Pocus Turbocharged February 12, 2010 Share February 12, 2010 (edited) True cos for any car, once you drive for a few weeks or months, you get used to it and feel that it's "normal" even though you are leaving the traffic behind, and that's when you will start to itch for a mod...esp after discovering that there's significant increase by just adding a boost controller or piggyback. The advantages of modding a TC car an still stay legal. An even before changing to semi-slicks, the OEM Neova AD07 tyres are already very good, one of the best performance tyres in the market (superceded by AD08) Make sure you take back the tyres or take the value into consideration when you trade-in the rims. Actually the Colt Version R is very rare in Singapore and alot of People who are not informed don't even know it exist, so it's kindda niche. In fact only 4 countries have it outside Japan. HK, NZ, Aussie and SG. So if you get a dark color Colt, confirm a sleeper car. People usually will just assumed it's a blink blink car without knowing there's a snail inside....until it's too late. While the MT is hell of a drive, the CVT also buay pai for those with shared drivers and need to compromise. Edited February 12, 2010 by Pocus ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zafchen Neutral Newbie February 12, 2010 Author Share February 12, 2010 Hee. Fully agree! Actually u dun even hav to mod. CVR are ready-made performance car. In terms of handling, etc. Doors are light cos of weight issue. Even the 16" stock OEM rims are Enkei. =) Prehaps just need to go for Ralliart drop-in filter, Ralliart exhaust and a set of semi-slick tyres! Haha! =P ya.. as a stock already not bad.. but heard ppl are pushing the turbo boots from 0.5 to 1.... well also need to change other things like fuel injector etc.. but afterall it still soooo much easier to mod than a NA car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spying Clutched February 12, 2010 Share February 12, 2010 Hee. Fully agree! Actually u dun even hav to mod. CVR are ready-made performance car. In terms of handling, etc. Doors are light cos of weight issue. Even the 16" stock OEM rims are Enkei. =) Prehaps just need to go for Ralliart drop-in filter, Ralliart exhaust and a set of semi-slick tyres! Haha! =P Eh, how does the ralliart exhaust sound? Its going for $888 now right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged February 13, 2010 Share February 13, 2010 Eh, how does the ralliart exhaust sound? Its going for $888 now right? Over liao, yesterday last day. The sound is like HKS Silent Hi Power. Not very loud yet deep drone, but compare with the stock muffler only slighty louder. Don't think this muffler will increase HP/torque but mid rev smoother.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 13, 2010 Share February 13, 2010 After much consideration... plan to change my current ride from Subaru TS to Mit Colt Turbo... Any bro here having the same ride and how the feedback? Doesnt matter u own a Colt turbo or a Colt Plus Turbo.. your feedback is appreciated talk so much but still haven't change ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kengohth Neutral Newbie February 13, 2010 Share February 13, 2010 drove a Colt Plus when my EX broke down. it was a loan car from Cycle 1.5 l version. not much power. handling not that great. centre of gravity seems high, car not that steady. was glad when I got my EX back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zafchen Neutral Newbie February 13, 2010 Author Share February 13, 2010 talk so much but still haven't change ? bro... already say planning... u think change car is like changing underwear meh.. LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched February 13, 2010 Share February 13, 2010 drove a Colt Plus when my EX broke down. it was a loan car from Cycle 1.5 l version. not much power. handling not that great. centre of gravity seems high, car not that steady. was glad when I got my EX back. Drove my friend's EX GT...heavy but very comfortable with many gadgets but step acc no go. Glad to be back in my MT CVR after that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear February 13, 2010 Share February 13, 2010 Drove my friend's EX GT...heavy but very comfortable with many gadgets but step acc no go. Glad to be back in my MT CVR after that. You must have been driving the Auto version. The manual version is easier to pick up from stationary. That said, EX GT and Colt Version R both have about 155bhp, but the EX GT is so much heavier, obviously it's not as responsive. But once on the highway, the EX will be much more stable, and has no floating