Mr_b20 6th Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 (edited) Singapore could be the first country to use the GPS or global positioning system to track vehicles on the road for tax purposes. Operation is expected this year or next, after an expected snap election is held. The move may be unpopular among voters with an adverse impact against the government. Over the long-term, if not immediately, it will increase transport costs for Singaporeans. The satellite-tracked electronic system would technically charge drivers using any road any time in Singapore Edited February 19, 2010 by Mr_b20 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear February 19, 2010 Author Share February 19, 2010 siao liao... better vote wisely Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 then what next? personal tag to monitor ur every move? unbelieveable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 GPS tracking?? that will be a fatal mistake for team thunder it will remove all joy of driving... btw i'd like to see how do they intend to GPS inside the tunnel like KPE? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Introz Clutched February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 cameras and lots of speed trap? hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 if it is not reported in local news, how trustworthy is the report from a source from ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 i'll start importing these http://www.tayx.co.uk/gmc07-vehicle-gps-jammer.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 they r capable to do anything they wish.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 (edited) GPS tracking?? that will be a fatal mistake for team thunder it will remove all joy of driving... btw i'd like to see how do they intend to GPS inside the tunnel like KPE? there is something called A-GPS... using cellphone base stations... they can track down your location... some of the mobile phone on the market already had this technology... not something unachievable... since we had mobile signal in all the tunnel... this technology can be easily integrated into the future IUs. nonetheless... they can always ensure to have an ERP gantry at every entrance and exit of the tunnel to tag your vehicle.... also something which is achievable. Edited February 19, 2010 by Espire Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 Jammer no use. The new type of IU can simply be like a handphone, with a permanently lock-in SIM card inside, where you have to renew the IU subscription yearly together with the roadtax. A very basic Nokia Hp now cost only $45 at mustafa, so the IU will not be expensive to make. The phone cell stations will triangulate your car position, and map it out on the server road maps to determine your travelling speed and distance. Just look at your iPhone, its the same triangulation system to fixed your location on the virtual map. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 those super car owner cannot speed anymore, GPS can track their speed, next time buy sport car in spore for wat??!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 (edited) there are jammers for cell phone signal + GPS too Edited February 19, 2010 by Mockngbrd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 If that happens, I will leave Singapore. Full stop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 i'll start importing these http://www.tayx.co.uk/gmc07-vehicle-gps-jammer.html try this instead... much cheaper.. http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.8758 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackseal 1st Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 there are jammers for cell phone signal + GPS too There's also a jamming system that can stop all bridge operated laser cameras as well....and it works both front and back...so if the laser shooter shoot u from the back...also kena error reading Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 Think everyone will have the same opinion, who the heck would vote 'aye' for something like this?! There already exist a microchip which can be implanted into your arm/wrist which acts like a GPS system to track people. The US have introduced it as something that would greatly improve one's lifestyle by promoting it as a tool that can thwart kidnappers, keep an eye on your kids, make electronic payments much like our current NETS Flashpay, and other such crap...it's propaganda! The main purpose is so that they can track YOU!! Conspiracy theorists have suggested a scenario far more sinister, but we shall not go into that today... Anyway, if this GPS thing really comes into play, how in the world are we gonna live here?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 Think everyone will have the same opinion, who the heck would vote 'aye' for something like this?! Hardly anyone thats not on the implementation agency payroll. But since when did we get to vote for major decisions in Singapore. Do our government 't even listen to the common people? I think they only inform the decisions to the people, if they are in the mood. If they do implement this, one less reason to leave our sunny tropical getaway Island. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HOUSENUMBER Neutral Newbie February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 how great can this be is already so hard to own a car in sg and this is gonna give us up easily beside truck drivers drive so often and taxis too will the current tax be useful ? or another income for them ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...