Some things I just don't understand

Chalk

I'm going to sell me flat and buy a resale flat which is nearer to my kids pri sch. And these are the problems I've encountered in the buy/sell process.

1. Must I be represented by a agent before I can go view a flat listed on various websites? (I've called the seller agent and they say no agent with me, I cannot view)

2. Is the selling an buying controlled more by the agent or the owner/buyer? Some ad says no co broke some says co broke only. That's to say if my agent don't want to co broke with the other agent I won't even have the chance to view and needless to say buy the targeted flat.

3. Which agency is governing the prop agent, from what I see now there seems to be no one looking over them. There is no fixed comm structure, like market lelong now. What co broke no co broke, is co broking even allowed? The prop agent are becoming more like old days car dealer.

4. The agent is forcing me to sell my flat now and forcing me to buy one of the flats I viewed. Sorry but WTF!! The selling price is not what I wanted and the flat that he wants me to buy is not to my liking. So I said no and his face turn black.

I don't want to jump the gun and have a negative impression on these prop agent so I hope some bros from the prop inds can enlighten me. Hopefully there are still some that is not blinded by the money making and losing the heart.

Thanks

On 2/10/2010 at 2:34 PM, Chalk said:

I'm going to sell me flat and buy a resale flat which is nearer to my kids pri sch. And these are the problems I've encountered in the buy/sell process.

1. Must I be represented by a agent before I can go view a flat listed on various websites? (I've called the seller agent and they say no agent with me, I cannot view)

2. Is the selling an buying controlled more by the agent or the owner/buyer? Some ad says no co broke some says co broke only. That's to say if my agent don't want to co broke with the other agent I won't even have the chance to view and needless to say buy the targeted flat.

3. Which agency is governing the prop agent, from what I see now there seems to be no one looking over them. There is no fixed comm structure, like market lelong now. What co broke no co broke, is co broking even allowed? The prop agent are becoming more like old days car dealer.

4. The agent is forcing me to sell my flat now and forcing me to buy one of the flats I viewed. Sorry but WTF!! The selling price is not what I wanted and the flat that he wants me to buy is not to my liking. So I said no and his face turn black.

I don't want to jump the gun and have a negative impression on these prop agent so I hope some bros from the prop inds can enlighten me. Hopefully there are still some that is not blinded by the money making and losing the heart.

Thanks

99 % of agents are crap.

They just wanna make a quick buck after hearing how others made a quick buck.

Being prepared is the key.

This means knowing how much you want to sell and when you want to sell.

Also how much you are willing to pay and exactly what you prefer.

You can buy or sell property without any representation.

But this also means that you must be knowledgeable of the rules , regulations and procedure.

Very much like buying selling cars, really.

I would strongly recommend that you dont give up looking for the right one and also not be coerced into anything you are unsure of.

Good luck

There's no rule that u cannot view withour agent representing u. Even HDB oso say HDB transaction dun need agent to represent. Probably the seller agent prefer u have agent to rep u, which means u are being 'screened' as a real potential buyer. On the other hand, if u dun mind paying agent fee, u can ask the seller agent to assist u n u pay him as ur agent. I'm sure that agent will be very keen to serve u.

U can demand ur agent to co-broke, if cun, dun sell the flat wait till ur exclusive with him expire n change agent. The intention of not co-broking is to wait for a direct buyer without co-broke agent then he can earn 1% from that direct buyer.

When property market boom, it's common practice of not co-broking coz demand is always there.

Not sure which agency, but they got a body to 'guide' them to be professional. Co-broke or not co-broke it's depend how ur agent wana earn more or less n how fast he wana close the deal. The rational is same as what i mentioned above on ans no.2.

Never ever sell a house before u getting one, u may end up waiting long to get another one. There are cases where ppl sell house without getting another house ended u got to rent the house for months before getting a new one.

Thanks

Above juz my 2 cts of advice, keep to urself.

