Queue number 1,900 for Dawson

Carcuter88

On 2/27/2010 at 1:58 PM, Carcuter88 said:

The results for Dawson are out. I applied for the 4-room flat which has 1,400 units up for ballot.

My queue number is 1,900. So what happens?

Will I get be able to get a higher level unit, or will I be able to get a unit at all?

Guess u have to visit all temples, churches, mosques liao. Mayb then got chance

On 2/28/2010 at 4:28 AM, Ronaldlhs said:

My queue number is 1159, I wanna ask, is there really 1400 unit or is 1102 unit from the website stated? What are my chances. Anyone can comment?

Thank you

Chances pretty gd to get a unit, if u dont mind lower levels.

It's not just total units u should look at. Main thing to look at is quota for your race. That's the killer...

Pay so much just to stay on low floors not really worth it imo.

Cost of half a million with interest on a 30-35yr loan will make the whole amount paid closing in to 1m?

Not forgetting got to slog till 65+ to pay it off whether like it or not.

A lot of people say no point to buy a unit in places like Dawson...I think the ones that is really no point to buy is those DBSS flats which renovated like condos and is far over-inflated in price and at yet at end of the day it is still a HDB flat...If this Dawson project is also a DBSS and not normal project, it would have cost at least 100k more..

I agree with starry... really a bad time to grab house... all the indictator show that we on the top of the housing bubble graph... nearing the tip... but situation is getting married soon... no choice need a house...

  On 2/27/2010 at 1:58 PM, Carcuter88 said:

The results for Dawson are out. I applied for the 4-room flat which has 1,400 units up for ballot.

My queue number is 1,900. So what happens?

Will I get be able to get a higher level unit, or will I be able to get a unit at all?

dun worry too much lah. s'poreans are still a fussy lot, so when its your turn, there shld still be left over units to choose. my experience with pinnalce duxton is also the same. 1800 plus units available, my queue number is 2100 plus. when its my turn, still got more than 500 units left to choose.

ppl will tell u dawson is expensive NOW. Yes, read "NOW" but trust me, if u get a chance to get a unit there, grab it. 5 years down the road, the same old ppl will tell you that you got a good deal. same when i got my unit at duxton.

brand new public housing in a prime district is very very hard to come by so what do you expect the price to be?

Edited by Tatkoon

  On 2/28/2010 at 11:37 AM, Yeshe said:

becos the condos around it cost 1+ mil and above [gossip]

These ppl talk C nia. Always self-claim pigeon hole can buy condo. [hur]

My Toa payoh resale 5-room flat may cost me 560k, but compare with the existing condomindiums in toa payoh with similar 120sqm.....they cost about 300k to 500k more!!!!! [dead][dizzy][crazy]

For the same 500k+ pricetag & below maybe can buy condo in punngol or jurong west rah. [grin]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

Location factor (which is the key) is always ignored when such example are quoted.

Otherwise might as well say $500k can buy bunglow liao, not condo.

Yeah bunglow in JB. :D

On 2/28/2010 at 4:03 AM, Curahee said:

Spot on... my friend, RC member, he buy his flat no need ballot, ask him to choose what he want from the area.

liar. so many ppl join RC to get their kid in skool of choice in P1 becos it's well known and published.

The join RC to get HDB thing is false. Trust me cos I checked. If can do so I would have joined RC to get a flat of choice. And so would every young couple.

On 3/1/2010 at 11:08 AM, Ahhuat said:

liar. so many ppl join RC to get their kid in skool of choice in P1 becos it's well known and published.

The join RC to get HDB thing is false. Trust me cos I checked. If can do so I would have joined RC to get a flat of choice. And so would every young couple.

My friend from RC, PBM, maybe thats why. Another relative of mine PBM, also say he can help his son to choose any flat he want without balllot. But he say he cannot help me as such privilege not entitled for relatives coz that time i ask him for help to ask hom tell HDB to let me choose flat without balllot...

On 3/1/2010 at 9:53 AM, Hiphiphoray said:

These ppl talk C nia. Always self-claim pigeon hole can buy condo. [hur]

My Toa payoh resale 5-room flat may cost me 560k, but compare with the existing condomindiums in toa payoh with similar 120sqm.....they cost about 300k to 500k more!!!!! [dead][dizzy][crazy]

For the same 500k+ pricetag & below maybe can buy condo in punngol or jurong west rah. [grin]

mmz.. my toa payoh 5 room DBSS flat is 117sq m, and cost around $600k.. its on the 19th floor... actually the dawson flats are also in similar price range.. these days, premium HDB flats in premium locations cost as much as DBSS flats... hence its not true that DBSS will necessarily cost more than premium projects by HDB.. its a misconception.

On 3/1/2010 at 2:51 AM, Starry said:

wrong time to buy house....really.

Condo maybe, but HDB?

How soft can the market go really?

ZZZ the property dilemma continues for 1st time home buyers continue [:(]

On 3/1/2010 at 11:40 AM, Ivan_06 said:

mmz.. my toa payoh 5 room DBSS flat is 117sq m, and cost around $600k.. its on the 19th floor... actually the dawson flats are also in similar price range.. these days, premium HDB flats in premium locations cost as much as DBSS flats... hence its not true that DBSS will necessarily cost more than premium projects by HDB.. its a misconception.

I agree with the misconception. Looking at the current resale price in area near DBSS, the resale is more expensive. Its because resale price are increasing too fast.

Before the financial crisis in Y2008, people saying bubble will burst. Now almost 2 years later and economy picking up, still I hear people saying bubble will burst. Yet HDB statistic showing otherwise.

That time during financial crisis, can see from forum that got some people thinking of cashing in their HDB, and later buy at cheaper price. I think if they really cashing in that time, now still cannot find any cheaper units with similiar location.

On 3/1/2010 at 11:40 AM, Ivan_06 said:

Certainly not Cityview at Boon Keng which cost over 700K for high floor units.