Friendstar Supercharged June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 Anyone tried this Caffe Tiziano Coffee Machine? Now promotion selling at $199 with 20 caps free.. http://www.groupon.sg/deals/visa/-199-for-...5838075/.Q4Pf4z much cheaper than Nespresso but not sure about the taste thanks for this!!! i just bought it after seeing ur post. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 thanks for this!!! i just bought it after seeing ur post. i am still considering because I have yet to try the coffee. it comes with milk frothing function and similar model from Nespresso cost $600+ each cap also much cheaper than Nespresso can brew tea while Nespresso machine can't Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ODC 1st Gear June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 U can diy Nespresso capsule ... :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 i am still considering because I have yet to try the coffee. it comes with milk frothing function and similar model from Nespresso cost $600+ each cap also much cheaper than Nespresso can brew tea while Nespresso machine can't i have a professional machine at home, more for my weekends and weekday evening coffee. i have been eyeing on a budget capsule-like machine for my morning intake. this really fits the bit. plus the capsules can buy from coffee bean... i'm fine with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 Only recently started drinking coffee and that's after many many years. Does strongest coffee mean most caffeine or just strongest taste. Does strongest taste come from longer roasting? Depending on your taste bud and depending on person. My colleague defintion of strong coffee is one with max caffeine but for me ,I would prefer full bodied, low acidity and clean finish for french press brewed coffee (Sumatra) and slightly bright and floral finish (Costa Rica, Peru or Columbia) from an espresso machine. Longer roasting at 2nd crack and beyond will give more body but less aroma and acidity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 Tried using the Nespresso machine + capsule to make a cuppa that came wif the hotel room i was staying in. Dunno what's the big hoohah abt it as didn't find anything great abt the taste. Or maybe I dunno how to make. haha..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 Tried using the Nespresso machine + capsule to make a cuppa that came wif the hotel room i was staying in. Dunno what's the big hoohah abt it as didn't find anything great abt the taste. Or maybe I dunno how to make. haha..... er....think u dunno...summore you oldman...stick to your Hup Cheong coffee er..hotel...u too old for it lah..can die u noe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 er....think u dunno...summore you oldman...stick to your Hup Cheong coffee er..hotel...u too old for it lah..can die u noe kns.....can u go n breastfeed on porker can ornot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 Depending on your taste bud and depending on person. My colleague defintion of strong coffee is one with max caffeine but for me ,I would prefer full bodied, low acidity and clean finish for french press brewed coffee (Sumatra) and slightly bright and floral finish (Costa Rica, Peru or Columbia) from an espresso machine. Longer roasting at 2nd crack and beyond will give more body but less aroma and acidity. Going beyond 2nd crack will be like Vienna roast/espresso roast. I always stay at Full City Roast + or ++ Euthopia Peaberry, Gutamala, PNG, Toraja. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 i have nespresso machine for more than 1 yr. the coffee are not 'strong' enough for me. i brought it cos it is easy to clean up after making 1 cup as i m the only coffee drinker at home. once this nespresso has expired, i will buy a conventional espresso machine + aeroccino to steam milk. Conventional machine that comes with steam milk function doesnt produce steam milk as nice as an aeroccino alike machine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 our office oso use nespresso machine one.. ok leh... use to having quick fix like starbucks so nespresso feels fine.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 Going beyond 2nd crack will be like Vienna roast/espresso roast. I always stay at Full City Roast + or ++ Euthopia Peaberry, Gutamala, PNG, Toraja. Yup, only tried once and there's hell lots of smoke for Tanzania beans that I am roasting. Now, I am sticking to City+ and Fully City. But for Sumatra, there is no cracking at all, nearly burnt my beans while trying very hard to listen to the 1st crack. