Sdexxxxd 2nd Gear March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 Dear bros; Went for my car 120k servicing. Was told that the drive shaft got some sand and stones hitting it, and might be damaged. If replaced need to spend $1k+. Would like to check what is the implication if it is not changed? thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedup-camry Neutral Newbie March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 (edited) if not changed, more damage will result as the sand will continue to grind the drive shaft rubber boot must have cracked for sand to get in may be there are second hand drive shaft from those "body shop" if you are not particular if car still under warranty then replacement is FOC Edited March 8, 2010 by Fedup-camry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtravagant Clutched March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 1k??? that bad. . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sorrow 2nd Gear March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 wat car you drive??? mine oni 200+ but mine COE car lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jordanplus 1st Gear March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 can get recon from scrapyard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nmnhnlm Clutched March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 (edited) On 3/8/2010 at 4:36 AM, Sdexxxxd said: Dear bros; Went for my car 120k servicing. Was told that the drive shaft got some sand and stones hitting it, and might be damaged. If replaced need to spend $1k+. Would like to check what is the implication if it is not changed? thanks Better ask from other workshops as well. 1K++ for a drive shaft is rather expensive....Rather get recond units. Much cheaper. Only bearings and seals need to be new, that metal bar don't need. Edited March 8, 2010 by Nmnhnlm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 most drive shaft in the markets are recon set, cost about 400 to 600. I have changed two sets so far, although my mileage only 80k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snookium 1st Gear March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 What car you drive.. I just change my Civic drive shaft cost less than 400 only with labour. Brand New and not recon. Drive shaft if damage will produce a Clark Clark sound when you turn your steering left or right when you up hill cos it is pull the wheel directions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 On 3/8/2010 at 5:21 AM, Snookium said: What car you drive.. I just change my Civic drive shaft cost less than 400 only with labour. Brand New and not recon. Drive shaft if damage will produce a Clark Clark sound when you turn your steering left or right when you up hill cos it is pull the wheel directions. i dont think it's brand new original at this price. does it comes with a box Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snookium 1st Gear March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 (edited) No. But everything is wrap in nice plastics. Or you can try this workshop http://www.driveshaft.com.sg. Edited March 8, 2010 by Snookium Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedup-camry Neutral Newbie March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 On 3/8/2010 at 7:33 AM, Snookium said: No. But everything is wrap in nice plastics. Or you can try this workshop http://www.driveshaft.com.sg. nicely wrapped up in nice plastics must be new meh ? anyone workshop can wrap it up nicely after cleaning it up nicely for the second hand one - nothing unusual about it to be sure, check out the wear and tear on the gear - then u need lab test liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdexxxxd 2nd Gear March 8, 2010 Author Share March 8, 2010 Thanks to all bros. I drive a 2005 Legacy 2.0i. the 1k+ is quote by motor image. now looking aound for shops outside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 (edited) all those in plastics and cost about 400 should be re-con sets, just that your workshop never tell you the truth. Edited March 8, 2010 by Dafansu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 On 3/8/2010 at 7:41 AM, Fedup-camry said: nicely wrapped up in nice plastics must be new meh ? anyone workshop can wrap it up nicely after cleaning it up nicely for the second hand one - nothing unusual about it to be sure, check out the wear and tear on the gear - then u need lab test liao =================== New & recon u see can tell already. New, the "crown" wil look nice & tight. Recon wil b loose & can see the edges been ground down. I dont recommend re-con cos it wont last at all. Waste your money. Get a new set. Usually $300-$400 incl labour for older cars. New cars wil depant on make. Some bigger cars wil b abt $1K id done at agent but much cheaper if done outside ws. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 On 3/8/2010 at 2:40 PM, Sdexxxxd said: Thanks to all bros. I drive a 2005 Legacy 2.0i. the 1k+ is quote by motor image. now looking aound for shops outside =============== Check outside ws can save about 30% even. Ask then to use original or OEM parts. IIRC HKS is Jap manufacturer for drive shaft(CV Joints). Agent is always much more expensive & not necessarily better quality parts & workmanship. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedup-camry Neutral Newbie March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 (edited) On 3/8/2010 at 3:03 PM, Pisces69 said: =================== New & recon u see can tell already. New, the "crown" wil look nice & tight. Recon wil b loose & can see the edges been ground down. I dont recommend re-con cos it wont last at all. Waste your money. Get a new set. Usually $300-$400 incl labour for older cars. New cars wil depant on make. Some bigger cars wil b abt $1K id done at agent but much cheaper if done outside ws. New set from AD though more expensive but u can be sure of workmanship in replacement as well as parts warranty. Buy recon is like 'heng' 'suay' strike 4D like that....sekali kena no good one got to replace again...double the cost double the trouble As a strategy, before expiry of your warranty for the car, send back to AD for a complete check for defective parts....if anything they are still obliged to replace it FOC. Edited March 8, 2010 by Fedup-camry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 On 3/8/2010 at 3:11 PM, Fedup-camry said: New set from AD though more expensive but u can be sure of workmanship in replacement as well as parts warranty. Buy recon is like 'heng' 'suay' strike 4D like that....sekali kena no good one got to replace again...double the cost double the trouble As a strategy, before expiry of your warranty for the car, send back to AD for a complete check for defective parts....if anything they are still obliged to replace it FOC. =============== Agreed. Thats why I suggest to go outside ws but ask then to use origianl or OEM parts only. I tell u those AD also workmanship is damm lousy lah. Mostly trainees wil work on your car. Like that they use your car to train those buggers. U suay, car come out like 5hit even. I gave up on AD long ago. Even those big ws also same cos they mostly use trainees as they r very cheap labour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedup-camry Neutral Newbie March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 On 3/8/2010 at 3:16 PM, Pisces69 said: =============== Agreed. Thats why I suggest to go outside ws but ask then to use origianl or OEM parts only. I tell u those AD also workmanship is damm lousy lah. Mostly trainees wil work on your car. Like that they use your car to train those buggers. U suay, car come out like 5hit even. I gave up on AD long ago. Even those big ws also same cos they mostly use trainees as they r very cheap labour. Agreed. However, some smaller workshop also got workers problem and don't replace all the nuts and bolts as per original new car, saying so many things like "this one no need to put back one la".....I prefer to keep my car new like original ex-factory. If the AD screw it up, like my Camry, they have to make good under warranty condition. If no good, keep going back to AD, FOC. For outside workshop it is hard to argue about parts quality. The latest model Camry all got design problem with the suspension parts and the steering parts, confirmed by AD...but if go outside from beginning, warranty void liao lah ....jia lat jia lat and costly ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...