Got caught for holding chewing gum

Kurty

I think I got records in a few check points in Singapore, thats for smuggling ciggies. It has been 10 years and life still goes on..

wow, they got tax/fine you for that?

its tis kind of minor offense tat makes singaporean looks like a laughing stock to others

aiyo...sibeh kiasi leh u..

I all kinda record oso have with custom..

-go in with low fuel

-bring in meat products

-chewing gums..

-cigs

-dvds

-magazines..

keke, paiseh lah. i first timer mah... [:p]

can ask, low fuel refer to lesser than 3/4? i thought they will fine you?

my gf say in future, i got to be more careful as the custom already have a record of my act...

to be frank.. i don't dare to buy anything apart from chewing gum.. not even cigs or dvd.. scare..

well, i notice another issue, per pax is only allowed to bring in not more than SGD$50 of goodies, anything above that, got to be tax.

on the day itself, we bought some new year goodies.. the officer question me their worth..

lucky, they only cost around rm120..

he verbally warned me that per pax is SGD$50 cap, will be taxable if i exceed..

i don't even know there's such a law...

I buy gum all the time from JB. So far never kenna. I dont think its an offence. Just the selling of gum is not allowed here. But now gum for medical use is being allowed.

you are one powerful ranger.

but gum are good for health, serious [rolleyes]

=================

Gum is NOT illegal. Just cannot sell in SG.

VCD always bring in fishing VCDs. So far never kenna even I just leave on the front seat. If kenna ask to send for censorship, I just tell them to confiscate lor.

Most important is dont hide. Just put where they can see when they check. Most times they also heck care unless u get some @sshole who want to catch every little thing. Then it wil just reflect badly on the ICA officer lah.

Long ago my fren had Maggi chicken cubes. Got 1 idiot say chicken got bird flu so cannot bring in from MY. I tell him this is processed chicken products lah. Not fresh chicken. In the end also allowed to bring in.

I think sometimes they also not sure what can & what cannot.

Chewing gums only.... Today saw one guy carrying 3 carton of canned carlsberg beers into the custom office, he was in the green lane " nothing to declare" GG to him liao [wave]

================

Hahaha. Beer now not cheap in MY anymore. Stupid clown dont know what to buy. Summore 3 ctns sure kenna tax liow. Like that cheaper to buy here.

Now chewing gum one stick also cannot, not even for personal use. My bro also got caught with one stick, also have to destroy. He was in Malaysia for a week so when he came back, forgot that he left one stick in his bag. Scanning machine caught it, dun play play.

Edited by Dunno

Now chewing gum one stick also cannot, not even for personal use. My bro also got caught with one stick, also have to destroy. He was in Malaysia for a week so when he came back, forgot that he left one stick in his bag. Scanning machine caught it, dun play play.

================

Wah so strict. What for?

SG is the only country in the world that banned chewing gum. 1 of the biggest jokes for foreigners coming here.

as the holiday season approaching, our customs are really on the ball.

stupid me, yesterday bought a box of chewing gum, i usually eat them to keep myself awake while driving or at work.

during the inspection, i was caught for 'smuggling' a box of chewing gum...

i don't even hide in, just chunk at the rear seat...

brought into the room, give them my passport..

written my detail on their 'destroy' log book.

wish to check.. will it leave any bad mark?

i check with the officer, he told me nothing much.. just a formality to write down with the consent of destroying the gum...

is that true... [bigcry]

May be you cannot work in casino in future........:P

Edited by LoverofCar

wun have any record or bad mark one lah... the record is just for formality... I kena caught before and after that more daring to bring in chewing gum liao...

not trying to be funny......

but got scanning machine can detect chewing gum one meh?

Anything that was written (as in using pen) on a logbook (as in paper), there's no productive way to do a search or query nor able to generate any reports.

If written using keyboard on logbook database... then different story. :)

as the holiday season approaching, our customs are really on the ball.

stupid me, yesterday bought a box of chewing gum, i usually eat them to keep myself awake while driving or at work.

during the inspection, i was caught for 'smuggling' a box of chewing gum...

i don't even hide in, just chunk at the rear seat...

brought into the room, give them my passport..

written my detail on their 'destroy' log book.

wish to check.. will it leave any bad mark?

i check with the officer, he told me nothing much.. just a formality to write down with the consent of destroying the gum...

is that true... [bigcry]

===============

Weapons I brought in a few times but never kenna caught. Heng ah. [:p]

Drugs I bring in most of the time.

