Cars local uni student drives

Marusho

The cheaper cars like Sunnys, Lancers, Corollas and Cities in campus usually belong to the lecturers.

The expensive cars usually belong to the students.

That's what i noticed too. Maybe is because "some" students who studies at SIM have rich parents. I notice that most lecturers drive normal jap cars with some driving merc or BMW. But it's the students who are driving even better cars.

I personally rides a super four which I have worked part time to earn my small asset. With this, i almost got knocked down in the carpark by some rich kid driving a fair lady who gave me a third finger for being too slow. SIM car park for those who studies there you really can see a lot of expensive cars driven by students.

That's what i noticed too. Maybe is because "some" students who studies at SIM have rich parents. I notice that most lecturers drive normal jap cars with some driving merc or BMW. But it's the students who are driving even better cars.

I personally rides a super four which I have worked part time to earn my small asset. With this, i almost got knocked down in the carpark by some rich kid driving a fair lady who gave me a third finger for being too slow. SIM car park for those who studies there you really can see a lot of expensive cars driven by students.

If he really banged you down, i think you will be the one giving him the 3rd finger instead, after you filed your claims against him. ^_^

Car vs Bike in accident, usually bike wins the compensation.

And yes, SIM quite a lot of students from well-to-do families.

nobody mention about student in SMU?

I am a student from SMU and I drive a Verna OPC. Finance it myself because i need it to work. Without the car, life would be less and i would be earning much much less.

But I know friends who is driving:

Toyota MR-S

Toyota Camry

Nissan Qashqai

Daihatsu Copen

Hyundai Getz

Some are parents bought for them, others are just 2nd car they had in their family. SMU are the ones that full of rich man daughter and son. A lot of live in Bukit Timah Area...

my school campus have IS250CC, audi TT, bmw 6er, porche boxter, CTR, GTR, a6, a4, bmw 1series convertible and 3 series coupe / saloon / convertible. sometimes i stay in a carpark awhile more to admire.. lol.

occassionally have porche panamera, ferrari 599GTB.. not really alot of exotics leh.

Can see in my campus a GTR, couple of SLKs and an Audi S5.

i can vaguely remember you saying that you're from NUS...is it?

yes i am.

i noe u r from NUS too and drive a civic right? [laugh]

yes i am.

i noe u r from NUS too and drive a civic right? [laugh]

yup...where you usually park? Temasek/Eusoff hall? cos i saw this white Koup there..forgot the reg plate though..i driving the FL-FD2...usually parked at Raffles..bus these few weeks, parking there is a nightmare..especially after the sch closed off Kent Vale..and those carpark attendant sibei siao on..

Edited by Shull

yup...where you usually park? Temasek/Eusoff hall? cos i saw this white Koup there..forgot the reg plate though..i driving the FL-FD2...usually parked at Raffles..bus these few weeks, parking there is a nightmare..especially after the sch closed off Kent Vale..and those carpark attendant sibei siao on..

ya should be mine..always park carpark 15..

carpark attendant book for illegal parking ah? ur car stock? nx time go look see. haha.

yeah..full stock Civic..even rims also didn't change..haha..

ths stupid carpark management lah..they know that there is not enough carpark lots to go around liao..then cannot be more flexible...

anyway, i gave up on RH carpark liao..so these days, i often park at carpark 15 also..

Im not suprise that some will think I am being a "GREEN" eye monster seeing youngster driving fancy fancy cars to school. In my time, it is already very trendy to carry a pager not to mention a few jaw will drop when one flash out his call zone phone???? Personally, im a driver myself and having to earn my own paycheck which pay for all the expenses (Instalement,road tax,insurance,servicing etc etc) I am a proud car owner.

Back to youngsters driving fancy cars to work, it is actually nothing to feel proud of as to think after feeding you so many years, they(spoilt brads) are still under the wings of their rich and protective parents drinking milk whinnig for a spots car for their next birthday. Do you know what is worst than pampered spoilt youngsters???? Answer is : Their GFs . ha ha ha Many AH LIANS brag about having a rich BF who tonbang her in his BMW to school everyday , well think about .It is not the BF who is rich but his parents lor, so in theory ...liike JACK NEO , the girl is actually kana BAO by the father too. Pathetic

CAR Insurances shooting up to the roof every year???? Well most of the % of RTA, we have them to thank for..... [rifle]

spotted...white Koup, 9**9..is that you? :D :D

haha that's me.

i see your car often at cp15 now..nice stock silver FD2!

