Getting job after retrenchment: What will u do?

Sgnick

Actually retrenchment is consider not bad if you have work in the company for many many years with a high salary. Cause the retrenchment package given usually not bad, and it is like strike TOTO. Lol.

Ya. Lol. I think retrenchment is the only time when you wished you had been loyal and worked for the company for a long time already.

Executives are not entitled to retrenchment benefits. If get any, is out of goodwill. MNC used to give 1 month per year of service, and another month pay in lieu of notice. However, 2 weeks per year of service is the new norm.

Companies that are doing badly and need to lay off to save costs, employees will not get any severance package.

High cost employees that are not in boss' good books are often terminated shortly after getting a poor performance warning. And no benefits given.

No matter what position still will have retrenchment benefits, unless the company really doing so badly that they cannot afford to give. Lol.

You guys seem to think there will be someone standing behind you to fight for your 'rights'. BTW have anyone of you been through and seek help before?

Your employment contract works both ways. You give notice when you found something better then the same apply to employer. That is what MOM going to tell you.

There is a thousand ways to skin a cat if you understand this. Just need to protect yourself and stay a valuable staff always.

Singapore's employment law hardly protects executives

We are on our own

Sometimes i wish our govt could do more for us, but sadly, that's not the case unlike other countries in this region

We are on our own

Sometimes i wish our govt could do more for us, but sadly, that's not the case unlike other countries in this region

a elite executive spotted  :a-happy:  :a-happy:

a elite executive spotted :a-happy::a-happy:

Eh...in mcf de all executives hor...the real elites are that mark 6 700k elite n u lor

U is elite in peasant's clothing, not i say one, the mark 6 700k elite says one [:p]

Think u can see in that FB page, but all in Japanese. But they looking for blue collar, so I'm out. I also think they like those super skinny and nerdy type, not easy to win this role TBH.

I really don't mind dyeing my collar blue

but they so unfair only looking for males.

Why can't they look for lesbians?

Please implement some protection for PMEs asap

don't talk so much....going to be retrenched soon   [bigcry]

‘More protection for retrenched PMEs needed’ as further layoffs anticipated
25072299.jpg?itok=yOyo9pdJ
TODAY file photo

In blog post, NTUC assistant secretary-general raises questions over certain employment-severance practices
PUBLISHED: 4:16 AM, FEBRUARY 25, 2016
UPDATED: 9:15 AM, FEBRUARY 25, 2016

SINGAPORE — The recent weaker economic figures and sombre market outlook could result in more professionals, managers and executives (PMEs) being laid off, and National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) assistant secretary-general Patrick Tay wants better protection and benefits for such employees who are retrenched.

The amount paid to retrenched PMEs “has not been addressed in a widespread manner” by the tripartite partners, said Mr Tay yesterday in a post on the labour movement’s blog.

He questioned if there should be express provisions for the quantum of retrenchment or severance in individual employment contracts or union/management collective agreements, on top of existing guidelines on good industrial relations practice.

The appropriate period of notice to give employees to be retrenched was also raised. This is a “particularly sticky area as in most retrenchment exercises, workers are not informed by employers till the final hour for fear of sabotage or theft of confidential data, which employees have access to”, said Mr Tay, who is also Member of Parliament for West Coast Group Representation Constituency.

Layoffs this year and in the next few years are likely to affect more PMEs, given the spike in the number of PMEs in the workforce, he said. There are about 738,200 resident PMEs in Singapore, about 100,000 more than in 2014. The companies likely to be affected by a weaker market also have a higher concentration of PMEs, he said.

Employers reacted cautiously to Mr Tay’s suggestions, with Association of Small and Medium Enterprises president Kurt Wee noting that businesses are already bearing the brunt of an economic slowdown and entering into a consolidation phase.

“The more important question is about business sustainability, and how to safekeep jobs and how to avoid … structural unemployment,” he said. Discussion on this issue is welcome, but business costs must be watched “with great sensitivity” during this period of time, said Mr Wee, who felt the issues raised by Mr Tay could be addressed in 18 to 24 months’ time, or when the economy is poised for recovery.