feeling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spying Clutched February 13, 2010 Share February 13, 2010 Over liao, yesterday last day. The sound is like HKS Silent Hi Power. Not very loud yet deep drone, but compare with the stock muffler only slighty louder. Don't think this muffler will increase HP/torque but mid rev smoother.. Alamak..wonder if got second hand. Looking to change the stock one. Any recommendations for a lta approved one yet not too loud? I like to hear the sound, performance secondary almost same performance also ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky_vinz Clutched February 14, 2010 Share February 14, 2010 Wow.. Itching for a manual CVR liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged February 15, 2010 Share February 15, 2010 You must have been driving the Auto version. The manual version is easier to pick up from stationary. That said, EX GT and Colt Version R both have about 155bhp, but the EX GT is so much heavier, obviously it's not as responsive. But once on the highway, the EX will be much more stable, and has no floating feeling. Adding to that, there's some difference on how a NA and TC engine deliver their power to the cars. While the torque curve of a NA car peaks at a certain RPM, the advantage of a TC engine it's that the torque curve is more like a plateu curve where the max torque is delivered at a range of RPMs, and usually start from very lower RPM to a much higher RPM, that way that torque is transferred to the car more effectively. Example: Let's have the torque curve of the CVT version of the Colt Plus Turbo. Although the 154BHP and 180nm is like most 2.0 cars like the Lancer EX 2.0 GT, the peak torque starts from the range of 2500RPM all the way to 5500RPM, while a similar powered NA engine may peak usually at 4000RPM only. So that aids the pickup, this is why a TC car's acceleration is always more of a launch forward compared to the more linear pickup of a NA car. But of cos as we know, torque is for the low-end pickup, at high speed, a NA and TC car of the same BHP is more or less on even grounds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged February 15, 2010 Share February 15, 2010 (edited) drove a Colt Plus when my EX broke down. it was a loan car from Cycle 1.5 l version. not much power. handling not that great. centre of gravity seems high, car not that steady. was glad when I got my EX back. LOL but we are talk about Colt Ver R and Colt Plus Ralliart, think the ralliart's power, handling and steadiness totally different from the regulars as I testdrove the regular Colt/Colt Plus too. Sort of comparing EX and EVO yeah? I rode on a 1.5 EX before but dun think the EVO just handles like that yeah? Edited February 15, 2010 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joekwp Neutral Newbie February 15, 2010 Share February 15, 2010 If ACS means Alarm Control System, my Colt Plus Ralliart Turbo have this feature, in fact its a standard feature for normal COlt Plus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zafchen Neutral Newbie February 15, 2010 Author Share February 15, 2010 hey guys... thanks for all yr feedback... went for a test drive on my friends Colt turbo..... really like this car... although it small.. it can outrun most car on road... as for interior, well not much to say but that wat a sport car should look like... more focus on the engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kengohth Neutral Newbie February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 heh heh. Oh boy, quite embrassed. LOL but we are talk about Colt Ver R and Colt Plus Ralliart, think the ralliart's power, handling and steadiness totally different from the regulars as I testdrove the regular Colt/Colt Plus too. Sort of comparing EX and EVO yeah? I rode on a 1.5 EX before but dun think the EVO just handles like that yeah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zafchen Neutral Newbie February 18, 2010 Author Share February 18, 2010 heh heh. Oh boy, quite embrassed. no worries bro.... you also giving yr own opinion ma... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EvcPro Neutral Newbie February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 Weimin Bro , Colt buay Pai . Go for CZT 4g15 Mivec ,Mivec low end better since u not hardcore . stock boost ard 0.4 nia ,install BC for low/high 0.8 - 1.0 (high) . Injectors no need to change . 2nd no problem ,just bring to workshop b4 u deal can liao . But be content with the power if u driving for long term , mod & mod also will numb to its power . Add Air Filter ,Bc can liao . Goodluck ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...