Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear May 18, 2010 Share May 18, 2010 it's not a problem of learn or not.... some people learn manual drive auto car after they get the license, cos it's so much easier to drive.... and what fun driving are you talking about when driving in Singapore??? all you need is a steering wheel, doors, tyres...the lots.... performance and driver's involvement isn't a priority for singapore roads... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantiz Neutral Newbie May 18, 2010 Share May 18, 2010 are you taking home at least 2k after cpf deduction? if lower than that, forget about buying cars. you will suffer, not us. Bro, My take home is more than 2k after cpf deduction. I am currently still sourcing around for the ride. The reason for the ride to be cheap is mainly the reason cause i am in a new position which would require me to travel and i need the car. So trying to go as budget as possible. Haha. Honda FIT is within my budget, just that i don't really want to spend the xtra money getting a branded nice car when a Getz or a Picanto can do the job easily. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 the Kia Picanto seriously suits your needs perfectly.... go for it, unless as i said, you want a 3 door, then no choice, get the Getz lor.... haha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 own small cars no need earn 5k a month. but must take back close to 2k. otherwise really no point buying. Min a car will require monthly of 800. Take home 2000 super insufficient 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 getting a 2nd hand Picanto will do the trick on affordability.... take a 5/6yrs loan (depending on the car's age), then within 2-3yrs, can break even the car loan.... sell it away... not as much as say taking a 10yrs new car loan commitment.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 Bro, My take home is more than 2k after cpf deduction. I am currently still sourcing around for the ride. The reason for the ride to be cheap is mainly the reason cause i am in a new position which would require me to travel and i need the car. So trying to go as budget as possible. Haha. Honda FIT is within my budget, just that i don't really want to spend the xtra money getting a branded nice car when a Getz or a Picanto can do the job easily. Cheers then i would say a korean car would suit you more than honda fit. but with the recent high coe, you may want to think carefully before buying. new and 2nd hand ones are not cheap either. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 Picanto will always be affordable.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantiz Neutral Newbie May 20, 2010 Share May 20, 2010 (edited) New picanto not really affordable now. Haha. Very exp. Looking at 2nd hand picantos. Hopefully can get one that will suit my working needs. Company really damn niao. Want me to travel whole of Singapore and only cover office parking and $400 and some petrol allowance. Pathetic. Edited May 20, 2010 by Avantiz 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear May 20, 2010 Share May 20, 2010 Picanto is for you lah.... don't hesitate further.... go sgcarmart search for the car, search for your choice of colour(s), then make a call, arrange for an appointment.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantiz Neutral Newbie May 20, 2010 Share May 20, 2010 Lol.. Sparks.. Is it a good car? Chevo Spark vs Pica.. The price sparks like cheaper for 2nd hand.. Any sparks driver or anyone friend drive sparks? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantiz Neutral Newbie May 20, 2010 Share May 20, 2010 1st Choice now is Kia Picanto, 2nd Choice is Hyundai Getz, 3rd Choice is Chevy Sparks. Is sparks good? It seems cheaper than Pica =X Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantiz Neutral Newbie May 21, 2010 Share May 21, 2010 (edited) Dear All PICAS owner. For a 4 year old PICA 2nd HAND!! =).. What are the things to look out for??? When was the timing belt last changed? Check servicing LOG to see if there had been any major repairs? Check under bonnet see the side paint color is it the same as the paint color outside for sign of repaint? Start engine, crank liao must start smoothly. Anymore things to look out for? Edited May 21, 2010 by Avantiz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear May 21, 2010 Share May 21, 2010 if possible, get a reliable mechanic and do a thorough check or bring a friend who is knowledgeable on cars to check on it, saves the hassle. If rushing for time, just drive to some petrol stations that have workshops and ask mechanic to check. They may be able to tell whether the car has any accident before. IMO from all the things the bros mentioned here, need to check the brakes, all fluid levels, power windows and the manual windows behind. All lights must be shining at least. Also the aircon whether its cold etc. Most important is that when you step in, the feeling must be right, as well as when you are taking it for a test drive too. Off the radio and listen for any suspicious sound or creaking, especially from the suspension. Also, do be suspicious on the mileage clocked. If its a normal plate, the mileage should hover around 60-80k kilometres for a 4yr old car (avg 20k per year). If its less than that, ask the agent for the reason and check under the bonnet for any signs, coz the mileage can be tweaked. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantiz Neutral Newbie May 21, 2010 Share May 21, 2010 Wow. that is a hell lots of thing to check. Hhmm, fluid level as in? The rest that u mentioned i sort of heard before, will check them. But fluid level i dont really get it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear May 22, 2010 Share May 22, 2010 if possible, get a reliable mechanic and do a thorough check or bring a friend who is knowledgeable on cars to check on it, saves the hassle. If rushing for time, just drive to some petrol stations that have workshops and ask mechanic to check. They may be able to tell whether the car has any accident before. IMO from all the things the bros mentioned here, need to check the brakes, all fluid levels, power windows and the manual windows behind. All lights must be shining at least. Also the aircon whether its cold etc. Most important is that when you step in, the feeling must be right, as well as when you are taking it for a test drive too. Off the radio and listen for any suspicious sound or creaking, especially from the suspension. Also, do be suspicious on the mileage clocked. If its a normal plate, the mileage should hover around 60-80k kilometres for a 4yr old car (avg 20k per year). If its less than that, ask the agent for the reason and check under the bonnet for any signs, coz the mileage can be tweaked. easier said than done Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear May 22, 2010 Share May 22, 2010 Wow. that is a hell lots of thing to check. Hhmm, fluid level as in? The rest that u mentioned i sort of heard before, will check them. But fluid level i dont really get it. The fluid level can roughly gauge and estimate the distance the car has travelled, and if the previous owner has done the necessary servicing and topping up, which is those that you can visually gauge, radiator fluid, wiper fluid, steering fluid (colour), engine oil (colour), etc. Just bring a checklist along to do all the checks. Dun rush just because of the salesguy wana quickly sell you. Remember is another 5 yrs commitment. Get another friend/family member to have 2nd opinion. For example those buying new cars will also lug along their families to ride in it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear May 22, 2010 Share May 22, 2010 easier said than done True also but must be calm enough to do all the checks. Afterall is using $$ to pay for it leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantiz Neutral Newbie May 22, 2010 Share May 22, 2010 Yup, i planning to get a check list ready. And wonder if there is any mechanic that i can bring the car to for a check before i buy it? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...