“If it’s got to do with better communication during retrenchment, planning ahead to give employees more advance notice and all that, we support that. But if it’s a measure that’s likely to load more cost on businesses, we have to look at it and see what it really means,” he said, adding that some employers do give “soft notice” to employees to provide more time for them to look for other jobs.

Singapore National Employers Federation executive director Koh Juan Kiat said it is always a last resort when a company has to restructure, sell off its business or shut down. It is difficult to predict and prescribe in such scenarios the quantum of retrenchments that can be paid by the company, he said.

“If you look at countries that provide for retrenchment benefits by law or agreements, the quantum can run from a few days to a few weeks of pay per year of service, with caps on quantums and years of service, and different eligibility criteria,” said Mr Koh. The quantum should be reasonable — taking into account the circumstances of the company — and tide the employee over a certain period of job-seeking and unemployment, he said.

Vice-president of the Singapore Retailers Association R Dhinakaran noted that contractual obligations should be met; in the absence of such a commitment in the employment contract, it may not be fair to “push too hard” if a company is already in a very bad state. But employers should try to give as much notice as possible; they should be honest with their employees, help them to reskill and refer them to new jobs, said Mr Dhinakaran, who is managing director of the Jay Gee Melwani Group.

PMEs can now be collectively represented by all unions, and NTUC’s Mr Tay said joining a union could shield them partially from unpredictable eventualities. NTUC has successfully helped PME members to pursue retrenchment payouts via the Ministry of Manpower and the Industrial Arbitration Court, he added.

We are on our own

Just to clarify. No one in Singapore (whether toilet cleaner or executive) is entitled to retrenchment benefits unless explicitly stated in the employment contract.

Amount of compensation

The amount of compensation is not fixed by law. It will have to be negotiated between employee and employer.

Both employee and employer don't have to pay CPF contributions for retrenchment benefits.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/retrenchment

Just to clarify. No one in Singapore (whether toilet cleaner or executive) is entitled to retrenchment benefits unless explicitly stated in the employment contract.

Amount of compensation

The amount of compensation is not fixed by law. It will have to be negotiated between employee and employer.

Both employee and employer don't have to pay CPF contributions for retrenchment benefits.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/retrenchment

For unionised workers, they can seek help on retrenchment related matters from union

Even though there is no law for retrenchment benefits, companies with unions have collective agreements, and retrenchment benefits is one of the key terms of the collective agreement, negotiated and binding in the agreement

For non-union members, they are on their own

For unionised workers, they can seek help on retrenchment related matters from union

Even though there is no law for retrenchment benefits, companies with unions have collective agreements, and retrenchment benefits is one of the key terms of the collective agreement, negotiated and binding in the agreement

:slow:

unionised workers in SG  post-59158-0-60216300-1456390505.png  :grin:

Edited by Angcheek

HR manyzer, is it?

Keke dont envy them lor, i envy ur $20k per month salary more :grin:

Eh 700k elite, wanna hire ka kia mai, may i apply :D

i whole working life never had any direct reports

always been a ka kia myself....unlike all high flyers here

[blush]

u missed the red dot :D

Keke, hearsay all the elites here earn $20k a month [:p][laugh]

i whole working life never had any direct reports

always been a ka kia myself....unlike all high flyers here

[blush]

I can be ur 1st ka kia :grin:

My dream boss: gif me increment n bonus every year, trust me, kind, caring, dont gif me too much work, can go back on the dot can liao, see so simple de [laugh]

Keke, hearsay all the elites here earn $20k a month [:p][laugh]

I can be ur 1st ka kia :grin:

My dream boss: gif me increment n bonus every year, trust me, kind, caring, dont gif me too much work, can go back on the dot can liao, see so simple de [laugh]

You elite so I help you add a few more requirements.

Travel business class. First class for long haul. Stay 5* international hotels. Personal meals during travel $100/time. 28 days annual leave. Full medical benefits including coverage for family. Company handphone and car to be used at your discretion.

Finally 20k per month pay with 6 months guaranteed bonus and a golden parachute should you be asked to leave

Enough?