Budget  

182 members have voted

1. 1. How much

• $1,000-$3,000
    • $3,000-$5,000
    • $5,000-$7,000
    • $7,000-$10,000
    • More than $10,000

bro, many people after wedding they probably keep their ring in the safe box and seldom wear again. just dont want you to think that how much you are willing to splurge on her means how much you love her. i am sure she is not of such mentality and so you should wisen up, financially at least. allow me to say, if your income is $2.5k, i feel you should save for the new house and honeymoon instead. anyway, congrats !

Edited by Vextan

I safely can tell you that piece of rock depreciates just like your car too. When buying new it cost a bomb but when you try to sell it(I'm not saying you are going to), industry players will tell you it's not worth much in value. A lot of what you are paying for is brand. The only that appreciates or have value is the metal(aka Gold or Platinum) ring.

Actually, the value of the rock drops 40% in value the moment you sign on that credit card slip; it's not an investment but a luxury. Spend wisely...

simi lan leh............. why got such thing as must be 4x of monthly..........

anyway if you want to, i can recommend you someone working in larry jewellery

Edited by Galantspeedz

Thanks all for your sound advises!

I do am working on my budget. i have shop with my fiancee to be before.. :D

i think my budGET can achieve Her standard....

i m gonna shop alot tmr in orchard area.. any recommendation???

as an analogy, few weekends ago while shopping in cityhall, mrs was attracted to a furla bag cost $1.1k, i wanted to buy for her, but she insisted not to, because she would rather keep the money for children and family expense. thats what matters after marriage.

nonsense. who say the proposal ring must be 4 times the monthly income. your friend is clearly seeing you as a carrot, albiet not for herself.

i noe you dont mind spending but the size and cost of the proposal ring has no bearing at all on how blissful your marriage will be lor. Surely your fiance wouldnt mind a decent ring, since she loves you and not the ring, and $2500 is about right. i am sure she would rather you be financially prudent and sound during marriage, than to see you splurge on such symbolic materialism. you dont have to prove to her this way.

serious, save the money and go for a diamond not too extravagant, and keep the money for both your future. And tell your that friend dont bullsh*t. This is not India and you dont have to give a cow as a dowry so to speak.

btw, personally i'd buy a Lee Hwa as their cut is superb.

my that friend's gf is kinda the high maintenance. family rich. from young jewelly is like masak like that... so i wont be surprise if my buddy have to get a 1.5C ring in the future.

her accesories yet already compromise of a 0.5C ring and a 1C necklace...

heeehheeee... keeping my fingers crossed! [laugh]

Can buy direct from GIA???

actually after listening to my buddy's gf. i upz to budget to $7k. can get smth ard 0.5 and above

the one from sookee i almost bought got the GIA cert also.

There are Jewellery Shops that sell the diamond in a sealed package (can see the diamond one) and comes with Cert inside.

Those that sets the GIA diamond on the ring are normally mass certified - cheap alternative.

But frankly, Diamond is not the same as Gold. It has not much value after you buy it. Anyway a Proposal Ring is NOT = Investment. Buy it with true Value, and give it with true Heart :wub:[inlove]

Someone mentioned something very important - Buy to suit the size of Finger of your fiancee not the size of diamond.

Remember in Platinium Ring and not Gold if you buy D~F color. G ~ can use Gold since the diamond Yellow hue already...

simi lan leh............. why got such thing as must be 4x of monthly..........

anyway if you want to, i can recommend you someone working in larry jewellery

please PM me the ctc bro!

very very much appreciate it!

and YES i like the similan part [laugh]

Robo,

this is the type of [gorgeous] to marry

the [gorgeous] who will say no to exp handbags, shoes and diamonds but will rather save money for children, for [grouphug][thumbsup]

those who say they want you to spend x times your salary on whatever nonsence is [thumbsdown]

bro, many people after wedding they probably keep their ring in the safe box and seldom wear again. just dont want you to think that how much you are willing to splurge on her means how much you love her. i am sure she is not of such mentality and so you should wisen up, financially at least. allow me to say, if your income is $2.5k, i feel you should save for the new house and honeymoon instead. anyway, congrats !

no lah, his pay sure much more than that. I agree that the ring will end up in the safe box, but my wife still nag at me for not getting her a big diamond ring, if I want to get one now, she would just ask me to give her the cash instead [laugh] [laugh]

as an analogy, few weekends ago while shopping in cityhall, mrs was attracted to a furla bag cost $1.1k, i wanted to buy for her, but she insisted not to, because she would rather keep the money for children and family expense. thats what matters after marriage.

some will see it as upkeeping of romance or relationship though she refuse to spend that kind of money (if one can afford comfortably), and marriage is not just 柴米油盐!

Robo,

this is the type of [gorgeous] to marry

the who will say no to exp handbags, shoes and diamonds but will rather save money for children,

those who say they want you to spend x times your salary on whatever nonsence is [thumbsdown]

[laugh] my gf is somewhat like this also. we went to tiffany's... she warned me not to buy that...

[laugh] she do splurg on novelties... but den again, its her moola.. i cant be bothered.

when i shopp ytd my minimum criteria is D, VS1 or E VVS1.

im trying to not start so big. cuz this kinda things cannot in the future can only go upsize cannot go downsize.

Frankly VVS1 or VS1 or SI1 is more pride of ownership only. Do you admire your diamond everyday ?

Si1 and VS1 is irrelevant to the naked eye.

Unless you buy for investment... If buy to set on Jewellery, I'd rather buy HPHT diamond or CVD diamond.

All D color and Flawless ones. Wearing it for functions who can tell real of bluff ? and at a fraction of the cost...

Those Kaypo Auntie Lucies will ask wah so Swee.. How much hah ? You can say $30k loh...

Its better than you wear costume jewellery right ?

Frankly VVS1 or VS1 or SI1 is more pride of ownership only. Do you admire your diamond everyday ?

Si1 and VS1 is irrelevant to the naked eye.

Unless you buy for investment... If buy to set on Jewellery, I'd rather buy HPHT diamond or CVD diamond.

All D color and Flawless ones. Wearing it for functions who can tell real of bluff ? and at a fraction of the cost...

Those Kaypo Auntie Lucies will ask wah so Swee.. How much hah ? You can say $30k loh...

Its better than you wear costume jewellery right ?

Problem is i can tell from the naked eye. difference between a D and a F. she can tell too... so i was thinking 1 time do swee swee... no need too big. around 0.50-0.60Carat. next time den slowly upgrade...

-=RoBo=- says:

hows larry jewellery?

You have just sent a nudge.

-=RoBo=- says:

heysssss

=<sylvia>= says:

LARRY!!!

ARE YOU KIDDIN?

-=RoBo=- says:

very expensive?

=<sylvia>= says:

it's prob costs more than tiffanys

-=RoBo=- says:

really arh!

okok

=<sylvia>= says:

so if you want, of course ok

hahahaha

=<sylvia>= says:

harry winston also can

hahaha

got one shop at ION

lols

-=RoBo=- says:

knn

i check with her on MSN. nnBz... but she kidding!

knn....

Edited by Robo