Doktorgigi Neutral Newbie April 2, 2010 Share April 2, 2010 Don't mind sharing where you got yours from?.. Hurry at junction of Bt Timah/Farrer. Given location, surprising only $5 more than Soh and cheaper than all others I called. Convenience won the day... Had to get them to order in for me though. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valentino Neutral Newbie April 3, 2010 Share April 3, 2010 am using re050a now. am just wondering which is better? re050a or gr90? Grip first follow by noise for my preference. Any bro can advise? on 215/50/17 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
0_Kewl Neutral Newbie April 6, 2010 Share April 6, 2010 There seems to be some talk in this thread about using runflat tyres on vehicles that are not OE-runflat. Why would you want to do that, whether you have TPMS (fitted as standard or not)?!?! Runflat or rather SST (self supporting tyres) should only be fitted on EH2 rims, ie. rims that are specifically designed to accomodate SST. The main difference in EH2 rims is that the flange on the inside and outside where the bead sits, is deeper and is designed such that in event of pressure loss, the bead will still sit on the rim. If you fit a SST on your standard rim and you experience pressure loss, the tyre is likely to come off the rim if you continue to drive on them. For a more detailed write-up, check out 'White Circles' in Facebook. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbow 1st Gear April 6, 2010 Share April 6, 2010 Called a few tyre shops and get this "reasonable" quote (shop owner reminds me to use this term, imho, this is cheap !) from Soh Bro, reach there but no queue (most important to me), and also being served with a cold soft drink like other competitors. Overall in terms of customer's relationship (e.g attitude towards customer), uncle Soh treats customer very well from my 45mins observation (this is my first visit), i agree with you. Soh bro is friendly and can give good price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grix17 Clutched April 6, 2010 Share April 6, 2010 Yeah I know, with this kind of profile, very difficult to find quiet comfort tyres. Using Eagle F1 Assym now. Still quite satisfied with it as my car is very well insulated...but want to try something quieter. How long do you reckon your F1 Asym will last? Am still unsure whether to go for performance with comfort or comfort/silent with decent grip. Naturally, the former will wear out faster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toledo 1st Gear April 6, 2010 Share April 6, 2010 How long do you reckon your F1 Asym will last? Am still unsure whether to go for performance with comfort or comfort/silent with decent grip. Naturally, the former will wear out faster. i had my F1 asym for up to 25k. then had to change them bec one of the side walls kena hit and bulged. from the remaining thread, i think they shd easily last up to 40k km. i usually dun keep my tires beyond that dist anyway. personally i will opt for performance tire with good grip esp wet, if the car has high bhp & torque. i had a very unsettling 1st week when i got my 1st turbo car and the agent fitted it wif comfort tires...(well,the car was meant to be "comfy" car...haha) the torque steer was terrible and the tires couldn't cope at all. either slipping in the wet or screeching like mad... so embarrassing. and the DSC keep blinking... haiz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grix17 Clutched April 6, 2010 Share April 6, 2010 i had my F1 asym for up to 25k. then had to change them bec one of the side walls kena hit and bulged. from the remaining thread, i think they shd easily last up to 40k km. i usually dun keep my tires beyond that dist anyway. Hmm, so I heard about the F1 Asym sidewall issue. I'm at 40k on CSC3 and due to change soon. Slightly worried about the sidewall issue which is limiting F1 Asym as the outright choice. As for GR90, they don't have extra load (XL) version which I prefer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedup-camry Neutral Newbie April 7, 2010 Share April 7, 2010 anyone know which is the QUIETEST tyres for 215/45/17 ? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear April 7, 2010 Share April 7, 2010 hehehe...pls define your standard of "QUIETEST"....u looking at technically scientific interms of decibel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear April 7, 2010 Share April 7, 2010 anyone know which is the QUIETEST tyres for 215/45/17 ? Thanks Go aspec db lor. but dont expect it to be grippy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Priest7 Neutral Newbie April 7, 2010 Share April 7, 2010 The road noise on my F1 asym is really bad... i'm thinking if i should do some sound proofing to reduce the road noise level. