Ahtong 1st Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 I think he is trying to say that without ERP, COE will be much higher so fewer people can own cars. Unfortunately, he worded his reply poorly. Quote ERP helps more S'poreans to own cars: Minister MP asked if ERP scheme has improved traffic flow on expressways, especially during peak hours. Mon, Oct 22, 2007 The Straits Times THE use of Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) has made it possible for more Singaporeans to own cars. Responding to a question for written reply in Parliament on Monday, Transport Minister Raymond Lim said this is reflected in the growth of Singapore's car population from 680,000 in 1997 to 800,000 in 2006. Dr Fatimah Lateef, MP for Marine Parade GRC, had asked the Minister if the ERP scheme has met the objectives that it was meant to achieve and if it has improved the traffic flow on expressways especially during peak hours. In his reply, Mr Lim said since its implementation in 1998, ERP has been effective in maintaining average travel speeds on priced roads within the optimal speed range through regular reviews and rate adjustments. For example, average speeds on the expressways have remained at above 45km/h during peak hours. "The use of ERP to manage traffic has made it possible for more Singaporeans to own cars than we otherwise could, and our vehicle population has grown from 680,000 in 1997 to 800,000 in 2006," he added. "It has also allowed the Government to rely more on car usage charges and less on car ownership taxes to manage traffic demand, and as a result, vehicle ownership taxes have been reduced. " The Ministers said the government will continue with a holistic and integrated approach using all the tools available to keep the roads smooth-flowing. These include building more roads, regulating vehicle growth, implementing traffic engineering solutions, managing traffic demand through ERP and promoting the use of public transport. Link ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 F them lah... ERP is being used as wat now is very obvious to everyone... it's no longer someting to regulate traffics but instead it's a revenue generation device...!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noobcar Clutched February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 ERP, COE all these are revenue generating for the Gov la......only Sg have COE.....and if I am not wrong we are the 1st to use ERP as well. Our Gahmen really know how to justify their $$$ earning methods. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 If COE quota is FIXED at 3% -1.5% growth, where is the possibility for more people to own cars? His argument is faulty. What he should asy is the with ERP, those who can afford cars will get a smoother flow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busybody 1st Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 On 2/1/2010 at 1:27 AM, Ahtong said: In his reply, Mr Lim said since its implementation in 1998, ERP has been effective in maintaining average travel speeds on priced roads within the optimal speed range through regular reviews and rate adjustments. For example, average speeds on the expressways have remained at above 45km/h during peak hours. 45km/h is cycling speed wor... No wonder so many Ah Tiongs and Banglas like to cycle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 the car population has increased a lot during the past few yrs. so this article is quite accurate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forrestcat 2nd Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 On 2/1/2010 at 12:54 PM, Picanto said: the car population has increased a lot during the past few yrs. so this article is quite accurate We don't own cars, we "lease" them for 10 yrs unlike MY or Australia..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 if some of u recall, there is a thing called 'restricted zone' and u have to buy the coupons before entering a restricted zone. thats erp back then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 can PAP come up with a ERP-Investment trust or something? confirm dividend and good growth one. limited land, increasing cars, more FT, IR. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalbone Clutched February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 ERP helps more S'poreans to own cars...dun forget GST is to help the poor too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 wait till LTA changed the plan from ERP to Pay-As-You-Drive. then you will know ERP is afterall good..~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 COE... say avg $10k per car... one year how many new cars are registered? if 1m new cars per year means 10b income for the govt, right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaede44444 Neutral Newbie February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 The thing is, if you claim ERP allows smooth traffic, then should make it happen. I don't mind paying if there is no jam. Why should ANY DRIVER pay and jam. Just like last time, no pay ERP but jam. So bottom line is, you pay or don't pay, also jam. So why pay? I hate people who say one thing, do another. Now knnbccb, I pay $3 for ECP ERP every morning. Jam from Bedok (sometimes Tampines/expo) to Suntec. Then jam again from Marina Bay to Telok Blangah. Then jam again from Bukit Merah to Buona Vista. Jam as in less than 10km/hr. Start stop start stop. So ERP isn't working. We have to pay and yet the same jam. What is the point? Never mind. Voting time is here. Hate people who give empty promises. Promise the sky, give you the hell. Let's see.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 On 2/1/2010 at 4:08 PM, Kaede44444 said: The thing is, if you claim ERP allows smooth traffic, then should make it happen. I don't mind paying if there is no jam. Why should ANY DRIVER pay and jam. Just like last time, no pay ERP but jam. So bottom line is, you pay or don't pay, also jam. So why pay? I hate people who say one thing, do another. Now knnbccb, I pay $3 for ECP ERP every morning. Jam from Bedok (sometimes Tampines/expo) to Suntec. Then jam again from Marina Bay to Telok Blangah. Then jam again from Bukit Merah to Buona Vista. Jam as in less than 10km/hr. Start stop start stop. So ERP isn't working. We have to pay and yet the same jam. What is the point? Never mind. Voting time is here. Hate people who give empty promises. Promise the sky, give you the hell. Let's see.... They tell you, It's still cheaper than CTE. NB, ECP seem more jammed today, maybe I woke up late today, passed after 8am. maybe more going for $2.50. From what you mentioned, 735am till 8 also still heavy traffic. I really wonder how many percent of these drivers are not going to work, like those otw home after sending kids to school. If all going to work, how on earth are they going to reduce the car usage? Most will just pay, only paying $1 more than the usual $2. Parking already more expensive, rather pay 23 days of ERP of $3, only $69. Like that how to reduce road usage. Then next round increase again..... Seems like such a 'difficult and challenging' job to me. How can I join the transport ministry? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...