Im not suprise that some will think I am being a "GREEN" eye monster seeing youngster driving fancy fancy cars to school. In my time, it is already very trendy to carry a pager not to mention a few jaw will drop when one flash out his call zone phone???? Personally, im a driver myself and having to earn my own paycheck which pay for all the expenses (Instalement,road tax,insurance,servicing etc etc) I am a proud car owner.

Back to youngsters driving fancy cars to work, it is actually nothing to feel proud of as to think after feeding you so many years, they(spoilt brads) are still under the wings of their rich and protective parents drinking milk whinnig for a spots car for their next birthday. Do you know what is worst than pampered spoilt youngsters???? Answer is : Their GFs . ha ha ha Many AH LIANS brag about having a rich BF who tonbang her in his BMW to school everyday , well think about .It is not the BF who is rich but his parents lor, so in theory ...liike JACK NEO , the girl is actually kana BAO by the father too. Pathetic

CAR Insurances shooting up to the roof every year???? Well most of the % of RTA, we have them to thank for..... [rifle]

eh not every youngster who drives, whether fancy car or not, is still overprotected by rich parents.. or car earned as a birthday gift. i'd like to say there is a minority who earns their own keep by working from a young age, some of them already started (mild) investing already. i dont like your sweeping statement. im sorry if im harsh, but to me, it sounds like your dad wasnt able to give you what other kids had then, and have now.. so yeah sour grapes, i think thats what it is.

i know of friends pretty young who are already young entreprenuers at their age and doing well, in fact better than most average singaporean.. driving executive cars like 3series is250 c-class and family is not doing well that type.

so yes, im not gonna surprise you. im gonna call you a green eye monster [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

for girlfriends.. i'll just say you havent met your share of good ones.. so its another sweeping statement from you.

Edited by Extramint

Really? Cause most of the undergrads I know who got flashy cars from their parents are actually very rooted and humble and have either moved onto respectable and lucrative careers or will be moving onto such careers.

In the end it boils down to different parenting styles. But most Singaporean parents, if they can afford to, will actually try to give their children the best in life, materially or otherwise. A car to commute in comfort? Nothing wrong if the parents can afford it.

Another thing you might wanna think about. Student A comes from a family that earns $3k per month, his uni fees and expenses cost his family $500, and his whole family has to scrimp and save so he can go to uni. B comes from a well off family whose income is $30k per month, his uni fees and expenses plus car costs his family $3k per month. More importantly, his parents wanted to buy him a Beemer but he chose a VW to help them save money. Is it that clear cut that B must be the spoilt brat??

eh bros.. currently i am studying in NTU and yes i drive a sukuzi swift to sch.. and ppl have been calling me ah xia kia, bai jia zi and live off parents and stuff..

i dun really think it is appropriate.

firstly, the car is bought by my father to me 1 yr after i pass my driving and its for my convience to go army and later schoo by myself.

wat is so bai jia about my father buying me a car? i didnt ask him to buy.. he bought for me because he could well afford to.

to "bai jia", i think it mean to spend off ur family's fortune. but next time i am a dad and i can well afford to get a ride for my child, i will as the 3+hr journey every morning from hse to sch and back is no joke..

and my case may be also other students case where their parents are just really freaking rich and bought them a SLK as bread and butter car like toyota is a no no in their family?

and also i dun think driving in UNI gets u gers.. not in my case and all my driver fren's case..those sluty uni gers dun even look for guys in sch.. they go zouk and clubs for guys.. go zouk every wed night and u noe wat i mean...

anyway there is a F430 open top in NTU today rev-ing down the road to and fro a few time... now thats show off.. bai jia or not.. i dunno coz that guy look like he is in his mid twenties.. well.. and agian he might be some rich-banker-NTU-alumni who come back to find frens...

by the way bankers do earn alot! my fren is earning 9+K per month on internship !!! thats 30k for 3 month! omg! to compare, we engineering students get $700 for intership... FML