Nmnhnlm Clutched February 3, 2010 Share February 3, 2010 http://www.ameslab.gov/final/News/2008rel/Nanocoatings.html http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BAM_(material) If our engine and all moving parts in our car is coating by this material, it will be extremely lasting and will save fuel and boost power. Imagine cylinder walls coated, bearings etc coated with this. Our engines will last super long! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear February 3, 2010 Share February 3, 2010 mai tu liao. im going to market spray cans with "BAM" inside. spray into intake and BAM! instantly your engine can last 1000 yrs without servicing. Who want to invest in my overnight startup? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nmnhnlm Clutched February 3, 2010 Author Share February 3, 2010 I on. When you starting? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Milanmania2004 Neutral Newbie February 3, 2010 Share February 3, 2010 how much hah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timmz2000 Neutral Newbie February 3, 2010 Share February 3, 2010 such stuff is NOT necessary in sillypore unlez u drive 50,000 km per yr and keep it 10 years! maybe the export car buyer will send u a thank you email..... hahahhahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear February 4, 2010 Share February 4, 2010 http://www.ameslab.gov/final/News/2008rel/Nanocoatings.html http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BAM_(material) If our engine and all moving parts in our car is coating by this material, it will be extremely lasting and will save fuel and boost power. Imagine cylinder walls coated, bearings etc coated with this. Our engines will last super long! I suppose if this is essential, car manufacturers would have included them in their assembly plants before rolling the vehicles out to consumers like us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nmnhnlm Clutched February 4, 2010 Author Share February 4, 2010 (edited) I suppose if this is essential, car manufacturers would have included them in their assembly plants before rolling the vehicles out to consumers like us. Right now, its not a commercial product yet. You also have to take note of the most important factor called cost. Back in the 80-90s when cars are over engineered, you see cast iron closed deck engine blocks, forged cranks, con rods etc. Now, you see alu blocks, open deck (easier and cheaper to cast compared to closed decks). cast cranks etc. Main purpose is to cut cost. Edited February 4, 2010 by Nmnhnlm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nmnhnlm Clutched February 4, 2010 Author Share February 4, 2010 such stuff is NOT necessary in sillypore unlez u drive 50,000 km per yr and keep it 10 years! maybe the export car buyer will send u a thank you email..... hahahhahaha According to Cook, government calculations show that a modest increase in pump efficiency resulting from use of these nanocoatings could reduce U.S. industrial energy usage by 31 trillion BTUs annually by 2030, or a savings of $179 million a year. Its not about how long the engine can last. Its more about reducing energy consumption. Then you can roughly gauge much petrol we can save if friction were to be reduced Right now, its not a commercial product and cannot be added to your engine like oil or additive. It has to be coated via pulsed laser deposition. Its VERY EXPENSIVE!! They are developing a cheaper technique called magnetron sputtering. But it will still be some time before we can see any commercial applications. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear February 4, 2010 Share February 4, 2010 (edited) wrong. U can get it now in your engine just one easy step. Buy BAM! engine diamond spray. only $99.99 for a limited period only. Make your engine last a thousand years. BAM! engine diamond spray, your one stop solution to make sure your chinese engine gets inherited by your grandson. BAM! buy now because you may eventually die but your engine, will live FOREVER! pls PM me if you are interested in purchasing BAM! Edited February 4, 2010 by Zyrofillica Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear February 4, 2010 Share February 4, 2010 Right now, its not a commercial product yet. You also have to take note of the most important factor called cost. Back in the 80-90s when cars are over engineered, you see cast iron closed deck engine blocks, forged cranks, con rods etc. Now, you see alu blocks, open deck (easier and cheaper to cast compared to closed decks). cast cranks etc. Main purpose is to cut cost. Noted. Thanks for your sharing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eiji Neutral Newbie March 1, 2010 Share March 1, 2010 most singaporeans don't keep their car for more than 5yrs, just need regular servicing and maintainence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowwannabe Neutral Newbie March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 wah....chim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sagiitaur Neutral Newbie March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 faint Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nmnhnlm Clutched March 4, 2010 Author Share March 4, 2010 (edited) most singaporeans don't keep their car for more than 5yrs, just need regular servicing and maintainence. Its not about making cars last. Its about reducing friction to save money and energy. The article already mentioned how much $$$ can be saved by reducing friciton by just a little. Do you know how inefficient is our car engine and our transmission? Around 15% of the power is lost thru transmission and journal bearing shells are like sand paper. There is also piston rings and cylinder walls. If we can reduce friction and wear and tear, we can run even thinner oils. Even better FC. Just think if we can reduce power lost by 10%, how much fuel we will be able to save for the world. SG don't keep cars for 5yrs doesn't mean the whole world does the same. What happens here is not a representation of the world. But.... magnetron sputtering....... its an expensive process..... Edited March 4, 2010 by Nmnhnlm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Absolutetint Neutral Newbie March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 sounds so complicated sia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Absolutetint Neutral Newbie March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 got workshop to do?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicagt42010 Neutral Newbie March 28, 2010 Share March 28, 2010 got workshop to do?? I am also reading up on the material. Unfortunately, I don't think its available yet. So, there aren't any workshops that could do it. Furthermore, it says magnetron spluttering. This means you can only coat your engine or components after you strip the engine apart. Its not something which can be added like an additive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahjun Clutched March 28, 2010 Share March 28, 2010 what do u guys think of STP Fuel System Cleaner? effective ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...