Conversion of normal car to OPC

Speedz76

Hi guys

have been calling LTA but the customer service officer seem buay zhai one.. everything also need to check and get back.. so i am posting the question here to see if anyone has done this before, just to make sure, as I do not want to make a wasted trip to LTA just because they give me wrong info

basically, mine is a normal car and i'm going to convert to OPC.

My current road tax is expiring in April (hit 3 years in april)

If i renew my OPC road tax now, it will be for one year starting in Feb

but my car insurance is also expiring in Apr

and my veh inspection is coming soon i guess.. coz in 3 years?

so in order to convert to OPC, i must get ready and confirm a new motor insurance, specify a date, for e.g. 10th Feb 2010, and go to LTA to convert to OPC? Meaning my new road tax and car insurance will be valid from 10th Feb 10 and renew on this date every year?

what about the 3 year upcoming motor inspection?

so that means technically, if i drive for 10 years, my last car road tax and ins will end in Feb, but my deregistration will be in Apr???

Appreciate your inputs

thanks

Your questions have nothing to do with LTA.

To convert from normal to OPC, just need to perform the necessary paperwork with LTA, inform your insurer (not sure if they will give you some discount refund though) and get your licence plate painted red with "screws" permanently on. Then, wait patiently for every 6 months cheque.$$$$

Edited by Kangadrool

  On 2/1/2010 at 12:20 PM, Speedz76 said:

Hi guys

have been calling LTA but the customer service officer seem buay zhai one.. everything also need to check and get back.. so i am posting the question here to see if anyone has done this before, just to make sure, as I do not want to make a wasted trip to LTA just because they give me wrong info

If i renew my OPC road tax now, it will be for one year starting in Feb but my car insurance is also expiring in Apr after u have apply for new insurance, cancel the current one (if from different insurance coy) and my veh inspection is coming soon i guess.. coz in 3 years? i think it is ok to convert now before u received the inspection letter else it would be like my case

so in order to convert to OPC, i must get ready and confirm a new motor insurance, specify a date, for e.g. 10th Feb 2010, and go to LTA to convert to OPC? Yes and remember to get your new car plate ready. I done mine within 4 hrs. do check with the car plate maker regarding the bracket. i think it is going to be seperate charges for bracket installation and fixing it up. Meaning my new road tax and car insurance will be valid from 10th Feb 10 and renew on this date every year? yes

so that means technically, if i drive for 10 years, my last car road tax and ins will end in Feb, but my deregistration will be in Apr??? Consider scrapping it earlier lor

Appreciate your inputs

thanks

i'm also planning to convert mine to OPC. info is based on my knowlegde, wrong don't come after me hor ^_^

for me, i will send in for inspection first as i already have received the inspection letter from LTA.

next, get insurance ready. once it is done, will visit LTA to convert, then off to workshop to fix new car plate and inpsection center to seal, planned to do all in a day.

but i dunno if after conversion at LTA, is it consider OPC already and must buy e-licence when driving back. this one can check on the day when i converted.

On 2/1/2010 at 2:15 PM, Jkcs said:

i'm also planning to convert mine to OPC. info is based on my knowlegde, wrong don't come after me hor ^_^

for me, i will send in for inspection first as i already have received the inspection letter from LTA.

next, get insurance ready. once it is done, will visit LTA to convert, then off to workshop to fix new car plate and inpsection center to seal, planned to do all in a day.

but i dunno if after conversion at LTA, is it consider OPC already and must buy e-licence when driving back. this one can check on the day when i converted.

Hmm... interesting scenerio.

But your plate would have been still black at that time so cannot distiguish your car as a OPC ah...I'd guess that the requirement would be that your car needs to have the OPC plate installed and sealed within (maybe 3?) days of converting

Had a similar situation... but that was when I was converting my OPC to normal plate.

Depends on whether u convert on a Sat or Weekday and whether u drive to LTA to convert:

If on weekday and you drive to LTA to convert, then must buy e-license to drive back.

If on weekday, you take bus to LTA to convert, park car at home, no need to buy e-license.

If on Sat and u drive to LTA to convert, also no need to buy e-license.

P.S. I just did my normal car to OPC conversion last week.

jus 2 more things jus for info

1) OPC insurance should hv additional 15% off

2) Do apply for mobilepay. Forgot to pay in time once and had to go down to LTA to submit report. Got warning, this is the ONLY one time waiver. Now with mobilepay much easier.