Hallo ciggie not really counted as drugs to them hor [rolleyes]

not trying to be funny......

but got scanning machine can detect chewing gum one meh?

Prob just happen to detect tat stick....the scanner detected my perfume one time, officer damn kan cheong, ransacked my whole bag infront of everybody :wacko: ...

Can someone help to clarify this on chewing gums!!!!

I always thought you are allowed to bring in a 'reasonable' quantity for personal

consumption only. I.e......if i bring in just 1 or 2 packets, it is not against the customs law.

I thought the law says you cannot bring in for resale, or sale to the public. and just 1 or 2 packets

can hardly be considered importing in for resale. If this is true....i will %$## the customs officers or the

Cisco officers the next time for not knowing their rules and regulations the next time they stop me

for just 1 packet.

Edited by Rock

I think if you do human trafficking they won't even notice.

If you drive in with lets say a woman seated beside you, a lot of these guys think she's your gf. Stamp passport, go.

My brother drove into the US from Canada. Wife actually went ahead of him first on business. He came later as a tourist. At the Canadian/US checkpoint the officer asked him what is this woman's relation to him! Shocking, right? Nope. The time they enter are different on the last stamp of the passport so of course raise suspicion.

Singapore has border security? I tell you what it is. WAYANG only.

I think if you do human trafficking they won't even notice.

If you drive in with lets say a woman seated beside you, a lot of these guys think she's your gf. Stamp passport, go.

My brother drove into the US from Canada. Wife actually went ahead of him first on business. He came later as a tourist. At the Canadian/US checkpoint the officer asked him what is this woman's relation to him! Shocking, right? Nope. The time they enter are different on the last stamp of the passport so of course raise suspicion.

Singapore has border security? I tell you what it is. WAYANG only.

Agree.. else how did drugs still find their ways into our land unless we have a manufacturing site here.

Think the $50 thing u toking about is the GST allowances. U can go to the following to find out more and remember no duty-free allowance for liquor or beer if you coming back from msia unlike airport.

http://www.customs.gov.sg/leftNav/trav/all...Concessions.htm

I think I got records in a few check points in Singapore, thats for smuggling ciggies. It has been 10 years and life still goes on..

wow, they got tax/fine you for that?

its tis kind of minor offense tat makes singaporean looks like a laughing stock to others

aiyo...sibeh kiasi leh u..

I all kinda record oso have with custom..

-go in with low fuel

-bring in meat products

-chewing gums..

-cigs

-dvds

-magazines..

keke, paiseh lah. i first timer mah... [:p]

can ask, low fuel refer to lesser than 3/4? i thought they will fine you?

my gf say in future, i got to be more careful as the custom already have a record of my act...

to be frank.. i don't dare to buy anything apart from chewing gum.. not even cigs or dvd.. scare..

well, i notice another issue, per pax is only allowed to bring in not more than SGD$50 of goodies, anything above that, got to be tax.

on the day itself, we bought some new year goodies.. the officer question me their worth..

lucky, they only cost around rm120..

he verbally warned me that per pax is SGD$50 cap, will be taxable if i exceed..

i don't even know there's such a law...

I buy gum all the time from JB. So far never kenna. I dont think its an offence. Just the selling of gum is not allowed here. But now gum for medical use is being allowed.

you are one powerful ranger.

but gum are good for health, serious [rolleyes]

Importation (mean bring into spore lah) of chewing gum is not allowed. Those for medicial purposes need to have doc prescription i think . . anyway if detected just be cooperate with the officers as they also doing their job and as long as u cooperative with them, usually they will not make things difficult for u lah . . . the signing of the book think is for u to acknowledge that the gum destroyed or detain lah . . . spore also have black and white mah which is gd unlike some countries . . . pay $$ later can find that they never delete away ur summon . . . .

some foreigners also support the move to ban the gum as the cost of removing them from the public area like pavements, transport system etc cost the tax-payer a bomb . . . think few yrs back news got say something on this in france or some europe countries where they have to spend $ to clean up the mess left behind by gums ppl leave around . . .

================

Wah so strict. What for?

SG is the only country in the world that banned chewing gum. 1 of the biggest jokes for foreigners coming here.

Edited by Seabass_sg

haha, thanks brothers! [:p]

after reading your replies, i can sleep much better tonight.