Mazdaowner Moderator June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 On 6/23/2011 at 2:02 PM, Kspchew said: Sort of like the popcorn popper, it works on a fluid bed technology, more details could be found here, http://www.digiroast.com/en/sub2_1_6.html Just roasted a small batch of Columbia beans in attached pict, will let it degass for a couple of day before consumption. Appreciate your comments. Thanks for the head ups on Yunnan beans, I heard from my Chinese colleagues praising their beans so thought of trying out. As for Kopi Luwak, I am asking my Indonesian colleagues to bring some back when they go back for vacation in Aug'11. Anything that I need to look out for? On this note, if its not too inconvenient for you, could I hitch to your next order of beans, about 2kg of Sumatra or whatever beans that you are ordering. Cheers! I've never use that roast before, so I can't comment. Kopi luwah has different types of blends, apart from the robust and arabica blends. I still have a huge batch with me right now, but will remember when I place mynnext order and let You know well in advance prior to ordering. Send me a PM and I'll remember then on. What are you Looking for? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 On 6/23/2011 at 2:02 PM, Kspchew said: Sort of like the popcorn popper, it works on a fluid bed technology, more details could be found here, http://www.digiroast.com/en/sub2_1_6.html Just roasted a small batch of Columbia beans in attached pict, will let it degass for a couple of day before consumption. Appreciate your comments. Sorry, didn't see the picture load. (No offense please, comments being to the point) Beans are unevenly roasted, I'd suggest you cut the batch side smaller, to allow even roasting, Beans some are roasted to City++, other are not, and some burnt. Try cutting batch size, you. Ight get a better and moremeven roast. Temperature profile, do a gradual step up, starting with a 5min "warm up" at 160C before moving up To the profile you want to roast. Hope this helps, I'm no guru. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 On 6/23/2011 at 2:45 PM, Mazdaowner said: Sorry, didn't see the picture load. (No offense please, comments being to the point) Beans are unevenly roasted, I'd suggest you cut the batch side smaller, to allow even roasting, Beans some are roasted to City++, other are not, and some burnt. Try cutting batch size, you. Ight get a better and moremeven roast. Temperature profile, do a gradual step up, starting with a 5min "warm up" at 160C before moving up To the profile you want to roast. Hope this helps, I'm no guru. yes the roast seem uneven, to some i felt it is under-roast. smaller batch will help until the roaster is more season? alternatively, get the roaster heat up by roasting first batch of other bean till the internal heat is more even, just my thought, i dun really get to see how small home roaster work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 On 6/23/2011 at 2:56 PM, Jman888 said: yes the roast seem uneven, to some i felt it is under-roast. smaller batch will help until the roaster is more season? alternatively, get the roaster heat up by roasting first batch of other bean till the internal heat is more even, just my thought, i dun really get to see how small home roaster work. Just drink the coffee and shut up lah!! [laugh] No, some look burnt, others under, overall, uneven roast, he will have to cut batch size by 1/4 of the Recommended, unless he over roasted past batch size. Internal bean heat will be from the roast profile, when to change up and down. Hey, I'm roasting 4kg batch this weekend. You want luwah, wait can, behind got long Q. No lah, my toilet not one, contractor kana farked upside down by me. Kicked off the job now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 On 6/23/2011 at 2:45 PM, Mazdaowner said: Sorry, didn't see the picture load. (No offense please, comments being to the point) Beans are unevenly roasted, I'd suggest you cut the batch side smaller, to allow even roasting, Beans some are roasted to City++, other are not, and some burnt. Try cutting batch size, you. Ight get a better and moremeven roast. Temperature profile, do a gradual step up, starting with a 5min "warm up" at 160C before moving up To the profile you want to roast. Hope this helps, I'm no guru. No offense taken, infact I appreciate your comments. Since this is a new machine (with only 5 roast), I think it neeed some time to season. One disadvantage of my machine is that it do not have temperature gauge, will be heading to get some thermocouple so I could measure the temperature. When I look at my beans this morning again, it seems much better as compared to the picture but still the roast is uneven. sorry for the bad photo, there is no burnt beans, except some looks like Full City +. Thanks for the tip, I guess I never preheat long enough, will try your recommendation tonight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 On 6/24/2011 at 12:00 AM, Kspchew said: No offense taken, infact I appreciate your comments. Since this is a new machine (with only 5 roast), I think it neeed some time to season. One disadvantage of my machine is that it do not have temperature gauge, will be heading to get some thermocouple so I could measure the temperature. When I look at my beans this morning again, it seems much better as compared to the picture but still the roast is uneven. sorry for the bad photo, there is no burnt beans, except some looks like Full City +. Thanks for the tip, I guess I never preheat long enough, will try your recommendation tonight. With no temperature sensor, it's going to be difficult to "agah agah" then how do you time your roast and set your temperature? I suggest you do this, average roast is no more then 16-17mins for Full City+ inclusive of cooling time. time the first 5mins from start as warming up time. Thereafter you'd have to tell me how you go setting temperature up and down, if any, so I can tell you further. Cut batch size as well, does it have a agitator inside to "rotate" the beans? if there is, then cutting batch side by 1/4 would yield you more even roast, as the beans will be able to be roasted evenly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 On 6/24/2011 at 2:12 AM, Mazdaowner said: With no temperature sensor, it's going to be difficult to "agah agah" then how do you time your roast and set your temperature? I suggest you do this, average roast is no more