Byond 1st Gear February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 tats the sign of battery dying soon lah i got that coming for quite a no. of months totally ignored it until one fine day, my battery just went dead... it happened on a sunday afternoon i have to get my fren, buy a new battery at autobacs at 160$ in bkt batok, pass the battery to me in orchard road.. it took 2 long hours.. the prices was really cut throat what to do? just beware of this symptoms.. haa ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smhomie Clutched February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 The 'icing' is actually lead sulphate crystals depositing on the terminal through sulphuric acid fumes emitted from your battery. Usually because of a leak in the casing or over boiling of the electrolyte solution (sulphuric acid). This could be caused by overcharging by the alternator. When lead sulphate collects over time covering the terminal, it increases the resistance between contacts, hence hindering proper charging by your alternator and soon the battery fails. That is why internet articles on battery care always tell you to scrub away the white deposits immediately when you see it using baking soda and water. Lead sulphate is negative and hence most of the time you see it deposited on the positive side of the terminal post (anion and ion). Jumpstarting do not kill your battery nor does it initiates white deposits syndrome. KY jelly has been the de rigeur coating since its cheap and inhibits crystal formation. Petroleum jelly tend to have a funny smell and the worst is grease, they cake after awhile and gets very dirty trapping other dirt as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear February 26, 2010 Author Share February 26, 2010 the chemical is toxic so try not to inhale or come in contact with it. it has corroded the metal thus the rustiness. put petroleum jelly on the terminals instead of grease. petroleum jelly on the terminals instead of grease? now thats new to me... my WS has put grease on the terminals for me be4 on my previous ride.... was that bad? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear February 26, 2010 Author Share February 26, 2010 wow informative! bro you sell batts? i'm suppose to go up north soon, my present ride batt is perfectly fine... good power no signs of anything wrong... Green Amaron Batt... but its abt 18months old... any advice? Many thanks!... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 26, 2010 Share February 26, 2010 Just Google lor. This is what I found on the web. "Battery sulfation takes place when a Lead Acid Battery discharges. The lead from the plates combines with the electrolyte (dilute sulphuric acid) to make lead sulfate. When the battery is recharged this process is reversed however, some of the lead sulphate will crystalise on the lead plates. The deeper the battery is discharged, the more the lead sulphate is likely to crystalise acting as an insulator and reducing the plate area in contact with electrolyte. Over time this build up of lead sulphate crystals will kill the battery." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear February 26, 2010 Author Share February 26, 2010 dear all, really didnt know that sia.... KY on my terminals??? no kidding? but i thought Johnson & Jonson KY is water based??? can put water on the terminals wont it be promoting rust? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear February 26, 2010 Author Share February 26, 2010 no such things as jump start will damage the batt... the 2 possibilities that could caused the damage are: 1) someone with 12V batt try to jump start a 24V batt (truck) or vice versa... 2) wrong connect of batt terminal- + terminal to negative terminal. 3) fail to connect the - terminal to chassis... during the jump start. positive connected to positive terminal, and for another wire, connect the negative terminal of your batt to another party car chassis (not directly to negative terminal of the other batt) Ive jump start other car dunno how many times alrd, nvr encounter any problem... hi bro, hmmm... actually 2weeks back i used my company's Suzuki carry 1.3 to jump start a lorry... was pretty trouble some cause the bat under passenger's seat... the lorry was a small one.... class 3.. one batt... so could not have been 24volts right?.... later i better go check the van... hmmmm... maybe if you use a batt nearing it's end to jump start another car then will be like killing it faster? and i wonder it engine degreasers come in contactwith the batt, it may error the terminals.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear February 26, 2010 Author Share February 26, 2010 Just Google lor. This is what I found on the web. "Battery sulfation takes place when a Lead Acid Battery discharges. The lead from the plates combines with the electrolyte (dilute sulphuric acid) to make lead sulfate. When the battery is recharged this process is reversed however, some of the lead sulphate will crystalise on the lead plates. The deeper the battery is discharged, the more the lead sulphate is likely to crystalise acting as an insulator and reducing the plate area in contact with electrolyte. Over time this build up of lead sulphate crystals will kill the battery." hmmm... so i think it will be correct to conclude that a healthy alternator is needed to get the best out of your batt.... so long distant travelling cars will normally have better condition batts i guess... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smhomie Clutched February 26, 2010 Share February 26, 2010 wow informative! bro you sell batts? i'm suppose to go up north soon, my present ride batt is perfectly fine... good power no signs of anything wrong... Green Amaron Batt... but its abt 18months old... any advice? Many thanks!... Sorry my friend, I'm not a battery seller although I may sound like one. Just a regular guy (finance) who's into cars and does a little more in-depth studies than most folks The more you know about how things work in your car, you will be able to find appropriate remedies to address maladies and also not to be swayed into buying useless stuff. Plenty of smoke and mirrors out there. My current battery is about 3 years old and I've been using nanopulser since 09 to keep my battery in tip top condition. No white deposits and no battery water top ups. I'm also using Amaron green battery on my car. No problems so far and quite a few people are already using it. You can check it out, a good product hence my recommendation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smhomie Clutched February 26, 2010 Share February 26, 2010 hmmm... so i think it will be correct to conclude that a healthy alternator is needed to get the best out of your batt.... so long distant travelling cars will normally have better condition batts i guess... Not entirely true though. A healthy alternator so long as it does its job of supplying current and charging via regulated voltage, is good enough. Its controlled by ecu nowadays. You can't "better" the system. Long distance travelling encourages a more throughout and steady charging for the battery. Hence, capacity is above 80% for battery. Local driving is always short with frequent jam stops, this prevents steady charge to the battery. Battery is always undercharged, this encourages sulphation internally and soon the battery loses capacity and dies after a period of usage. Cranking stress and aftermarket accessories also shorten battery life as well as they are parasitic loads added on to the battery. Help above info helps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear February 26, 2010 Author Share February 26, 2010 hmmm... but too much info and you end up with too many decisions whenever doing stuff to ur car... i mean my parents have had no problems/car stress watsoever cause all their life car is completely stock adgent maintained... haha... but for me i rather have too many decisions... by the way do you know at present how much is the nanopulsar and where can i still find it? thanks bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smhomie Clutched February 26, 2010 Share February 26, 2010 Guess what! Just came back from the petrol station. Found an article on nanopulser being featured in Feb issue of WheelsAsia A pleasant surprise...... distributor's email contact : [email protected]. Website : www.nanopulser.com.sg I'm not sure about the current price, mine was launch batch so I guess now the price could be higher. Guess you need to email or call distributor to find out more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoobydoo Neutral Newbie February 26, 2010 Share February 26, 2010 dear all, really didnt know that sia.... KY on my terminals??? no kidding? but i thought Johnson & Jonson KY is water based??? can put water on the terminals wont it be promoting rust? If wanna protect the terminals, put proper stuff like Deoxit Gold or similar product. Deoxit is used to remove oxidation and protect contacts in a lot of high-end electronics. I think there's a local distributor although I got mine from USA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nmnhnlm Clutched February 26, 2010 Share February 26, 2010 If wanna protect the terminals, put proper stuff like Deoxit Gold or similar product. Deoxit is used to remove oxidation and protect contacts in a lot of high-end electronics. I think there's a local distributor although I got mine from USA. Hoho ProGold right? USed to use it on my hifi stuffs...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear February 26, 2010 Author Share February 26, 2010 thanks for all the info bro!... hv a great weekend! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear February 26, 2010 Author Share February 26, 2010 when i first started driving i used WD-40... until i heard some companies totally ban the use of it and fine their staff for using it... hmm.... actually my present car now has nothing applid to the terminals.... i clean them with a dry cloth every week.... no problem... god bless.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nmnhnlm Clutched February 26, 2010 Share February 26, 2010 when i first started driving i used WD-40... until i heard some companies totally ban the use of it and fine their staff for using it... hmm.... actually my present car now has nothing applid to the terminals.... i clean them with a dry cloth every week.... no problem... god bless.... If you are those "KS" type, you can use brasso to polish to contacts...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoobydoo Neutral Newbie February 26, 2010 Share February 26, 2010 Hoho ProGold right? USed to use it on my hifi stuffs...... Yeah afka ProGold Good stuff, cannot bluff ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...