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 Nespresso is like an idiot proof camera... U get consistent & resonable coffee without skill & thinking. Conventional ones are like SLRs... Do agree that the aerocino makes one of the best foam milk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 yeah my fren brought a $3K plus delongi automatic conventional espresso machine w milk frother. he said he hardly use the frother at all cos the foam produced is lousy. he brought an aeroccino to completement his machine now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 Yup, only tried once and there's hell lots of smoke for Tanzania beans that I am roasting. Now, I am sticking to City+ and Fully City. But for Sumatra, there is no cracking at all, nearly burnt my beans while trying very hard to listen to the 1st crack. Different origin different time for 2nd crack, smoke could well be the chaff left behind from the previous roast, so clean out prior to roasting and wash after roasting, as the coffee oil residue will produce smoke as well. I don't really listen for the 2nd crack, as I have a profile for each origin I roast, +/- a few seconds difference sometimes for blending purposes. How many kgs do you roast at a time? I do a 2kg batch every week, after gassing, 3-4 days, that would be when you get the full body and armoa, some origins best after 7 days even. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 Different origin different time for 2nd crack, smoke could well be the chaff left behind from the previous roast, so clean out prior to roasting and wash after roasting, as the coffee oil residue will produce smoke as well. I don't really listen for the 2nd crack, as I have a profile for each origin I roast, +/- a few seconds difference sometimes for blending purposes. How many kgs do you roast at a time? I do a 2kg batch every week, after gassing, 3-4 days, that would be when you get the full body and armoa, some origins best after 7 days even. I just started out on roasting, remember mths back where I ask you to recommend a small roaster? Well I got mine CR-100, and this only my 5th time roasting my beans. Since my roaster is very small, I could only do 140gm at a go and let the beans de-gas for 2 days before grining them and consuming them. I am slowly taking notes on what when the beans turn colour and also noting on the moisture content of the beans at purchase. Thanks for the tip, will make sure I clean out the chaff and coffee oil after each roast. By the way, where to do get your green beans? Mine is from Bon Cafe, currently in my stock are Sumatra, Coloumbia and Brazil Santos, heard that beans from Yunnan China is pretty good too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 I just started out on roasting, remember mths back where I ask you to recommend a small roaster? Well I got mine CR-100, and this only my 5th time roasting my beans. Since my roaster is very small, I could only do 140gm at a go and let the beans de-gas for 2 days before grining them and consuming them. I am slowly taking notes on what when the beans turn colour and also noting on the moisture content of the beans at purchase. Thanks for the tip, will make sure I clean out the chaff and coffee oil after each roast. By the way, where to do get your green beans? Mine is from Bon Cafe, currently in my stock are Sumatra, Coloumbia and Brazil Santos, heard that beans from Yunnan China is pretty good too. Ah, the popcorn popper. Good choice. I bring in my own beans, 60-80kgs at a go. Shipping them in bulk is better. Had my son, who went to Toraja, bring back 10kgs the last round. Awesome beans. Don't botehr with Yunnan, earthy taste, flavor...narr...it's like ,well, to me, one of those "girlfriends, you don't want momma to know about" type, get what I mean? Filler beans sub. but narr....I brought in some Kopi Luwah last year, greens, Robusta, roasted to City+, Jman88 and a few others had a taste after gassing for 4 days. In fact, Jman took a pack back to brew. I believe he and his mum liked it. Women normally love Kopi Luwah, for the full body flavor, low acidity and sweet smell and taste. Not cheap, but worth a go. Blue Jamica is another wonder. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 (edited) Sort of like the popcorn popper, it works on a fluid bed technology, more details could be found here, http://www.digiroast.com/en/sub2_1_6.html Just roasted a small batch of Columbia beans in attached pict, will let it degass for a couple of day before consumption. Appreciate your comments. Thanks for the head ups on Yunnan beans, I heard from my Chinese colleagues praising their beans so thought of trying out. As for Kopi Luwak, I am asking my Indonesian colleagues to bring some back when they go back for vacation in Aug'11. Anything that I need to look out for? On this note, if its not too inconvenient for you, could I hitch to your next order of beans, about 2kg of Sumatra or whatever beans that you are ordering. Cheers! Edited June 23, 2011 by Kspchew ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...