^_^

  On 2/10/2010 at 3:39 PM, Whatupz said:

Tell your agent that you will be sleeping in his house when you sold your house..

haha [laugh] a good one! [thumbsup]

Thanks

For item 1, don think is necessary, direct buyer means the seller agent don't share the comm.

For item 2, is again voice down to comm fee and also more co broke actually widen the net work for a seller point of view.

For item 3, understand that there will be some regulatory guide line in the pipeline, basically to define buyer/seller agent to avoid conflict of interest.

For item 4, Don't be pressed/lead by the agent, remember u are the boss and they act for you. Ypu must exercise this..eg meaning to say that if you are offering a xx amount, your agent resposibility is to push thru your offer to the seller and not vise versa telling you to up your offer. He must act for the interest for the buyer. This is vise versa of you are selling...As other Bro mentioned, some agent just want to close a deal and realise the comm.

There are many good agents around, talk to them..and strike few conversations, you may able to tell if he is a honest agent.

This is just my opinion....

most of them are scums.... there are good ones around... but hard to find like local bus drivers now

be clear on what you want... got chance approach seller directly.... you might get lucky if seller never sign exclusive....

this exclusive thing is crap

Edited by Ngck

Thanks

1) No agent are not neccessary but might be a advantage if you get a good agent. And that agent you mention likely that he is sharing the unit with another agent.

2) Selling controlled by the Agent unless you sign a contract or agreement that you will sell if the asking price reach that amount. Also Agent serving the buyer is likely to Co-Broke as they do not have a Unit.

3) I forgot the agency. But Co-Broke is allow, and likely to be made a mandate by HDB.

4) Change that Agent he is not doing a good job.

For item 3, understand that there will be some regulatory guide line in the pipeline, basically to define buyer/seller agent to avoid conflict of interest.

The pipeline like very long leh, been so long already and govt still dun wanna step up to control them, really getting out of hand already. I wanna find out which agency is regulating them cos I wanna complain already, buay tahan them already. Full of crap man, all the agents!!!

On 2/11/2010 at 12:12 AM, Joseph22 said:

1) No agent are not neccessary but might be a advantage if you get a good agent. And that agent you mention likely that he is sharing the unit with another agent.

2) Selling controlled by the Agent unless you sign a contract or agreement that you will sell if the asking price reach that amount. Also Agent serving the buyer is likely to Co-Broke as they do not have a Unit.

3) I forgot the agency. But Co-Broke is allow, and likely to be made a mandate by HDB.

4) Change that Agent he is not doing a good job.

Sorry for point 2. what i mean the owner have control. But if you sign a contract that you will sell at min what price. If that price come in, they can force you to sell. Of couse if the agent is good, if you dont want to sell for varies reason, they wont force you.

Its true that there are good agent around,

maybe can check friends,,etc to recommend.

I had a friend agent did for me when i sold my 1st flat years back.

Even with friend agent, wife still complain this & that...Aiya

...quite an experience

Good luck to TS

Thanks

Rules :

1. Never Sell your flat before you buy one. Unless you know what you want firmly.

2. If possible, the Agent that sell your flat is not the one who will find another flat for you (because he will limit you to his bag full of lousy flats).

On 2/11/2010 at 1:12 AM, Tigerwoods said:

Rules :

1. Never Sell your flat before you buy one. Unless you know what you want firmly.

2. If possible, the Agent that sell your flat is not the one who will find another flat for you (because he will limit you to his bag full of lousy flats).

Not neccessary lah.

But the rules when buying is, dont just rely on one Agent. And Dont just rely on Agents to find your house. Look for one yourself too while engaging agent.

I know some Agent dont like direct buyer as they might be spy from other agent.

Edited by Joseph22

always remember you are the BOSS, not the bloody agents.....

whatever u wan to do, just tell it straight to the agent's face, and insist it shall be done accordingly.

if u wan to work with a good agent, PM me. (I'm not an agent, but my agent is quite good. At least he's honest)