Lucaswh 1st Gear May 1, 2010 Share May 1, 2010 Hi bro..nice meeting you ytd.. and nice looking ride..your exos, is it stock? yep basically everything is stock except the rims. i know it's sounds a bit operated, abit similar to the aftermarket TTE exhaust on my ex vios when revving..but it's stock. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged May 1, 2010 Share May 1, 2010 yep basically everything is stock except the rims. i know it's sounds a bit operated, abit similar to the aftermarket TTE exhaust on my ex vios when revving..but it's stock. the growl sounds damn sweet..if only my stock exos sounds liddat..haha.. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear May 1, 2010 Share May 1, 2010 the growl sounds damn sweet..if only my stock exos sounds liddat..haha.. [laugh] haha when u heard it? i thot u weren't around already when i drove off. ok one more reason not to go full flow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivansyl Clutched May 1, 2010 Share May 1, 2010 yep, u shouldnt pass judgement on pple being a showoff just because he's a student yet driving a flashy car. it could have been a present from his parent or just some other non-related reason he has it. its a generalization many pple should be throwing out of their heads.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged May 2, 2010 Share May 2, 2010 haha when u heard it? i thot u weren't around already when i drove off. ok one more reason not to go full flow. i was still standing around behind your car with my friends when you drove off leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutsack Clutched May 2, 2010 Share May 2, 2010 My parents are so useless. Can't even buy me a measly Porsche when I went uni. Went overseas to study, tell me no car even. I have to take lousy foreign public transport. Useless parents of mine. [laugh] Kids these days really dunno what a tough life is. When I hire, i always look for that weather-worn character than some spoiled sheltered Singaporean. I've met so many oredi. I'm glad I'm hardened and street-smart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutsack Clutched May 2, 2010 Share May 2, 2010 just because the person did not paid for the car, it does not mean they are useless. most people who drive to uni drive a car paid for by their parents. you may think they are spoilt. but they may in reality be very down to earth. i know many who drive a car well beneath their family's status. by which, i mean beemers and mercs. based on their family's wealth, they can easily drive supercars but they choose something much cheaper and is in fact the cheapest car in their family. is it being spoilt or pampered? i don't think so. for their family's status, they are being very grounded already. there are also those whose parents buy them a car but who work hard and do very well in school. they move onto very respectable and well paying careers. i have a friend whose dad paid for his car as a present. but he can easily afford to pay it off using his own savings and income during studies. there are many more like them in uni as well. my point is, there is no link between who pays for the car and how useful or how much of a wastrel someone is. you don't have to lick their boots, but no need to jump to conclusions just because their parents bought them a flashy car for uni. you are not leading their life, so you won't understand that what to you is extravagant, to them may be a need. even if it is a private jet. OMG! They can afford supercars and they're only driving beemers and mercs?! What a tragedy! Someone call the police! This injustice must be stopped! A tear rolls down my cheek knowing that such inequity exists in our sunny green nation. I know of someone who lost had to downgrade from flying first class on SIA every week, to only flying first class every month (other times fly business class)! It's horrible. We the less fortunate should start a non-profit NGO to donate money to these rich-poor folk so that they can truly enjoy the wealth they deserve! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extramint Clutched May 2, 2010 Share May 2, 2010 the issue isnt about how affluent these youngsters parents' when compared to our own. im sure if you take a stroll down orchard, you'll see many younsters popping up in sports cars or even super cars. do you immediately compare family background or the difference between our parents' wealth and theirs? just because you are older and never got something like that. only to feel sorry (most of the people lah, when compare to rich people) for yourselves and your parents. if people do this often, i think they need help. and just because someone had it tough before, means these youngsters cannot have it easy? must have equally tough life.. for the sake of what? then everyone should be still in stone age, just to have it tough so that all of us can cherish and treasure what we truly have. the thing is, why spend so much time and feeling lamenting about such intangible differences? youngsters who drive flashy cars or have rich parents, 100% confirm guarantee + chop they don't know the importance of life, sharing, never worked hard before or go through difficult periods? come on. see, judging again based on: youngsters' car make youngsters' annual income youngsters' age youngsters' parents car make youngsters' parents annual income. youngsters' address Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrierdua Neutral Newbie May 2, 2010 Share May 2, 2010 i like your B.M.W. