decelerated and rolled to a stop and put the rear bumper of the squad car against the front of the Prius...." In open/empty road still okay, in typical road like singapore, some ppl will have to go to heaven earlier..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvinyuen 2nd Gear March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 In open/empty road still okay, in typical road like singapore, some ppl will have to go to heaven earlier..... I agree bro. I will becareful hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 hmmm...he will then get into trouble for using the phone while driving US can use hp while driving ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...