Kopitam Clutched January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 Why is our society becoming more ungracious? Why is there a disparity in the punishment meeted out? Judges seem to think jail terms for people are like playing monopoly for them ... go directly to JAIL. Driver jailed for mischief By Elena Chong A DRIVER who reversed his van twice into a car along a road was jailed for two weeks on Tuesday for mischief. Tan Lay Dek, 53, pleaded guilty to committing mischief along Woodlands Drive 16 on Nov 19, 2008, which caused the front bonnet of sales executive William Allan Goh's car to be dented. A magistrate's court heard that Tan was making delivery of buns at Visa Point shopping centre in Woodlands when he was blocked by the 29-year-old victim's car. Mr Goh had parked his car at the loading/unloading bay as it was raining heavily then. Tan drove off without making any delivery. After that, Mr Goh also left. Along the way, Tan suddenly overtook the victim's car and stopped infront of it. He then deliberately reversed his van twice, causing a collision. Mr Goh also sprained his neck as a result. Tan could have been jailed for up to two years and/or fined for the offence. http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_482248.html ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunlight 1st Gear January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 i think there are more vehicles on the road now, so there are more kuku drivers that will cause more aggressive driving and shortening fuse. Anyway this goh character in the article deserved to be whack. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 Alot idiots around... Sometimes, a moment of mischief can cause lives being lost... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Athrun87 Neutral Newbie January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 lots of young driver thinks their car is fast always love to tailgate behind cars that are slow... they are slow but they drive within speed limit... don't know what the TP doing... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 lots of young driver thinks their car is fast always love to tailgate behind cars that are slow... they are slow but they drive within speed limit... don't know what the TP doing... Are you a road hogger? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 lots of young driver thinks their car is fast always love to tailgate behind cars that are slow... they are slow but they drive within speed limit... don't know what the TP doing... potential troll flame-baiting spotted... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OLLAH Neutral Newbie January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 Why is our society becoming more ungracious? Why is there a disparity in the punishment meeted out? Judges seem to think jail terms for people are like playing monopoly for them ... go directly to JAIL. Driver jailed for mischief By Elena Chong A DRIVER who reversed his van twice into a car along a road was jailed for two weeks on Tuesday for mischief. Tan Lay Dek, 53, pleaded guilty to committing mischief along Woodlands Drive 16 on Nov 19, 2008, which caused the front bonnet of sales executive William Allan Goh's car to be dented. A magistrate's court heard that Tan was making delivery of buns at Visa Point shopping centre in Woodlands when he was blocked by the 29-year-old victim's car. Mr Goh had parked his car at the loading/unloading bay as it was raining heavily then. Tan drove off without making any delivery. After that, Mr Goh also left. Along the way, Tan suddenly overtook the victim's car and stopped infront of it. He then deliberately reversed his van twice, causing a collision. Mr Goh also sprained his neck as a result. Tan could have been jailed for up to two years and/or fined for the offence. http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_482248.html It should be understood that van drivers are poor people. and not very smart. Now if they are smart and educated they won't be delivering buns LOL. So van drivers, delivery men, are kind of like the lower end of society, cheap and worth less. They cause problems to real people with real worthy lives. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 Delivery man have schedules to meet. I think bad weather already caused a lot of delays. I dun understand why ppl think it's ok to park their passenger cars at the loading/unloading bay. Not only do you put your car at risk while ppl are loading/unloading goods, you also caused inconvenience for ppl who are doing delivery. What this delivery man did was wrong, no doubt about it but the other driver parking in the loading/unloading bay just becos it's raining is really a lame excuse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geogeo Neutral Newbie January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 Delivery man have schedules to meet. I think bad weather already caused a lot of delays. I dun understand why ppl think it's ok to park their passenger cars at the loading/unloading bay. Not only do you put your car at risk while ppl are loading/unloading goods, you also caused inconvenience for ppl who are doing delivery. What this delivery man did was wrong, no doubt about it but the other driver parking in the loading/unloading bay just becos it's raining is really a lame excuse. I strongly agreed with you that Goh's excuse is jus another lame excuse. Jus bcos of his convenience, directly inconvenience other genuine users. I do deliveries before, that's why I can understand the deliveryman's gesture. Not that I agrees his doing, but at least do a one hardcore reverse bang without any one around in the vicinity to zero out any possible injuiry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 Wah i remember last week got one video of a taxi attempting to reverse into a car.......if that Taxi driver had reversed into that car....I think the taxi driver will also kena jail terms. But then hor....someone use a car to knock down two person at 3am at night, got away scott free. I feel very very sad for this delivery driver, for being a loyal lesser mortals who served and protected this nation. This case is only vehicle damage and yet he has to stay two weeks in jail. Some reporter killed someone, claimed did not see red light....jsut got off scott free. Such unbalances in life.....tough to be a poor Singaporeans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cutebeat Clutched January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 It should be understood that van drivers are poor people. and not very smart. Now if they are smart and educated they won't be delivering buns LOL. So van drivers, delivery men, are kind of like the lower end of society, cheap and worth less. They cause problems to real people with real worthy lives. what an understatement! i guess you had not met those driving vans/pickups and staying in district 10 landed. they may not be well educated like you but their assets are definitely more than yours. so who's the one with real worthy life? remember, you had been warned. - took that from you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joe25 2nd Gear January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 It should be understood that van drivers are poor people. and not very smart. Now if they are smart and educated they won't be delivering buns LOL. So van drivers, delivery men, are kind of like the lower end of society, cheap and worth less. They cause problems to real people with real worthy lives. if without this people u think you can buy bun anywhere Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joe25 2nd Gear January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 It should be understood that van drivers are poor people. and not very smart. Now if they are smart and educated they won't be delivering buns LOL. So van drivers, delivery men, are kind of like the lower end of society, cheap and worth less. They cause problems to real people with real worthy lives. and btw you should be grateful to them and not look down on them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vogelspinen Neutral Newbie January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 It should be understood that van drivers are poor people. and not very smart. Now if they are smart and educated they won't be delivering buns LOL. So van drivers, delivery men, are kind of like the lower end of society, cheap and worth less. They cause problems to real people with real worthy lives. For your info, many of these bun delivery men are owning their own business, I personally know one who delivers bread to convenience stores at night but has the ability to own 2 wrxes and still support his family of 4 at the same time. Lower end of society? Its not how much you earn. Its your mindset. Small-minded people like you are, to me, the lowest end of society. Probably just below the stray dogs that roam around void decks. Oops. Maybe a bit lower. If a stray dog died I probably would feel sad for it. If you died I probably would just laugh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vogelspinen Neutral Newbie January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 And on the topic, I am guessing most probably its due to the overwhelming number of cars and jams on our roads today. Driving in this kind of traffic just seems to get your tempers up i think Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OLLAH Neutral Newbie January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 For your info, many of these bun delivery men are owning their own business, I personally know one who delivers bread to convenience stores at night but has the ability to own 2 wrxes and still support his family of 4 at the same time. Lower end of society? Its not how much you earn. Its your mindset. Small-minded people like you are, to me, the lowest end of society. Probably just below the stray dogs that roam around void decks. Oops. Maybe a bit lower. If a stray dog died I probably would feel sad for it. If you died I probably would just laugh. Do you drive a Kangoo? How is the performance? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 I drove b4. It's good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OLLAH Neutral Newbie January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 I drove b4. It's good I see. I think the torque below 2K is quite good. Today one Kangoo tried to outrun me at a stop light. Tyres screeching. He won btw. Mine's just a simple BMW M3. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...