Hammerhammer 1st Gear March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 From time to time will come across some news kids got smack by teacher in school parents will go KPKB with the principal and demand explanations. Last time when I am in school if got slap I will try not to let parent know if not will kanna second round at home cos parent will think I am naughty in school. My mum even went to school once with a cane pass to my teacher ask her to cane me when necessary after she caught me playing truant ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Febreze Neutral Newbie March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 cuz the cost to maintain 1 is different from the past? lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 Maybe due to the westernize culture influence, parent adopt a western culture upbringing of kids. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 Simply put, kids nowadays are different. Too pampered. Wonder what the future of singapore will be like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 Simply put, kids nowadays are different. Too pampered. Wonder what the future of singapore will be like. teachers quality also suck now... parents dun really trust that the teachers decisions is correct ie, punishing kids Parents attitude to teacher also suck..... Kids too pampered... attitude also suck... its a shithole this society cannot escape from Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbine Neutral Newbie March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 Seriously, why do you care about how those elites bring up their children. Those are ppls whom u notice probably only sit at home and complain about FTs overtook them. My say will be, ignore how they bring up their children, instead encourage. Therefore, in-future your children got less competitors from fellow Singaporeans LOL!. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt 6th Gear March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 Its already evident now..look at the kids now.. a bit only complain about this about that..some of the are really quite useless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tashi Clutched March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 hi mate Ah... nostalgic days! I recall my mum long time back about 40 years ago, going to school to introduce herself (and me) to every teacher, and told them in no uncertain terms, that the teachers were free to discipline me in any way possible. At our times, caning was common and yet none of us grow up "scarred". I was quite glad, on hindsight, that discipline was part of our educational and parental guidance system. I think discipline is such a necessary thing, sadly lacking in many younger ones these days. Just a trip to the neighborhood fast food joint or shopping mall and we can often find some outrageous behavior from young kids behaving nastily to parents, maids, and even outsiders. So has this "ai de jiao yu" (educating by "love") worked? I can't agree with it. imho. Pax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 So has this "ai de jiao yu" (educating by "love") worked? I can't agree with it. imho. Pax Last time also have 爱的教育,but it is 爱打你教育. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thugstercena Clutched March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 (edited) even corporal punishment is not allowed now. my days in NPCC, one extra piack sound when hen-ta-ta-ki (i dunno how to spell), we kena 20 push up straight. until our platoon drill almost perfect. just went back few months ago to look look and i got shocked. close to zero-discipline. dun look like uniform group anymore, just that the fact that they are wearing uniform. this is the result of their 爱的教育. kids nowadays are seriously too spoilt. my pri school days, i have this english teacher that will slap out thighs when we do things wrong. my mum loves her. she slapped till my thigh blue black and my mum say good. i used to hate her. now that i have grown up, i thank her for doing that. Edited March 4, 2010 by Thugstercena Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 Last time go out play ,never inform,came back tio noodle spa treatment after that guai guai,go where just inform,never tio whack i think kids have to tio pak then will scare n dua han not say say n dun listen end up 目中无人, this is a cycle kind of result...eventually lead to a consequence if didnt start the right way Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 cuz the cost to maintain 1 is different from the past? lol cos last time mata wear shorts and still does ? lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 Times has changed & society is more sophisticated. What used to be an acceptable act may be seen otherwise now. I am all for not allowing teacher to hit their students, etc. There are many ways to punish a student without resorting to hitting them eg. Demerit point system, inform kid's parents via email, etc. Kids during my times used to run around without shoes, dash across busy road just for fun, jump down from 2nd storey instead of using the stairs, etc. But people will be super horrified if they see such things now & kids may even be taken away from their patents by MCYS. I used to be canned or belt-ed during my childhood. But I don't think that was a good way to deal with a problem. My parents were not always right. Sometimes they were to quick to judge. Punishment by hitting is just a quick fix method. I do not hit my kids. I choose to 1st hear their version the 'naughty' event & decide if they should be punished & how to do it. They will never be punished without 1st telling what was wrong & the kind of punishment they will be getting. It takes a lot more times to punish kids this way & it may take a few rounds to get message across but I feel it is more effective in the long run. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HARDGAYHOOOO Neutral Newbie March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 I think there is relatively trend going on here. Take POLICE OFFICERS for example, in the past they were called policemen but now civil servant???? Teachers too are free to execute their authority to discipline their students like canning,standing on the table or chairs etc etc...in the past but now they are so afraid of complaints from so called LOVING parents. I mean, I am not against parents who love their children but do remember that there is a thin line drawn between pamper and dote. Parents of current time also children from the past wanna to give their love to their children of present which their parent's parent failed to give. However as mentioned before, too much of everything is always no good for the developement of ones child. [bigcry] [bigcry] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 Depending on the character, some kids just need to be whacked. I had seen parents who don't give a hoot about their kids misbehaving in the public. You spare the rod, you spoilt the child. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ethene 1st Gear March 5, 2010 Share March 5, 2010 When im in primary school. I was so naughty till the teacher slapped me right in the face a few times also like that. Now... times have changed.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 5, 2010 Share March 5, 2010 Spare the rod, spoil the child. Couldn't agree more with that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic March 5, 2010 Share March 5, 2010 last time i tell mummy that teacher smack me... my mum say orbi good... kaoz ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...