Nespresso Coffee Maker and espresso machines

Blackyv

a general question on individual opinion of a good espresso.

1) The crema must be _____ colour

From my understanding, if it's too hot it will turn dark, it it's too long it will turn white.

2) Aroma must be______

This is very subjective, so it's difficult to access.

3) Body: must be full body.

4) Ristretto is the real italian espresso

5) Acidity: must be end with a slightly acidic finish.

Is it true that only southern French onwards, ie Italian, Spainish, Portugese like strong and pressed coffee while the northern Europeans like filtered and lighter coffee?

oh yes, of coz lah. there will be coffee oil, which needs to be cleaned. but its alot easier than cleaning a machine. What i mean is its fuss free, compared to cleaning a machine

and i also use french press in both office and home.

Is it true that only southern French onwards, ie Italian, Spainish, Portugese like strong and pressed coffee while the northern Europeans like filtered and lighter coffee?

Yes. Especially the Portuguese. They are siao on the strong end. The Spanish more or less got the influence from the Portuguese.

The Austrians like their roast very dark. Almost like burnt crap and a lot of coffee lovers hate the Austrian roasts.

This is the reason why when it comes to coffee, you have to appreciate why that nation/culture appreciates it that way.

To each his own, some, like myself will go to the end of the world for a cup of good coffee,

so cleaning the machine after use is nothing, compared to the sheer enjoyment and taste of the

extracted coffee, while others are well contented with simple means.

oh yes, of coz lah. there will be coffee oil, which needs to be cleaned. but its alot easier than cleaning a machine. What i mean is its fuss free, compared to cleaning a machine

and i also use french press in both office and home.

Yes. Especially the Portuguese. They are siao on the strong end. The Spanish more or less got the influence from the Portuguese.

The Austrians like their roast very dark. Almost like burnt crap and a lot of coffee lovers hate the Austrian roasts.

This is the reason why when it comes to coffee, you have to appreciate why that nation/culture appreciates it that way.

oh yeah. spainish kopi is really very strong... a small cup, u get high....

Not only austrians has this burnt crap... the Greek kopi also.... it's like burnt wood!!

while making kopi 2dy, i actually weighted how much kopi powder i use on a cup of kopi. it weighted 30g n sums up to b ard $0.63/cup. Not exactly cheap [knife]

ESE pods are very exact.

Illy who brought the standard up requires 7g of espresso coffee per pod. I went to Fairprice Finest in Thomson Plaza. They got sell the Illy ESE pods. Not cheap.

But I visited the Pantry Guy selling the ESE pod machines. His shop is just outside Fairprice Finest in Thomson Plaza. These are the Izzo Lina. Only accepts pods. He brewed Izzo ESE pod espresso for me. Nice mild flavor. There is the Malaysian made Mr Coffee. Not bad, slight acidity. Lavazza ESE pod espresso is bitter crap. Like Americano from Starbucks.

Now the main surprise here is that he has Illy ESE pods as well. Has a nice smoothness to it. I got 4 espressos at one go. Drank water in-between. Very high!

The Lina is purely a pod machine. So if you guys are looking for a cheaper Nespresso, this will be it. Selling 399 but he got recon units selling at 199! These are returned by cafe operators. They returned them because they went to buy Group 2 or Group 3 machines. Coffee business must have been good that they gave up ESE pod machines.

I like the Lina. It is small. Comes in red, black and stainless steel finish. The stainless steel finish one is 1200! In fact, if you buy their new Linas at 399, you can bring it back to him and he pays you 100 for them.

Searching the net also reveals that Nespresso does not adhere to the ESE standard from Illy. Instead of 7g of compacted coffee, Nespresso is around 5g.

Give me 7g anytime!

As for the price of the ESE pods, the Izzo one is cheap if you buy the $80 big pack with 150 inside. That translates to 59 cents per espresso. Ditto with Mr Coffee. Illy is the most expensive. Even if you buy the 215 pod pack, it will cost you 90 cents per espresso.

Really useful bit of info......

Unfortunately I read this thread too late coz I just picked up a Nespresso on Sun.... and now I have contributed to the evil empire of Nestle....

With regards to the capsules, I saw on youtube how people recycle their used Nespresso capsules and filled it with their own powder instead. It also lead me to discover this product calles Nexpod which are essentially empty Nespresso capsules that you can fill on your own to be use for the Nespresso machines...

So looks like i don't have to be totally reliant on Nespresso blends.... [:p]

this is another cheapo way of saving $$ on capsules.... really innovative

Cannot watch youtube in office.... will go home to check it out. Thanks!

i agree. sugar and milk just spoil everything. the temperature of the cup also very important.

some people just need the caffeine in the beans, and easy to go down the throat

Sorry I'm quite a noob in coffee. Other than starbucks (watered down) and coffeebean, where can I go to really appreciate and enjoy good coffee? Coffee that I can appreciate without the sugar and cream/milk. Any place other than in town if I seldom go to town? I work from home and usually move around AMK, Hougang and Thomson area.

Edited by Topgun

Wow, the things pple invent/do to get around the system. But at least there's more choices of beans with the nexpod.