Toapayohkid 1st Gear February 8, 2010 Share February 8, 2010 On 2/8/2010 at 1:40 AM, Darryn said: Heh, the other thing that bugs me, is when someone sees a person of chinese ethnicity, they automatically expect them to speak Chinese. I am of scots / german descent - but no one expects me to speak either scottish or german. Fair? Then just to show how contrary I am, its a slight annoyance for me, when people are always so surprised that my kid speaks chinese. I always feel a little I mean - her mother is Singapore Chinese, she is going to a neighbourhood kindergarten, why wouldn't she speak chinese? (although I must admit, the damn language is too bloody difficult for me, I simply cannot get the tones - my teacher always got upset because I kept calling her "rat" instead of "teacher") LOL nicely argued. it is coz down here, it is very uni-dimensional to a large extent in race-language. chinese means must speak chinese (mandarin btw), "malays" must speak malay (not boyananese, kelantanese etc) and indians means tamil (not hindi, malayalam etc). that said, when i go over to oz or usa and identify myself from singapore, depending on where i am and who i speak to, when i speak english, the whiteys would sometimes say "ohhhhh you speak good english". stereotyping exists everywhere. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 8, 2010 Share February 8, 2010 I was musing to myself last night about the language policy - and wondering if it is time to do away with "mother tongue". I absolutely and totally support the learning of two languages. This is fantastic and I think a really really good thing. I totally wish that I could speak two languages. However, what if instead of "mother tongue" MOE said must just learn a second language to full proficieny and can choose that language? German, French and Spanish (IMO) would be good options to add to Mandarin, Tamil and Malay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear February 8, 2010 Share February 8, 2010 On 2/8/2010 at 2:38 AM, Darryn said: I was musing to myself last night about the language policy - and wondering if it is time to do away with "mother tongue". I absolutely and totally support the learning of two languages. This is fantastic and I think a really really good thing. I totally wish that I could speak two languages. However, what if instead of "mother tongue" MOE said must just learn a second language to full proficieny and can choose that language? German, French and Spanish (IMO) would be good options to add to Mandarin, Tamil and Malay totally agree that should do away with mother tongue and focus on bi or multi-lingual lang policy. the eu is a good example of success in some countries, albeit they only have to deal with romanic alphabets mainly and not indian alphabets or chinese characters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 8, 2010 Share February 8, 2010 On 2/8/2010 at 2:48 AM, Toapayohkid said: totally agree that should do away with mother tongue and focus on bi or multi-lingual lang policy. the eu is a good example of success in some countries, albeit they only have to deal with romanic alphabets mainly and not indian alphabets or chinese characters. The European system was what I base the ideas on...as well as my own experience with "national identity". Back home A LOT of people really dun like the term Pakeha, or caucasian or European - most of my friends and family would refer to themselves as "New Zealanders" and if pressed further on the issue would repeat - I am a Kiwi, what is it to you? (and yes, we are all aware that Kiwi is not a race, but that'show we think of ourselves, not as coming from the Caucasus or Europe or whatever) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic February 8, 2010 Share February 8, 2010 On 2/8/2010 at 2:38 AM, Darryn said: German, French and Spanish (IMO) would be good options to add to Mandarin, Tamil and Malay Hindi as well - after all, it is the National language of India. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Introz Clutched February 8, 2010 Share February 8, 2010 sad to have these type of people in Singapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 2, 2015 Share February 2, 2015 Wa... Tan kin lian oso ah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged February 2, 2015 Share February 2, 2015 I'd love to see his reaction when he goes to Changi Business Park. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged February 2, 2015 Share February 2, 2015 On 2/2/2015 at 7:59 AM, RadX said: Wa... Tan kin lian oso ah image.jpg Heh. He could have been our President. 😜 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 2, 2015 Share February 2, 2015 On 2/2/2015 at 8:06 AM, Myxilplix said: I'd love to see his reaction when he goes to Changi Business Park. Chennai business park you mean? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged February 2, 2015 Share February 2, 2015 On 2/2/2015 at 7:59 AM, RadX said: Wa... Tan kin lian oso ah Akan Datang .... account tio hacked. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic February 2, 2015 Share February 2, 2015 On 2/2/2015 at 8:07 AM, Piyopico said: Heh. He could have been our President. He will never ever be our President .... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear February 2, 2015 Share February 2, 2015 Not exactly racist. Foreigners discrimination. If I say I thought I'm in China when I go People's park over weekend or Manila when I go to Lucky Plaza. Then is that considered racist. No offensive remarks here what. Remembered someone mentioned Serrangoon / KK mkt become very dark on weekends. That is offensive... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 2, 2015 Share February 2, 2015 On 2/2/2015 at 8:14 AM, Celicar said: Akan Datang .... account tio hacked. lol On 2/2/2015 at 8:19 AM, Karu said: Not exactly racist. Foreigners discrimination. If I say I thought I'm in China when I go People's park over weekend or Manila when I go to Lucky Plaza. Then is that considered racist. No offensive remarks here what. Remembered someone mentioned Serrangoon / KK mkt become very dark on weekends. That is offensive... yea not really racist but the intended idea remains and coming from a so called 'public figure'...oh well yea if say acct hacked..............RIGHT! Think we prembaree tree ah..lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 2, 2015 Share February 2, 2015 You know what is racist?Every other organisation that is "pro" a specific race. Chinese,indian,malay... watever... Shouldnt' all SGreans be equal? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 2, 2015 Share February 2, 2015 On 2/2/2015 at 8:19 AM, Karu said: Not exactly racist. Foreigners discrimination. If I say I thought I'm in China when I go People's park over weekend or Manila when I go to Lucky Plaza. Then is that considered racist. No offensive remarks here what. Remembered someone mentioned Serrangoon / KK mkt become very dark on weekends. That is offensive... (Hokkien) tey Wah kee orh orh hee peng is discrimination, racist or offensive (Follow me to the dark side) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear February 2, 2015 Share February 2, 2015 On 2/2/2015 at 8:06 AM, Myxilplix said: I'd love to see his reaction when he goes to Changi Business Park. you ask him come geylang see see, he wun even know who he is...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 2, 2015 Share February 2, 2015 On 2/2/2015 at 8:34 AM, Mustank said: (Hokkien) tey Wah kee orh orh hee peng is discrimination, racist or offensive (Follow me to the dark side) liddis ah http://youtu.be/5hVUk5IXTKQ ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...