@ Bro Scoots,

that's what i had planned to do - all on a single day lor. :)

@ Bro S'gporean1965,

Since LTA is open for biz on Sat, think i will do on sat. i thot they operate fr Mon to Fri only xD. Do u incurred extra charges for the bracket cum fixing up of car plate?

@ Bro Pegasus,

What is "mobilepay"? if it something to do with AXS machine or a services u can use from your HP?

I had mine made liao, cost me $68. the plate maker will recommend me a workshop for the bracket and installation of car plate when i am ready for sealing at another charges. before i can 'save' $ from this scheme, i lose first. :P

cheers!

thanks for the reply bro

sigh.. one day after starting this post.. i also just recieve my veh inspection letter from LTA.. looks like i have to wait also ... lol

anyway.. still waiting for my agent to get back to me regarding car ins.. prob is if convert now the car ins need to renew one year... but i'm getting another 10% NCD in Apr, .. so dunno whether they prorate form now till apr 09 at 20% & apr09 to feb10 at 30% or wat

anyway.. waiting for the ins company's confirmation

bro.. can share the workshop which u did the plate? u can post it here or pm me

cheers!

On 2/1/2010 at 3:40 PM, Jkcs said:

I had mine made liao, cost me $68. the plate maker will recommend me a workshop for the bracket and installation of car plate when i am ready for sealing at another charges. before i can 'save' $ from this scheme, i lose first. :P

cheers!

hi bros i jus converted to the red plate tis morn.

i chanced upon this workshop while browsing sgcarmart directory, specifically sin ming area(near to LTA la).

sent in car at 930am and everything done (incl inspection) by 2hrs. the inspection was a real surprise as i thot i had to do myself but wow, this Mr Tan did for me as he said it would b much faster. Really satisfied with this uncle.

anyw his add is Henderson Motors, Blk 21 Sin Ming Industrial Section A #01-52/54 Tel: 64533 167 (Mr. Tan).

On 2/6/2010 at 5:06 AM, Maroon5 said:

hi bros i jus converted to the red plate tis morn.

i chanced upon this workshop while browsing sgcarmart directory, specifically sin ming area(near to LTA la).

sent in car at 930am and everything done (incl inspection) by 2hrs. the inspection was a real surprise as i thot i had to do myself but wow, this Mr Tan did for me as he said it would b much faster. Really satisfied with this uncle.

anyw his add is Henderson Motors, Blk 21 Sin Ming Industrial Section A #01-52/54 Tel: 64533 167 (Mr. Tan).

hi there

how much did you pay and is the workmanship acceptable? i'm considering doing the same

GUyz, i want to know if we convert normal plate to OPC plate, is the monthly Installment is the same or Change it?? any idea??? can anyone help me about this..

On 2/10/2010 at 10:22 AM, Danny29 said:

GUyz, i want to know if we convert normal plate to OPC plate, is the monthly Installment is the same or Change it?? any idea??? can anyone help me about this..

monthly installment should be the same

Just did a car transfer and conversion to OPC for a colleague today. The procedure and paperwork was a breeze, everything done in 15mins.

Insurance

Write in to your current insurance company to terminate the insurance for the full-time car. Get refund for the remaining coverage.

Get a new insurance coverage for OPC, covering 1 year from the date of conversion.

Road Tax

On day of conversion, bring along the full-time car road tax disc to get a refund.

Conversion fee is S$100. LTA will work out the OPC road tax amount. Whatever refunded from the full-time car road tax will be used to offset the OPC road tax + conversion fee. Payment can be by cheque. You'll get the new red road tax disc at the same time.

So the road tax period will be changed to the date of conversion. The last road tax payment will not be a full year.

Remember to pay for the e-licence on the day that you do the conversion, as technically your car is an OPC from that day onwards. You'll need to order the red plates, get a workshop to install, and inspected at an inspection centre within 3 days.

On 2/1/2010 at 12:20 PM, Speedz76 said:

Hi guys

If i renew my OPC road tax now, it will be for one year starting in Feb

but my car insurance is also expiring in Apr

and my veh inspection is coming soon i guess.. coz in 3 years?

so in order to convert to OPC, i must get ready and confirm a new motor insurance, specify a date, for e.g. 10th Feb 2010, and go to LTA to convert to OPC? Meaning my new road tax and car insurance will be valid from 10th Feb 10 and renew on this date every year?

so that means technically, if i drive for 10 years, my last car road tax and ins will end in Feb, but my deregistration will be in Apr???

Appreciate your inputs

thanks