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear May 2, 2010 Share May 2, 2010 the issue isnt about how affluent these youngsters parents' when compared to our own. im sure if you take a stroll down orchard, you'll see many younsters popping up in sports cars or even super cars. do you immediately compare family background or the difference between our parents' wealth and theirs? just because you are older and never got something like that. only to feel sorry (most of the people lah, when compare to rich people) for yourselves and your parents. if people do this often, i think they need help. and just because someone had it tough before, means these youngsters cannot have it easy? must have equally tough life.. for the sake of what? then everyone should be still in stone age, just to have it tough so that all of us can cherish and treasure what we truly have. the thing is, why spend so much time and feeling lamenting about such intangible differences? youngsters who drive flashy cars or have rich parents, 100% confirm guarantee + chop they don't know the importance of life, sharing, never worked hard before or go through difficult periods? come on. see, judging again based on: youngsters' car make youngsters' annual income youngsters' age youngsters' parents car make youngsters' parents annual income. youngsters' address yes agreed...i didn't really comment much here cos am not exactly the 'best' person to comment. but we can't avoid stereotypes la. if it makes one feel better to justify and rationalize about his plight, then by all means. No one knows what kind of person the 'young punk' is nor what is going on behind the scenes. sometimes, we must understand that diff people see things differently. The critic might think it's a big deal with a student driving a car and from there judge how 'incompetent' or 'spoilt' he is. But from the student's perspective, the car is probably just a mode of transport and no intention of showing off whatsover. Hence, if u don't know the student's mindset, how do u tell he is spoilt and incompetent. He just might be thinking of greater things already while the car is just a stepping stone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extramint Clutched May 2, 2010 Share May 2, 2010 yes agreed...i didn't really comment much here cos am not exactly the 'best' person to comment. but we can't avoid stereotypes la. if it makes one feel better to justify and rationalize about his plight, then by all means. No one knows what kind of person the 'young punk' is nor what is going on behind the scenes. sometimes, we must understand that diff people see things differently. The critic might think it's a big deal with a student driving a car and from there judge how 'incompetent' or 'spoilt' he is. But from the student's perspective, the car is probably just a mode of transport and no intention of showing off whatsover. Hence, if u don't know the student's mindset, how do u tell he is spoilt and incompetent. He just might be thinking of greater things already while the car is just a stepping stone. this is very true. why bother about something so superficial and insignificant.. when you can spend your time elsewhere trying to improve certain aspects of your life. even if you do nothing at all, i'd say its better than sinking into a hole you dig yourself when comparing such things. if everytime i see someone younger than myself but drives flashy car.. if i have to start the comparison process all over again only to arrive at the same conclusion that he drives the flashy car because he is born rich, lucky or ASK (ah sia kia) and its not because i'm not competent enough, then i'd be leading a really sad life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear May 2, 2010 Share May 2, 2010 well..i drive to school and i have several close friends driving too. Civic, Lancer, WRX, Impreza, Sunny, Golf GT, Cooper.. No, they are not spoilt nor are they brats. They are all active individuals in school heavily involved in studies, sports and other activites and these take up quite a significant part of their lives already. My point is..cars are not everything, and it's no point making such a big deal out of it because it simply isn't. Really have much bigger things in school and social life to care about man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephycc Neutral Newbie May 4, 2010 Share May 4, 2010 this is life =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephycc Neutral Newbie May 5, 2010 Share May 5, 2010 6 years ago i thnk 2 NTU student even drive Ae86. wonder u all can recall? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johjoh Neutral Newbie May 5, 2010 Share May 5, 2010 Well, i had wanted to go to UK and my parents had the resources to send me to there to study..but i chose to stay and go to NUS because the cost of studying in UK is almost 10x more than here..furthermore, i have a brother after me..so i cannot use up everything and leave nothing for him mah.. Also, the quality of Singapore's tertiary education is already considered very high..both NUS and NTU consistently made it into the top 200 universities worldwide..so personally, i don't think it's justifiable to spend a few times more to go overseas "just for the study overseas experience" unless you're going to top universities like Harvard, Caltech, Cambridge and Oxford.. anyway, my car is not expensive..just a bread and butter jap saloon..so i might not fall into your "Rich kids driving expensive cars" category.. i tink ur rite. i personally knew a professor who studied in one of the top uni overseas (shall not name la). he told me he tinks that the local uni are more competitive academically. unis have people from all walks of life. i have seen coursemates drive fancy cars and fren who takes mrt and everyday walks 20min to school just to save on bus fare. This is life and life is nv fair. u work towards ur desired destiny. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...