TangoElite 6th Gear February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 Look at her if she ever admire diamond ring from a jewellery display, then ask her really if she wants a bigger diamond ring. No reason not to unless u cannot afford it. yes agreed for proposal ring, always get the best you can, never the second best... for that occassion is really once in a lifetime and an important one at that ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 A lot of ppl dun wear their whatever rings is becos the fear of scratching it and dan dunno go where to polish it. Thinking it will cost a bomb. 2nd thing I can think of is ppl have grown pretty fat and ring cannot fit anymore. Thinking altering the size will also cost a bomb. So the rings stay in the box. What a pity. You guys should go walk around Chinatown area. There are so many jewelry shops that sell loose diamonds, ready made rings for your diamonds, alterations/refurbishing, custom made jewelry etc etc. I can tell you , if you ask around these shops you will be surprised, it won't burn a hole in your pocket like most think. Some can even get it done in 30mins(ring size alterations, ready made proposal rings w/o diamond). If you are a silly goat and go to those branded shops with the rings that cannot fit anymore, they will psycho you to buy a new ring. Like my friend who kenna. If want to alter size, wait for dunno a week or so. I can get it done in 30 mins...tops. Dun have to ask me for contacts. Just stroll along Chinatown area, can easily spot their signage on their specialty and service. nope.... not necessary, i wanted to reset a ring for my wife, cost about 1-2k, the salesperson advise me not to and then even offer to polish the ring for free instead... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 18, 2010 Author Share February 18, 2010 The times(x) number of month salary shows how much she meant to you though not all girls see it this way. 5k budget can get u a nice 0.5 carat diamond ring with decent 4Cs. It is usually better to buy from the bigger and more established brand as they have price guarantee on some of their diamond rings. Meaning you can go back, trade in and upgrade your ring after a few years. Since you are buying the ring, your gf may not like what you buy. After all that hoohaa proposal moment and the "I do" she might want to change to a design she likes or upgrade to a bigger ring after a few years. Remember that diamond rings are women's Bragging right even after they are married. yea... i agree... its the bragging rights... however isnt those more commercialise brands more expensive as we're paying for the brand name? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kax2 Neutral Newbie February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 yes agreed for proposal ring, always get the best you can, never the second best... for that occassion is really once in a lifetime and an important one at that U know u succeed when your wife looks at her own ring instead of those on display when you walk by jewellery shop :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 18, 2010 Author Share February 18, 2010 bought online actually... blue nile... quite famous in the industry http://www.bluenile.com/diamond-search?fil...&track=head ring setting and design add in another 500-1000 depending on material... if gonna wear daily get platinum... more lasting... white gold tend to scratch easily... cheers... then start thinking of proposal idea... for me it was at a lakeside in myanmar... hahaha is bluenile safe??? anyone else got from them? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kax2 Neutral Newbie February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 yea... i agree... its the bragging rights... however isnt those more commercialise brands more expensive as we're paying for the brand name? Remember that Branding is another bragging right. Why Nike and not Bata ? You get free polishing services and trade in value guarantee for branded shops. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 18, 2010 Author Share February 18, 2010 http://www.vivodiamonds.com/rt/settings.pl?cfg=bpl&cat=6 this is local company... this one seems ex.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 The OC grew slimmer these 3 years so both the proposal and wedding rings cannot fit. Anyway, some women like to wear rings and some don't. My wife belongs to the don't like category. But to Robo, you gotta know Sylvia's lifestyle before buying the ring. Will she or will she not wear? But anyway, buy one both of you really like and can afford. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 http://www.nytimes.com/2007/01/07/business...ney/07nile.html http://video.forbes.com/fvn/lifestyle/bllue-nile featured on forbes and nytimes... pretty reputable =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 18, 2010 Author Share February 18, 2010 (edited) U don't know women .... the diamond ring is a bragging right. U go office wearing a small ring and meet another wearing a bigger ring, how would u feel ? I used to think the same thing as u but reality strucked. If you can afford it get at least 0.5 MY WIFE TRADED IN MY PROPASAL RING !! Cos it was too small....0.3C and upgraded to 0.5C, D color VVS1 after 1 year. Feeling from the proposal doesn't last forever. Better to be safe than sorry [laugh] she once had the idea of tradin in after 2 years... i somewad scream at her.. her 2nd or 3rd ring wanna trade in. the first NO WAY lol... to me it contains alot of sentimental value.. so... i will go for 0.50 at least Edited February 18, 2010 by Robo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 is bluenile safe??? anyone else got from them? Safe lah.. that was the one i gave u earlier leh over msn... design very nice... no worry one... comes with cert everything Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 (edited) bought online actually... blue nile... quite famous in the industry http://www.bluenile.com/diamond-search?fil...&track=head ring setting and design add in another 500-1000 depending on material... if gonna wear daily get platinum... more lasting... white gold tend to scratch easily... cheers... then start thinking of proposal idea... for me it was at a lakeside in myanmar... hahaha Err.. I tot White Gold = Platinum ??? Edited February 18, 2010 by Tigerwoods Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 Err.. I tot White Gold = Platinium ??? very different Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 nope... white gold is an alloy of gold... it mixes yellow gold with silver etc to get it more "white" platinum is another metal altogether.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 U know u succeed when your wife looks at her own ring instead of those on display when you walk by jewellery shop :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 18, 2010 Author Share February 18, 2010 The OC grew slimmer these 3 years so both the proposal and wedding rings cannot fit. Anyway, some women like to wear rings and some don't. My wife belongs to the don't like category. But to Robo, you gotta know Sylvia's lifestyle before buying the ring. Will she or will she not wear? But anyway, buy one both of you really like and can afford. Cheers. lol... she will wear it one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 see your periodic table... gold is au platinum is pt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 nope.... not necessary, i wanted to reset a ring for my wife, cost about 1-2k, the salesperson advise me not to and then even offer to polish the ring for free instead... Whenever I go to my regular goldsmith shop, look see only, the boss will polish our rings foc. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...