Kia Picanto Reliability

Nicholassoong

dud, i had my small little Pic for 2.5 yrs going up and down Genting more then 5 time. with full load still kicking. Its just pure luck that u have a fule pump problem.

my pica 1.5yrs been gd 2 me, drinkin up abt 320km/h full tank , up n dwn malaysia nt a prob. :) juz tat kinda noisy wen @ gear 5. well wad u paid for is wad u get . lol

hi peeps, just got my picato, any recommended problem or facilites to share??

go to the kia forum. they can tell you more. i assume you bought 2nd hand? prepare $$ just in case the fuel pump, brake pump, air con compressor go up the hill. its a matter of luck actually

Edited by Forte3737

hi peeps, just got my picato, any recommended problem or facilites to share??

how old is your ride?

I just changed my manifold/radiator hoses etc in June as the hoses are hardened and started to leak...went WS in Johor though...

Aircon filter changed regularly, regular servicing (EO change, TF change, top up etc), nothing else...

My mid 2005 pica serves me well until now...think will hold on till COE go down (hope so [laugh] )

Korean cars once reach 4th year better to change the radiator hose, will tend to leak during that time due to the amount of heat in the bay. Korean engine bay is more hotter than Jap, don't understand why they design it this way. Also make sure you check the brake hose if the car is near 4 years.

Very true, always heard those workshop mechanic advise korea car owner to change radiator hose when the car is abt 4 yr old. If u dun change, very high chance the hose will crack and leak! My colleague's korean recently the radiator hose burst and crack, and he doesn't know until the raditor warning lights came on! And the raditor water completely dry! [shocked]

Leak is lucky not so bad. I noticed korea car have very high tendency of accident or turning turtle... saw them in my old place. After some research I notice their chassis and control system is a weakest link... too power liao. [:p]

Radiator leak dun consider ok lah. Imagine if u r in msia and the hose leak and radiator went dry, and result your car "break down" and cannot move problem liao! [shakehead] Even it is happen in sg also problem!

beside picanto,

mazda and suzuki got major issues with the hose and radiator leakage problem somewhere in 2010 april.

they even recall those cars due to the danger level of the leakage due to the radiator rubbing against oil hose.

so consider picanto a good buy...

go to the kia forum. they can tell you more. i assume you bought 2nd hand? prepare $$ just in case the fuel pump, brake pump, air con compressor go up the hill. its a matter of luck actually

Yes it's a 2nd hand, how much such I prepair for all those problem?

how old is your ride?

I just changed my manifold/radiator hoses etc in June as the hoses are hardened and started to leak...went WS in Johor though...

Aircon filter changed regularly, regular servicing (EO change, TF change, top up etc), nothing else...

My mid 2005 pica serves me well until now...think will hold on till COE go down (hope so [laugh] )

Manufacture 2005, but registed 2007, mileage 41k 2 owner, I'm the 3rd

Leak is lucky not so bad. I noticed korea car have very high tendency of accident or turning turtle... saw them in my old place. After some research I notice their chassis and control system is a weakest link... too power liao. [:p]

i read that forte and lancer ex share the same chassis leh!