182 members have voted

1. 1. How much

• $1,000-$3,000
    • $3,000-$5,000
    • $5,000-$7,000
    • $7,000-$10,000
    • More than $10,000

go for the ring which is within your budget... i proposed with SK True love $200++ (within my budget) ring.. 0.05carat... she accept... the rest of the $$ can put into better use as in to ur new hse...

I buy a proposal ring in the end kena scold, she say waste money for a useless gem, use the money for reno better... In the end now ring in cupboard, nv wear. If wanna give ring, pls make sure ur wife ok with it as u r spend thousands on it, some lady love it, some lady dun. Different lady different set of value when viewing such thing.

Ytd i was shopping for a proposal ring... I was walking around tampines mall/one area, after going through all the shops i was deciding on a 0.46carat color D clarity VVS1, EX,VG,VG from Soo kee. the SE quoted me $2499 after resetting and everything.

i was wondering i whether or not its a good deal. i suddenly tot of my buddy's gf, who is somewhat a expert in diamonds. she told me a proposal ring is supposed to be 4x my monthly income. and my gf deserve morethan a 0.44 $2.5k ring i was like, like that i must spend more than $10k liao.

she also advise that no point gg to the general shops as im actually paying for the brand. she told me she wanna recommend me a few private custom jewellers to custom set for me

im wondering how much u guys spend on the ring that make u go on ur knees and whether u all got custom jewellers to intro anot... i dont mind spending but most impt must get best deal

Generally it depends on your gf la. Basically asking a girl for a budget is pointless because they will quote what they think is the norm, which usually isn't a norm. No point spending on the ring, you ended up with no money for wedding or renovation. Work out your budget. If size and price of ring matters to your gf, like some of the bros here said, lucky for you she didn't accept. [cool]

Can only say, good luck to your buddy.

Having said that, if you tried to save on the ring because you are stingy, then lucky for your gf that she found out before marriage. [:p]

I buy a proposal ring in the end kena scold, she say waste money for a useless gem, use the money for reno better... In the end now ring in cupboard, nv wear. If wanna give ring, pls make sure ur wife ok with it as u r spend thousands on it, some lady love it, some lady dun. Different lady different set of value when viewing such thing.

Indeed knowing what your partner wants is more important. Sounds like for you, gift isn't 1 of her love language.

talk about proposing, just want to share what i heard over the radio recently. as you know, valentines day just over.

there is this lady with over 40 years of xeperience in working for rom to solomise marriage. she said she had seen unusual solomisation, like the oldest couple are both over 80 years of age. and she had never come across the bridegroom hesitated and back off, but only the brides did, and quite a few.

also, the youngest cuople was both 16 years old ! and lastly, there were cases whereby the families of both sides are hostile, as they dont want their aged parents to get married, probably due to family fued or wealth distribution, and so they were against the marriage.

talk about proposing, just want to share what i heard over the radio recently. as you know, valentines day just over.

there is this lady with over 40 years of xeperience in working for rom to solomise marriage. she said she had seen unusual solomisation, like the oldest couple are both over 80 years of age. and she had never come across the bridegroom hesitated and back off, but only the brides did, and quite a few.

also, the youngest cuople was both 16 years old ! and lastly, there were cases whereby the families of both sides are hostile, as they dont want their aged parents to get married, probably due to family fued or wealth distribution, and so they were against the marriage.

I need a holiday...I saw you typed

SODOMISE marriage [:p]

dude yuo read too much about malaysia politics ah ! [laugh] Happy New Year !

yeah happy new yr.....next month huat ah hor!!! [laugh][laugh]

yeah must buy some toto and huat huat huat ah ! must buy some hope for the ten million hong bao draw, who knows ... yuo might just be the lucky guy ? [blush]

Edited by Vextan

Generally it depends on your gf la. Basically asking a girl for a budget is pointless because they will quote what they think is the norm, which usually isn't a norm. No point spending on the ring, you ended up with no money for wedding or renovation. Work out your budget. If size and price of ring matters to your gf, like some of the bros here said, lucky for you she didn't accept. [cool]

Can only say, good luck to your buddy.

Having said that, if you tried to save on the ring because you are stingy, then lucky for your gf that she found out before marriage. [:p]

no worries i will work according to my budget.... :D

The multiplier 4X is correct. Just that the base is wrong.

It is 4X DAILY INCOME not monthly.

So if you are like me who earns like $50 per day, the ring should cost like $200.

4X monthly income will get a WTF respond from me. "How much do you love me" goes both ways.

I propose a new equation,

1) If how much i love you directly reflects on the size of the diamond ring

2) Then how much i love you is directly proportional to your looks, bust sizes.

I bot my solitare from Eclarity. Several of my friends did too.

I know of 2 people who have bot from Blue Nile. Seems reliable but i guess waiting for the parcel to come can be quite kan chiong.

Blue nile has a bigger selection of diamonds in various qualities.

So far i don't think any of us have regretted buying from above.

Diamonds are GIA certified.

But be warned, if u r buying from eclarity. It's not really a shopping experience but more like expected to purchase already when u go down for their consultation.

Very few girls will know which is from tiffany which isn't (only the very savvy ones will) but big/small anyone can see. Carat is most impt.

Though i can distinguish EX vs VG cut, color. Generally inclusions are hard to see.

Choose a setting whereby maximum light can enter the diamond. If ur gf dun have fat hands, i wld recommend petite rings.

Platinum is quite a waste of money i feel.

nb...you stay there too long...WOLS lah you [laugh][laugh][laugh][:p]

if i get big fat PB i want to zhng my ride until sibeh chio, add stickers and chrome rims and high spoiler, pls whole row of headlight LED lights. better still, change to loud exhaust and big twin pipe. [laugh] but spending so much time in mcf, i think is difficult lor.

Edited by Vextan