Thargor 1st Gear February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 (edited) Hi all, Need a big fav...a former student of mine just got his poly posting....and he got the most ill-fitted course...manufacturing engineering. He has absolutely ZERO interest in it and since young, he has always dream of being an accountant. Can someone, preferably a poly lecturer pls help....he will like to swap course to maybe business enterprise IT or the likes. He has 18 points for 5 subjects. Unless no choice, it doesn't really make sense to make a promising young man take on a course which he will never pursue in future. He is thinking about taking night classes (on business/accountacy) after his day poly lessons. A young man should be allowed to pursue his dreams. Please advise! Cheers! Thargor Edited February 9, 2010 by Thargor ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 he can apply and appeal ma not sure 18 can into accountancy anot..but tink English at least C6 my time is 16 maximum,now should be ok..just appeal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 hmm...looks like his points dun qualify him for most business course leh. Y not try ITE/MDIS/SIM instead? or other areas where he can choose the desired course that he wanted? Not sure if it still works. Last time I appealed for some of my subject grades so as to go in to my business course. Manage to do so from the help of my sec school teacher. Poly lecturer dun think can do much as they are only there to teach. Maybe the course chair or dean can help. Check with MOE too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentrain Clutched February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 Go through CAT thereafter ACCA if he is really firmed that he wants to do Accounts in the future Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 Why die die must study that poly? So many external degree course to chose from. You think lecturer can kelong and help meh? Dont sabo the lacturers lah. They dare not break the rule and get into trouble one lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 (edited) He may appeal but dont forget there are plenty of students like him appealing too. If the student does not want to be dictated by what to study based on his previous result, he can go through alternatives by signing up with private diploma leading to degree from a reputable uni (example, UOL) or he can sign up as an ACCA student. What i believe is that a person who may not do well in O level academic subjects (due to boring subjects and lack of interest) does not necessary perform badly in specialised subjects like accounting/design/IT etc ... unfortunately, all of us have to force ourselves to pass these subjects, get good possible result and compete for placement... =( Edited February 9, 2010 by Babyt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear February 9, 2010 Author Share February 9, 2010 Go through CAT thereafter ACCA if he is really firmed that he wants to do Accounts in the future Thanks Pentrain, I already directed him to the CAT link http://www.saa.org.sg/cat_syllabus_fees.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erratic Neutral Newbie February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 In order to appeal, find a course in any of the 5 polytechnics that your student meets the Cut Off Point (COP). However, this should have been done during the JAE Appeal exercise which ended last week. Looking at the aggregate your student has, he will be hard pressed to meet the minimum requirement for those courses you have stated. I would suggest trying Republic Polytechnic as they have courses in that area that meets the COP of your student. FYI, COP for business related courses at SP and NP are all 12 pts and below this year. Good Luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carndablues Clutched February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 (edited) and since young, he has always dream of being an accountant. Who the h3ll dreams of being an accountant???? Anyway, if that's his real dream, he would already have taken steps of his own volition to find out how to achieve his dream. Sounds like he's just a dreamer and not a hard worker. TS, do him a favour, ask him to WAKE UP FROM HIS DREAM!!!! Edited February 9, 2010 by Carndablues Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 (edited) why he want to be accountant? accountants are always perceived as sq sq one. For the rest of their lives. Nowadays, accountants are only high class book keepers. They need to break out of the accountant mould and be seen as an all rounder. See the transformation of the CFO role over the past decade? CFOs used to need to know financial results can already. Now they have to be able to think strategically, laterally and horizontally, understand world economy, understand and predict industry trends, be a treasury whiz kid, be the CEO's advisor, take care of the public face of the co, understand sales, marketing, networks, engineering, understand all regulatory concerns not just from the accounting front etc etc. See the role until eyes blur like sotong. With this kind of portfolio, can forget about work-life balance unless you have a very strong supporting team which means the accountant needs to work overtime everyday. Only good thing is that accountancy courses generally have a large proportion of ladies. btw, I am not an accountant. Only got accountant friends. Edited February 9, 2010 by Kxbc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 i think ur student and many other students must have been brought up that it is good to be an 'accountant', 'doctor', 'engineer' by the elderly. they are attracted by the title. i reckon they know anything else about the jobs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 singapore works on the basis of meritocracy.... if he can't meet the COP then on what basis should he appeal? And from what I know, 16 pts is not even a marginal miss.... all i can say his chance is slight at best. his best bet at the moment would be thru the LCCI/CAT/ACCA route if he really wants to be an accountant.. but on the other hand, what does a 17 yr old kid knows what he wants to do with his career? He may hate it and regret it when he finally get into the big 4.... i know most do... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 Who the h3ll dreams of being an accountant???? haha altho im an accountant but your statement really made me laugh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 correct...it was reported that the International Business course COP was 7 points only... My Business Management couse COP last time was 12. I had the same point but was squeezed out due to quantity filled. But I die die appeal to go in... But I think poly standards really dropped for past decade. Now I see my neighbour more than 25points also can go in..but good also lah just in case they drop out and create more trouble outside. Lots of bengs and lians in there since my time too.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 my suggestion.. 1. Take the diploma in engineering first. 2. PT take ACCA. at the very least he will have something to fall back on. Take myself for example. I have a degree in engineering from ntu. I started out as an engineer... along the way I picked up a MBA and CFA and ACCA ( level 1 only though) not getting into accountancy isn't the end of the world.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 singapore works on the basis of meritocracy.... if he can't meet the COP then on what basis should he appeal? And from what I know, 16 pts is not even a marginal miss.... all i can say his chance is slight at best. his best bet at the moment would be thru the LCCI/CAT/ACCA route if he really wants to be an accountant.. but on the other hand, what does a 17 yr old kid knows what he wants to do with his career? He may hate it and regret it when he finally get into the big 4.... i know most do... tis pt is very valid...dun say 17yo, even at 27yrs old (some yrs back la ha) i really wondered if i can do this profession for life... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 Hi all, Need a big fav...a former student of mine just got his poly posting....and he got the most ill-fitted course...manufacturing engineering. He has absolutely ZERO interest in it and since young, he has always dream of being an accountant. Can someone, preferably a poly lecturer pls help....he will like to swap course to maybe business enterprise IT or the likes. He has 18 points for 5 subjects. Unless no choice, it doesn't really make sense to make a promising young man take on a course which he will never pursue in future. He is thinking about taking night classes (on business/accountacy) after his day poly lessons. A young man should be allowed to pursue his dreams. Please advise! Cheers! Thargor yes, go thru the ITE route. If he really has the passion, he will go very far wherever he goes. My cousin-in-law was from ITE, now mid 30s, VP in one of the biggest bank. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 9, 2010 Share February 9, 2010 kids think accountant earn big money maybe? i'll bet they dun even know the difference between auditors and accountants.... not to mention the horrible hours they keep in the big 4.... to be honest, on a per hour basis they might be earning less than engineers.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...