Ahtong 1st Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 This is the case in some western countries. If you need to learn driving, you can just get anyone with a license (usually a parent) to teach you. Can this system work in Singapore? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thugstercena Clutched February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 hahas. if it works den private instructors and school can close down ardy. and the probation system aka p-plate different from us also. theirs is 2year right? if im not wrong. :x Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ceecookie 5th Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 (edited) This is the case in some western countries. If you need to learn driving, you can just get anyone with a license (usually a parent) to teach you. Can this system work in Singapore? I believe that's for learner driver's permit which minimum age is 14-16 years depending on states. There are heavy restrictions on this drivers and they must be accompanied by a adult with driving licence at all times(and also cannot hvae other minors in the car) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Driver%27s_li...es_and_district Edited February 22, 2010 by Ceecookie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ishootthemoon Neutral Newbie February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 Don't try in singapore. Parent will kanna licence revoked. Child will be barred if caught. ______________________ Car maintenance Guide: http://www.mobilpac.com ______________________ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightningandthunder Neutral Newbie February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 Why wouldn't it work, as long as you'd stay away from busy streets and within speed limits Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ishootthemoon Neutral Newbie February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 Just came out in the papers... boy teach girlfriend in carpark.. then kanna caught.... licence revoked. ______________________ Car maintenance Guide: http://www.mobilpac.com ______________________ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 This is the case in some western countries. If you need to learn driving, you can just get anyone with a license (usually a parent) to teach you. Can this system work in Singapore? You need to have a qualified driving instructor seated beside you while learning driving at all times. The vehicle you are learning in should display two 18cm square 'L' plates, in a conspicuous position on both the front and back of your vehicle as well as be insured against third-party risk and driving tuition. But of course when the cat is away, the mice will come and play. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 No, the learner would become "a chip of the old block", and driving attitudes same as the parents. Eg road-hog, tail-gater, dun signal, etc.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 (edited) yes, because parents will always impart the best for their children and never will endanger them, so they are the safest hands to be in. and it is free, if the parent is capable of teaching then why not. Edited February 23, 2010 by Vextan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged March 17, 2010 Share March 17, 2010 NO, period! Unless u want to drive the parents to early grave. As it is, those who gave their gf/bf/wife/husband/sister/bro tour of duty after they get their licence already facing some probs. Really can't imagine wanting to give driving lessons to own kids. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 17, 2010 Share March 17, 2010 I think the rule is a person with licence besides a L learner. No need to be a registered driving instructor. As long as you got your PDL, you can stick a "L" on a farrari/Lambo and get a person with valid licence to sit beside you. Drive on small road, you can go pubbing or anywhere in Singapore! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinkypink Neutral Newbie March 17, 2010 Share March 17, 2010 wah i wouldn't want my parents to teach me man... more pressure! i remember after i just got my licence, my dad used to make noise at every little thing. it got quite annoying! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sirjimmy 1st Gear March 17, 2010 Share March 17, 2010 Cannot lah, most singaporean driver (including me) cant even remember the basic theories liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged March 18, 2010 Share March 18, 2010 I think the rule is a person with licence besides a L learner. No need to be a registered driving instructor. As long as you got your PDL, you can stick a "L" on a farrari/Lambo and get a person with valid licence to sit beside you. Drive on small road, you can go pubbing or anywhere in Singapore! i wonder if you're stupid, dumb or you simply have no brain ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...