then 16-17mins for Full City+ inclusive of cooling time. time the first 5mins from start as warming up time. Thereafter you'd have to tell me how you go setting temperature up and down, if any, so I can tell you further. Cut batch size as well, does it have a agitator inside to "rotate" the beans? if there is, then cutting batch side by 1/4 would yield you more even roast, as the beans will be able to be roasted evenly. Exactly, the ones with temperature gauge is much bigger and more expensive for a newbie like me. There is no temperature control at all only timer, there is no agitator as it work by moving hot air, more details in the link http://kaffe-agenterne.dk/images/vejlednin...imex_manual.pdf For my failed roast , I did 1min of warm up and 7 min of roasting and 4 mins of cooling for a cup that comes with the machine, it approx hold 140gm of beans when filled to brim. Since the machine is very small, I will try 2mins of warm up, 8.5mins of roasting and 4mins of cooling. I am very afraid that my beans are burnt Will do another batch tonight and post the picture. Thanks so much for your advice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 On 6/24/2011 at 2:36 AM, Kspchew said: Exactly, the ones with temperature gauge is much bigger and more expensive for a newbie like me. There is no temperature control at all only timer, there is no agitator as it work by moving hot air, more details in the link http://kaffe-agenterne.dk/images/vejlednin...imex_manual.pdf For my failed roast , I did 1min of warm up and 7 min of roasting and 4 mins of cooling for a cup that comes with the machine, it approx hold 140gm of beans when filled to brim. Since the machine is very small, I will try 2mins of warm up, 8.5mins of roasting and 4mins of cooling. I am very afraid that my beans are burnt Will do another batch tonight and post the picture. Thanks so much for your advice. The hot air must be a constant temperature then? Or does it increase with time? Get one of those temperature "Point and shoot" sensors, to find out. I suggest you weight your beans and not use the cup, beans come in various sizes, big and small. If you're doing a batch roast later, weight 100g, warm up 5mins with the beans inside, this will also DRY the beans prior to real roasting, get a metal STRAINER (holes) and a household fan on standby, time the start 5mins, ending round say 14mins. End the roast, and remove beans immediately into the metal strainer and let the fan cool the beans. (10-15mins) You should be able to hit Full City+ this way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 On 6/24/2011 at 2:36 AM, Kspchew said: Exactly, the ones with temperature gauge is much bigger and more expensive for a newbie like me. There is no temperature control at all only timer, there is no agitator as it work by moving hot air, more details in the link http://kaffe-agenterne.dk/images/vejlednin...imex_manual.pdf For my failed roast , I did 1min of warm up and 7 min of roasting and 4 mins of cooling for a cup that comes with the machine, it approx hold 140gm of beans when filled to brim. Since the machine is very small, I will try 2mins of warm up, 8.5mins of roasting and 4mins of cooling. I am very afraid that my beans are burnt Will do another batch tonight and post the picture. Thanks so much for your advice. Timing sound short to me, also shown by your picture which in think kinda under roasted. Some beans can take darker roast, dun worry, go further and you may get surprises Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 (edited) The hot air keeping increasing to a max of 250C, usually I heard the first crack at between 4-5mins, which I presume temperature should be 160-180C. For example, if I set to 7mins, usually there is about 3mins of drying time (indicated by white dial on the machine) and the actual roasting start after 4mins, effectively the actual roasting time is only 4mins, no wonder my beans dont turn out right. Hey, that infra red point and shoot temperature gauge is a good idea, thanks! Getting the weight scale tonight, mine old one died, it just stay at 1kg after last baking session. Many thanks for the advice and to Jman, thanks for the info. Cant wait to roast my another batch tonight with your expert advise. Edited June 24, 2011 by Kspchew Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 On 6/24/2011 at 4:35 AM, Jman888 said: Timing sound short to me, also shown by your picture which in think kinda under roasted. Some beans can take darker roast, dun worry, go further and you may get surprises Yeah, CHOW TAH! [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 On 6/24/2011 at 4:54 AM, Mazdaowner said: Yeah, CHOW TAH! [laugh] you can then pounded the bean and it taste good to go with porridge. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 On 6/24/2011 at 4:59 AM, Jman888 said: you can then pounded the bean and it taste good to go with porridge. [laugh] Another use for chow tah beans would be ground them coarsely then mix with your shower gel, it will serve a scrub but dont add too much, unless you want to have coffee BO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 On 6/24/2011 at 5:04 AM, Kspchew said: Another use for chow tah beans would be ground them coarsely then mix with your shower gel, it will serve a scrub but dont add too much, unless you want to have coffee BO Hmm.... Never thought of that! Only use it in car as freshener! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 On 6/24/2011 at 5:07 AM, Jman888 said: Hmm.... Never thought of that! Only use it in car as freshener! coffee beans can use to absorb the moisture like charcoal? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 On 4/5/2010 at 5:40 AM, Babyt said: seriously nespresso isnt a expensive item to come with so dunno why the fuk up attitude... the price here is 50% higher than europe.....that's why i am thinking if i should forget about the warranty and buy from oversea instead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 On 3/10/2010 at 7:53 AM, Babyt said: for black coffee..prefer drip coffee coz can put in heater for sometimes... i am using vietnamese style drip coffee with vietnamese coffee powder no electricity required, just add hot water so small that I can brew drip coffee on my office table Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 For fellow coffee lovers: $5 for Coffee Bbean food and drinks worth $10 http://bit.ly/la4Fow ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...