Engine Mountings Replacement

Str2

2004 Honda City, just changed all 3 engine mounting. Damage $350 nett. From 2004 never change. So better change all 3 better. Coz if 1 spoil, the others oso should be times up too. [bounce2]

My 5 year old wish, engine mounting not spoilt yet but losing its suspension so the engine vibrates at idle, decided to change it all for SGD450 to last till end of life...........less vibration from the engine I hope will save other parts from early failure....

Its a smoother and quieter ride now.

How much is 1 mounting? My car though only about 3 years, already start to show symptoms of mounting breaking down. I thinking of changing the mounting,brake pad,suspension and tyre all at once. Mileage about 70k only. The power of Tomyam car, parts get lose after a few years.

to TS is your suspension spoilt or your engine mount spoilt?

I used to be driving the RN6 Stream and it is a common problem. Changing all 4 mounts is a must will set you back about S$500 - S$700 depending on workshop and if you are indenting your own rubber mounts.

How to know its spoilt?

Your car vibrates like mad in reverse gear and when moving off.

Look at the rubber mounts usually there is black fluid flowing out of it.

My advice if you are planning to keep the car change all, if you r like me was planning to trade in then leave it, your engine wont fall out

My 5 year old wish, engine mounting not spoilt yet but losing its suspension so the engine vibrates at idle, decided to change it all for SGD450 to last till end of life...........less vibration from the engine I hope will save other parts from early failure....

Its a smoother and quieter ride now.

Used to drive a Jazz that mountings were 100% spoilt and gone, when step on accelerator, fierce rattling sound from the rear, initially I though something came off, the mechanic told me it was mounting gave way, and this happened suddenly, not gradual degradation.

Apparently, when the mounting fails like this, the engine is mis-aligned, and this will send "violent" vibration throughout the car. Most mountings does not fail in this way, its more noticeable through increased vibrations over time.

Hi guys,

Any places which does engine mounting for Nissan cefiro?

Other than tan Cheong. Hehe.

Parts where tO buy? Or usually workshop have?

Felt some vibrations during idle of ride. Thus I suspect it's engine mounting problem. Can be felt at the grar handler, and some parts of the car now.

How much is 1 mounting? My car though only about 3 years, already start to show symptoms of mounting breaking down. I thinking of changing the mounting,brake pad,suspension and tyre all at once. Mileage about 70k only. The power of Tomyam car, parts get lose after a few years.

Most people might thought high chance happen to a korea car than a japan tomyam car. [:p]

Made in Japan cars also have this prob. Part of wear n tear

Hi guys,

Any places which does engine mounting for Nissan cefiro?

Other than tan Cheong. Hehe.

Parts where tO buy? Or usually workshop have?

u can try Autosaver or Autoaid at enterprise hub (Toh Guan)..

seen many nissan cars there..

Rubber detoriates much faster in our hot climate together with our start stop traffic.

Heat built up and frequent acceleration results in mountings spoiling fast.

Bro, mu truck got this problem:

Step 1: acclerate to say 70kph

Step 2: take foot totally off from accelrator (lets say in front got people wanna filter in and i let them come in) (foot brake not engaged)

Then some wired sound will come out from under the truck like some rumbling. after a while no more sound. donno whether engine mounting spoil or clutch wear out liao.

I am on manual, 180,000KM liao, 5 yrs.

Bro, mu truck got this problem:

Step 1: acclerate to say 70kph

Step 2: take foot totally off from accelrator (lets say in front got people wanna filter in and i let them come in) (foot brake not engaged)

Then some wired sound will come out from under the truck like some rumbling. after a while no more sound. donno whether engine mounting spoil or clutch wear out liao.

I am on manual, 180,000KM liao, 5 yrs.

just to check.. ur truck is 4WD or RWD? when you release the gas, does your truck vibrate and produce rumbling sound?

my old Isuzu 10ft lorry got this prob.. mileage was 350,000km when this occured.. problem was with the driveshaft coupling.. got it replaced and back to wheelspinning.. [rolleyes] [rolleyes]

it is RWD. when release accelrator to reduce speed, the sound is rumbling and not vibrating.

hmmm.....you are right. maybe the driveshift coupling old liao. hopefully got parts because syyangyong is no more liao [:(]

Edited by Mustank

the driveshaft coupling worn out quite obvious..

rumbling sound is just the start of it.. that time i pay no notice, until the rumbling accompnied by the vibrations..

when you change gears, you clutch-in - change gear - clutch out.. (don't depress the gas).. do you hear "konk" or "klonk"?

don have leh. don have all these funny sound when clutch in clucth out.....

ok.. when you hear those "tin-can" konk klonk sounds... means about there liao.. [rolleyes]:D