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear April 7, 2010 Share April 7, 2010 (edited) The road noise on my F1 asym is really bad... i'm thinking if i should do some sound proofing to reduce the road noise level. bo pian one. im on gsd3... its making me crazy. but considering the grip n such. its worth it. u want comfort. = no grip. even u spend twice more on continental tyres. it might just be quieter. but the price diff is siao. sound proofing is costly imho, for me i just up the ledio Edited April 7, 2010 by Robo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raycsk Neutral Newbie April 7, 2010 Share April 7, 2010 Not offense helloworld88. All tyres are quite when new. New tyres start off as 'soft compounds' and have excess moisture or conditioners in the rubber for storage purposes. These oils and liquids gradually migrate to the rubber surface and get removed naturally as the tire cures. Hence the tyres do not attain their optimal grip in the first 150km, the difference in thread pattern (e.g V Thread vs. Waffle Thread) will have only a slight difference in grip in this first few kms as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
0_Kewl Neutral Newbie April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 Not offense helloworld88. All tyres are quite when new. New tyres start off as 'soft compounds' and have excess moisture or conditioners in the rubber for storage purposes. These oils and liquids gradually migrate to the rubber surface and get removed naturally as the tire cures. Hence the tyres do not attain their optimal grip in the first 150km, the difference in thread pattern (e.g V Thread vs. Waffle Thread) will have only a slight difference in grip in this first few kms as well. Your statement "...all tyres are quiet when new..." a bit misleading. Its true that new tyres are quieter than worn tyres, BUT that's only fair to say if you're comparing same patterns. New tyres do take a bit of time to 'scrub' in BUT they do not start off as 'soft compounds' as you put it. Nowadays, tyres have 'conditioners' that prevent them from hardening over their operating lives which is why you can safely use tyres for many years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 first day with any tire is sure excellent one. talk about it after 30k km . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raycsk Neutral Newbie April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 Your statement "...all tyres are quiet when new..." a bit misleading. Its true that new tyres are quieter than worn tyres, BUT that's only fair to say if you're comparing same patterns. New tyres do take a bit of time to 'scrub' in BUT they do not start off as 'soft compounds' as you put it. Nowadays, tyres have 'conditioners' that prevent them from hardening over their operating lives which is why you can safely use tyres for many years. There are 2 general types of 'conditioners' in a tyre. 1. Anti aging conditioners - these are applied onto the surface inbetween the printing and packaging process. This conditioner's role is to keep the compound from drying out and hardening during transporation and storage. Not forgetting the tyres are stored in containers when shipped. These protectants give the tyres a shiny to back finish depending on the different formulation by each company. The conditoner penerate the innder surface of the tyre thread and wall. Even after the solution on surface gets removed unpon contact with the road for some km, there is still migration of of this solution to the surface after some distance of travel of anywhere between 50-150km. 2. Mirco-crystalline waxes. These are compounds mixed in with the laxtent and other additives before they are made into the various tyre parts such as the tyre wall, thread surface, bead, etc... Each part of the tyre will have different formulation and the sections come together and get fused into 1 peice throught a vulcanization process. This mirco-crystalline max over time will migrate to the surface of the rubber as an anti-oxident which gives the tyre the slight greyish tone and not jet black appearance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doktorgigi Neutral Newbie May 4, 2010 Share May 4, 2010 Well dunno what compound my GR-90 have or don't have but I still very happy with them after about a month and 1600km or so. Nothing lacking other than noise... Please read this in context of normal driving and not ultimate grip around a race track.... Having said that have taken a few long curves onto the expressways at speed and under acceleration without a twitch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear May 17, 2010 Share May 17, 2010 (edited) Nothing lacking other than noise? U mean GR90 is noisy? Thought they are comfort/quiet tyres. Got a quote of $130/pc for 195/60/R15 and thinking of going down to change tomm Edited May 17, 2010 by Amazon777 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...